This page contains resources to help you develop and design research projects and write research papers.
To find hundreds more resources, search in the TUC Library Catalog using a keyword search for the type of information you need. For example, if you need information about surveys, use the keyword *surveys* and you will be presented with many more books--both print and electronic--about creating, conducting, and analyzing, and presenting surveys.
Information about literature reviews can be found on the Literature Reviews page.
Information about systematic reviews can be found on the Systematic Reviews page.
RESEARCH RESOURCES AT TUC LIBRARY
Visit SAGE RESEARCH METHODS website where you will find tutorials and guides of the key concepts in research, research philosophy, ethics, design, planning, data collection, data quality, data management, qualitative and quantitative data analysis, and writing and disseminating research.
Types of resources include:
- reference books
- journal articles
- cases
- videos
- podcasts
- project planners
VIDEO: WHAT ARE SURVEYS? (6:25)
- What Are Surveys?Follow this link to go to the webpage for this video in the Sage Research Methods database or watch the video below.
VIDEO: AN INTRODUCTION OF SURVEY RESEARCH METHODS (7:54)
- An Introduction to Survey Research MethodsFollow this link to go to the webpage for this video in the Sage Research Methods database or watch the video below.
VIDEO: A BRIEF GUIDE TO RANDOMIZED CONTROLLED TRIALS (7:35)
- A Brief Guide to Randomized Controlled TrialsFollow this link to go to the webpage for this video in the Sage Research Methods database or watch the video below.
THIS VIDEO DISCUSSES THE FOLLOWING TOPICS:
Segment 1: Research Questions, Gathering Data, and Analysis
Segment 2: Randomized Controlled Trial Examples and Advice
VIDEO: MIXED METHODS FOR POLICY EVALUATION (18:15)
- Mixed Methods for Policy EvaluationFollow this link to go to the webpage for this video in the Sage Research Methods database or watch the video below.
THIS VIDEO DISCUSSES THE FOLLOWING TOPICS:
Segment 1: Strengths and Limitations of Qualitative Data
Segment 2: Mixed Methods Approaches
Segment 3: Work for the Dole Scheme
Segment 4: Key Evaluation Questions
VIDEO: WHEN SHOULD I CHOOSE A MIXED METHODS APPROACH? (6:21)
- When Should I Choose a Mixed Methods Approach?Follow this link to go to the webpage for this video in the Sage Research Methods database or watch the video below.
VIDEO: QUALITY OF RESEARCH: HOW DO I KNOW IF MY RESEARCH FINDINGS ARE ANY GOOD? (15:43)
- Quality of ResearchFollow this link to go to the webpage for this video in the Sage Research Methods database or watch the video below.
THIS VIDEO DISCUSSES THE FOLLOWING TOPICS:
Segment 1: How Do I Know if My Research Findings Are Any Good?
Segment 2: Research and Impact
RESEARCH DESIGN
- Research DesignFollow this link to go to the webpage for this video in the Sage Research Methods database or watch the video below.
THIS VIDEO DISCUSSES THE FOLLOWING TOPICS:
Segment 1: Getting Started With a Research Project
Segment 2: Do I Do My Literature Review Before I Decide on What Methods I'll Use?
Segment 3: How Planning the Project Follows From the Literature Review
Segment 4: Writing Up Research: Some Tips
BOOKS AT THE TUC LIBRARY: PUBLIC HEALTH RESEARCH METHODS
Essentials of Public Health Research Methods by Publication Date: 2020*THIS IS AN EBOOK.*
Also available in print.
