Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Health: Home

This Research Guide will help MPH students find the resources they need for their classes, papers, projects, and capstone.

Welcome to the MPH Research Guide at TUC!

Here you will find helpful information for your research needs, including your how to write papers and capstones. Take some time to browse through the blue tabs above to see all of the helpful resources we have for you.

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions please contact us using the information by our photos. We would love your feedback and are happy to help you in any way we can.

Happy researching!

CONTENTS OF THIS GUIDE

Books
How to find TUC's books & eBooks, including course reserves, plus a list of new and featured PH books. There are also pages for biostatistics study guides, epidemiology study guides, nutrition books, and books on criminal justice.

Research Databases
best databases to use for research and finding journal articles

Data Sources
Useful websites where you can find health and demographics data and statistics, both national and international

Other PH Information Sources
Websites useful for other PH topics not covered elsewhere in this guide

Finding Full Text
How to find full text of a journal article; includes instructions for interlibrary loan

Citing Sources
Resources to help you learn how to properly cite your sources and create bibliographies

Research Methods
Books and other resources about different research methods. Includes pages on literature reviews and systematic reviews.

Global Health
Resources for Global Health issues. Includes pages on global health books, NGOs, global health news, and other global health websites

Environmental Health
Databases, books, and other resources useful for environmental health classes & projects

Program Design & Evaluation
Resources for designing and evaluating health promotion and health education programs

PH Associations
Websites and news feeds of national and international PH associations

Exam Resources
Resources to help you learn study skills & study for the CPH exam

 

PUBLIC HEALTH PROGRAM INFORMATION

Click here to go to the Public Health Department homepage on the TUC website.

PUBLIC HEALTH NEWS

APHA News Release 

APHA rallies behind COVID-19 ‘National Vaccine Month of Action’

Date: Jun 07 2021

Supporting President Joe Biden’s goal of getting 70% of U.S. adults vaccinated against COVID-19 by July 4, the American Public Health Association has joined the National Vaccine Month of Action.

As part of that APHA is a partner of Made to Save, a national grassroots effort to ensure communities hardest hit by the pandemic have improved access to the vaccines as well as accurate and timely information. The Association is working with our members, Affiliates, Caucuses and partners to widen access to COVID-19 vaccines especially in traditionally underserved populations.

“This outreach is extremely important to help reach people who need to be vaccinated,” said APHA Executive Director Georges C. Benjamin, MD. “We are turning the corner on this disease after a long year and a half, and we need to ensure everyone gets vaccinated to effectively bring the pandemic under control. This includes addressing the existing inequities in vaccinations that currently exist in communities of color and the concern that some populations have delayed getting vaccinated.”

To find a vaccine near you, visit vaccines.gov, text your zip code to 438829, or call 1-800-232-0233. To help others get vaccinated, check out the toolkit at www.mobilize.us/madetosave/.

Currently, about 53% of American adults are fully vaccinated, and nearly 64% are partially vaccinated. Biden has predicted that reaching or exceeding the 70% mark by July 4 could help Americans experience a “summer of freedom, a summer of joy, a summer of get-togethers and celebrations. An All-American summer.”

###

The American Public Health Association champions the health of all people and all communities. We are the only organization that combines a nearly 150-year perspective, a broad-based member community and the ability to influence federal policy to improve the public’s health. Learn more at www.apha.org.

-Taken from APHA websitehttps://www.apha.org/News-and-Media/News-Releases/APHA-News-Releases/2021/National-Vaccine-Month-of-Action

APHA NEWSFEED

Loading ...

PUBLIC HEALTH LIBRARIAN

Profile Photo
Julie Horwath
Contact:
Library, Room 200
julie.horwath@tu.edu
707.638.5315

Librarian

Profile Photo
Jennifer Abueg
Contact:
Library, Room 201
jabueg@touro.edu
707-638-5316

TOP PUBLIC HEALTH ISSUES POLL

In your opinion, what is the most important public health issue we face today?
Climate Change: 4 votes (44.44%)
Food Insecurity: 0 votes (0%)
Equal Access to Healthcare: 3 votes (33.33%)
Mass Incarceration: 1 votes (11.11%)
Opioid Epidemic/Substance Abuse: 0 votes (0%)
Physical Activity & Nutrition: 0 votes (0%)
Immunization: 1 votes (11.11%)
Total Votes: 9