Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Health: RESEARCH DATABASES

This Research Guide will help MPH students find the resources they need for their classes, papers, projects, and capstone.

FIND FULL-TEXT ARTICLES

Search for full-text ARTICLES using the DOI or PubMed ID (PMID)

 

Example DOI:
10.1103/PhysRevD.15.2752
Example PMID:
21346416

SEARCH IN GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Google Scholar allows you to perform keyword searches (just like regular Google!) specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports. Try it out in the search box below. 

Google Scholar Search

Please note, when you are viewing your search results page, you should see links to 'Full Text @ TUC Library' and/or links to the article from the publisher in PDF or HTML formats to the right of the articles you have access to through TUC (this will not be all articles, only the ones from databases we subscribe to). If you don't see any links, go to the LEFT menu (click on the three horizontal lines to the left of the Google Scholar logo), click SETTINGS, and then select LIBRARY LINKS. From there select TOURO UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA - FULL-TEXT @ TUC LIBRARY, and then click SAVE

*NOTE:  'Full Text @ Touro' is NOT us, it's Touro College - look for TUC Library.*

PUBMED TUTORIALS

If you'd like the inside scoop on how to use PubMed and its features, click HERE to go to the PubMed Online Training page. You can watch short videos (2-3 minutes) on single topics, such as doing a basic search, or choose more advanced, in-depth tutorials and learn about topics such as MeSH or searching for drugs.  

RECOMMENDED PUBLIC HEALTH DATABASES

*YOU MUST HAVE A CURRENT TUC LIBRARY CARD TO ACCESS THESE RESOURCES .*

EBSCO (all EBSCO databases)
Gateway to all EBSCO databases, which cover health, medicine, business, education, and more. Select individual databases or search multiple databases together. Note: Searching multiple databases together will limit search options.

ProQuest (all ProQuest databases)
Access to multiple databases that include over 13,000 journals and newspapers covering business, education, social sciences, the arts, health, and medicine; many full-text.Select individual databases or search multiple databases together. 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
A comprehensive collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences, this database covers more than 1 million dissertations and theses.

PubMed
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE and other sources. PubMed is the first database to search when looking for biomedical and life science journal articles, clinical trials, reviews and more.

SAGE Research Methods
SAGE offers this research methods tool which can be used across the disciplines.  As it focuses on methodology, SAGE Research Methods can help with the design of research projects, identification of research methods, and write up of completed research projects. 

SAGE provides helpful tutorials to get you started using this helpful resource.

SAGE Research Methods Cases
SAGE offers this research methods tool which can be used across the disciplines.  As it focuses on methodology, SAGE Research Methods can help with the design of research projects, identification of research methods, and write up of completed research projects. 
- As a companion to SAGE Research Methods, SAGE Research Methods Cases is a collection of case studies from real and original social research.

Scopus
The largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Scopus offers smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
It is a comprehensive resource to support research needs across all disciplines.

RECOMMENDED FREE PUBLIC HEALTH DATABASES

African Index Medicus (AIM)
Supported by the World Health Organization, AIM is an international index to African health and biomedical information sources, including regional journals.

Haz-Map - Information on Hazardous Chemicals and Occupational Diseases
Haz-Map® is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents. The main links in Haz-Map are between chemicals and occupational diseases. These links have been established using current scientific evidence.

Index Medicus for the WHO Eastern Mediterranean Region (IMEMR)
Supported by the World Health Organization, IMEMR is an international index to health and biomedical information sources, including regional journals, from the Eastern Mediterranean Region (19 countries in Asia and North Africa).

Index Medicus for the WHO South-East Asian Region (IMSEAR)
Supported by the World Health Organization, IMSEAR is an international index to health and biomedical information sources, including regional journals, from the South-East Asian Region (11 countries including India, Indonesia, Korea, Thailand).

Integrated Risk Information System - EPA
EPA’s mission is to protect human health and the environment. EPA’s IRIS Program supports this mission by identifying and characterizing the health hazards of chemicals found in the environment. Each IRIS assessment can cover a chemical, a group of related chemicals, or a complex mixture. IRIS assessments are an important source of toxicity information used by EPA, state and local health agencies, other federal agencies, and international health organizations.

LactMed - Drugs and Lactation Database (NIH)
The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.

Legacy Tobacco Documents Library
Contains more than 14 million documents (80+ million pages) created by major tobacco companies related to their advertising, manufacturing, marketing, sales, and scientific research activities.

PubChem
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.

SciELO
SciELO is a bibliographic database, digital library, and cooperative electronic publishing model of open access journals. SciELO was created to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries and provides an efficient way to increase visibility and access to scientific literature Originally established in Brazil in 1997, today there are 14 countries in the SciELO network and its journal collections: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Mexico, Peru, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Uruguay, and Venezuela. Paraguay is developing a journal collection.

Smoking & Tobacco Use - CDC
Contains abstracts of tobacco-related articles from medical and professional journals; books and book chapters; dissertations; reports; conference proceedings and conference papers; government documents from federal, state, local, and foreign entities.

Virtual Health Library (VHL)
Supported by the World Health Organization, the VHL is an international index to health and biomedical information sources from Latin America and the Caribbean. The VHL includes LILACS (Literature in the Health Sciences in Latin America and the Caribbean), which indexes hundreds of regional journals not included in PubMed and has a focus on public health.

TUC A-Z DATABASES PAGE

The TUC Library has many more databases besides those listed on this page. Click HERE to go to the A-Z Databases page on the Library's website.

CONTACT ME FOR HELP

Profile Photo
Julie Horwath
she/her/hers
Contact:
Library, Room 200
jhorwath@touro.edu
707.638.5315