Public Health Research Methods by Publication Date: 2015From Sage Research Methods
"THIS IS AN EBOOK.*
BOOKS AT THE TUC LIBRARY: GENERAL RESEARCH & MIXED METHODS
Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research, 3rd ed. by Publication Date: 2017*THIS IS A PRINT BOOK.*
Methods for Community-Based Participatory Research for Health by Publication Date: 2012*THIS IS AN EBOOK.*
Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches, 5th Edition by Publication Date: 2018*THIS IS A PRINT BOOK.*
Research Methodology: A Step-by-Step Guide for Beginners by Publication Date: 2019*THIS IS A PRINT BOOK.*
Understanding Research Methods: An Overview of the Essentials by Publication Date: 2018*THIS IS A PRINT BOOK,*
Research Methodology in the Health Sciences: A Quick Reference Guide by Publication Date: 2021*THIS IS AN EBOOK.*
BOOKS AT THE TUC LIBRARY: QUANTITATIVE RESEARCH
Statistics and Causality: Methods for Applied Empirical Research by Publication Date: 2016*THIS IS AN EBOOK.*
BOOKS AT THE TUC LIBRARY: QUALITATIVE RESEARCH
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design: choosing among five approaches, 4th ed. by Publication Date: 2018*THIS IS A PRINT BOOK.*
Qualitative Methods in Public Health : A Field Guide for Applied Research, 2nd ed. by Publication Date: May 9th, 2016*THIS IS AN EBOOK.*
Qualitative Research Methods in Mental Health: Innovative and Collaborative Approaches by Publication Date: 2021*THIS IS AN EBOOK.*
BOOKS AT THE TUC LIBRARY: SURVEYS
Internet, Phone, Mail, and Mixed-Mode Surveys: The Tailored Design Method by Publication Date: 2014*THIS IS AN EBOOK.*
BOOKS AT THE TUC LIBRARY: CASE STUDIES
Case Study Research and Applications; Design and Methods by Publication Date: 2017*THIS IS A PRINT BOOK.*
Embedded Case Study Methods: Integrating Quantitative and Qualitative Knowledge by Publication Date: 2001*THIS IS AN EBOOK.*
HELP FOR ORGANIZING RESOURCES
EndNote is software that helps you organize the sources (articles, books, websites, etc.) that you are using in your research. It also generates bibliographies in the style you choose, including APA. The software is free to TUC students, faculty, and staff and can be downloaded via Canvas. Check out the EndNote Guide to learn more.
HOW TO FIND, EVALUTATE, AND USE INFORMATION EFFECTIVELY & APPROPRIATELY
With PROQUEST RESEARCH COMPANION you can get help with the following crucial steps in your research process:
Finding Information
- Where to begin
- How to decide on a topic
- Where to find the information you need
Evaluating Information
- What to look for when evaluating resources
- What is acceptable to use as evidence
Using Information Appropriately & Effectively
- How to write a thesis statement
- How to organize information for flow & impact
- Avoid plagiarizing
- The ins and outs of revision
- How to improve your research process
Also Includes the Following Tools:
- Citation builder
- Revision Aid
- Source Evaluation Aid
- Search Aid
READING, UNDERSTANDING & EVALUATING EVIDENCE-BASED & SCIENTIFIC RESEARCH & DATA
Evaluating Research: Methodology for People Who Need to Read Research by Publication Date: 2022*THIS IS A PRINT BOOK.*
How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-based Medicine and Health Care by Publication Date: 2019*AVAILABLE IN PRINT AND AS AN EBOOK.*
Studying a Study and Testing a Test: Reading Evidence-based Health Research by Publication Date: 2021*THIS IS AN EBOOK.*
- VIDEO: How to Read & Comprehend Scientific Research ArticlesThis 5-minute video tutorial from the University of Minnesota will give you a brief overview of how to read research articles to get the most understanding of them while saving you time.
HOW TO READ & COMPREHEND SCIENTIFIC RESEARCH ARTICLES
HELP WRITING & CITING RESOURCES
If you need help with your research paper, visit the ACADEMIC WRITER database (formerly APA Style).
You will find the following under the LEARN tab:
66 Quick Guides on topics such as capitalization, citing references in text, copyright, writing a method section, and much more.
18 Tutorials to help you with all aspects of writing your papers, including, topics such as ethical standards for research, designing research, reducing bias, and much more.
10 Self-Quizzes so you can assess your competence in APA style. Areas include formatting, tables and figures, and how to report scientific research.
17 Sample Papers to illustrate the correct way to write and format papers in APA style.
152 Sample References so you can see exactly how your references should look.
8 Sample Tables so you can create effective and proper tables to display your information.
7 Sample Figures demonstrating the correct way to place figures in your research papers.
You'll also find help for the following on the website:
- Analyzing data and drawing conclusions
- Confounding variables and their control
- Criteria and criterion measures
- Ethical standards in research and writing
- Getting started with APA style
- How to avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism
- How to determine authorship
- How to find reliable sources
- How to reduce bias in language : writing about individuals with respect and objectivity
- How to report scientific research
- How to title your work
- Publishing your journal article
- Research design and threats to internal validity
- Research questions and hypotheses
- Research strategies and variables
- The basics of copyright and permission
- The rules of evidence in science
GUIDES FOR SCIENTIFIC WRITING
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper, 8th Edition by Publication Date: 2016*THIS IS A PRINT BOOK.*
Published: A Guide to Literature Review, Outlining, Experimenting, Visualization, Writing, Editing, and Peer Review for Your First Scientific Journal Article by Publication Date: 2020*THIS IS A PRINT BOOK.*
The Scientist's Guide to Writing: How to Write More Easily and Effectively Throughout Your Scientific Career by Publication Date: 2016*THIS IS A PRINT BOOK.*
