Research Guides: Public Health: Program Design & Evaluation

Recommended Databases

When designing a public health program, it is helpful to review studies of what interventions have been tried before and how effective they were. The following databases can help you find articles evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions. If you need help searching these or other databases, ask your Public Health Librarians.

PubMed with LinkOut to full-text
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE and other sources.

Scopus
The largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources.

Cochrane Databases (Wiley)
The Cochrane Library includes seven distinct databases in its collection:

The Cochrane Methodology Register - Offers a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - Includes full text articles and protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials - a bibliography of controlled trials.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects - Includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care.
Health Technology Assessment Database - Brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world.
NHS Evaluation Database - Systematically identifies and appraises economic evaluations from around the world.
The About the Cochrane Collaboration Database - Contains information on the 81 groups the make up the Cochrane Collaboration.

Health Evidence - Free Resource
A project from Canadian governmental and non-governmental organizations that aims to support evidence-informed decision making in public health by providing a searchable database of reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions. Using 'Advanced Search' you can browse by topic, intervention, population, and more. You will need to self-register for a free account to use this resource.

Useful Websites

Community Guide
Resource aimed to help with the selection of programs and policies to improve health and prevent disease in one's community.
Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health: Best Practices
Public health programs, interventions, and policies that have been evaluated, shown to be successful, and have the potential to be adapted and transformed by others working in the same field.
Model Practice Database
Allows users to search for model or promising programs related to community health programs and initiatives. Topics include, but are not limited to: access to care, health equity, immunization, mental health, primary care, cultural competence, and environmental health.
Promising Practices Network
Quality evidence-based information about what works to improve the lives of children, families, and communities. The PPN website is both a "best practices" and a "model program" site.