Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Health: DATA SOURCES

This Research Guide will help MPH students find the resources they need for their classes, papers, projects, and capstone.

On this page you will find links to organizations that provide data sets for various types of information, from the real-time count of the world population to health disparities and substance abuse in specific U.S. counties. 

The box on the left provides links to sources for U.S. data sources, while the center box provides links to international datasets. In the right column, you will find the US & World Population Clock and link to data sets in a map format. 

*These are free sources and do not require your TUC library card to access them.*

U.S. DATA SOURCES

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
AHRQ is the health services research section of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). Their website is fully searchable and offers information about consumer health, data and surveys, research findings, and specific populations, as well as other public health topics.
 
Links to public health data and information, such as queries, resources, statistics, surveys, informatics, GIS, and health indicators.
 
CHIS is the nation's largest state health survey. A random-dial telephone survey conducted every two years on a wide range of health topics, it gives a detailed picture of the health and health care needs of California's population. You can create a free AskCHIS account to get specific data by age, gender, and more. Health Profiles provide quick and easy access to the most commonly requested health indicators.
 
Wide-ranging online data for epidemiological research, this database is an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large.
 
County Health Rankings

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation collaborates with the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute to develop rankings for each state’s counties. This collection of 50 reports – one per state – helps us see that where we live, learn, work, and play influences how healthy we are and how long we live.

Data.Gov
U.S. federal government open source of data. Search 300,000+ datasets. Categories include: agriculture, climate, consumer, ecosystems, education, energy, finance, health, local government, manufacturing, maritime, ocean, public safety, science & research.

Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health (DRC)
The mission of the DRC is to advance the effective use of public data on the status of children’s health and health-related services for children, youth and families in the United States. The DRC does this by providing hands-on access to national, state, and regional data findings from large population-based surveys: the National Survey of Children’s Health and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs.

Offers data on food-desert census tracts that can be downloaded for community planning or research purposes.
 
Google-indexed, publicly available datasets.
 
Publicly available datasets at the federal level: health, state, national, Medicare, hospital, quality, community, inpatient.
Links to more than 200 Federal, state, and research websites.
 
Kids Count Data Center
The Annie E. Casey Foundation's Kids Count Data Center allows you to access hundreds of measures of child well-being. The annual Kids Count Data Book is available as a free download.

MPC (Minnesota Population Center) Data Projects
Census and survey data from the U.S. and around the world, consistently-coded data for comparative analysis across time and place, and comprehensive documentation for all datasets. This is a free resource for researchers and students. You will need to complete an online registration form.

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Statistical information compiled by the Centers of Disease Control to guide actions and policies and to improve health.
 
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
NHANES is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.
 
Demographers in PRB’s U.S. Programs have selected key U.S. indicators that can be viewed in map, tabular, and trend chart formats, by state and county. Use the indicator selection button above to select from the available indicators. Use the States button to select profiles by state.
 
Program of the National Cancer Institute works to provide information on cancer statistics in an effort to reduce the burden of cancer among the U.S. population. The SEER research data include SEER incidence and population data associated by age, sex, race, year of diagnosis, and geographic areas (including SEER registry and county). A signed Research Data Agreement is required to access these data.
 
Data from the Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) whose mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.
 
U.S. Census Bureau
The U.S. Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

United States Department of Agriculture
The USDA provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, and related issues based on sound public policy, the best available science, and efficient management. Labor Statistics for Agricultural workers is also available on the USDA's website.
 
Explore new interactive graphs, maps and charts from the Economic Research Service a department of USDA.

US & WORLD POPULATION CLOCK

The U.S. Census Bureau Population Clock
This web page will provide you with real time population estimates for the U.S. and the World. You will also find U.S. population estimates for growth by region; population density by state, county, and city; age and sex of population by percentage; and which states, counties, and cities are the most populous. This is part of the U.S. Census Bureau's website. 

INTERNATIONAL DATA SOURCES

2021 World Population Data Sheet - Population Reference Bureau's DataFinder 
The 2021 World Population Data Sheet provides the latest population, health, and environment indicators for more than 200 countries and territories, each carefully researched by PRB’s expert team of demographers and analysts. 

ChildInfo - Monitoring the Situation of Children and Women
Statistical information from UNICEF, including Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (MICS), which are a major source of global development data.

GHDx - Global Health Data Exchange
Institute for Health Metric and Evaluations's catalog of the world's health and demographic data. Use the GHDx to research population census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health.

Global Health Observatory Data Repository
Data and statistics from the World Health Organization.

International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)
The International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) provides research-based policy solutions to sustainably reduce poverty and end hunger and malnutrition in developing countries. Established in 1975, IFPRI currently has more than 600 employees working in over 50 countries.

MEASURE DHS - Demographic and Health Surveys 
Since 1984, the MEASURE DHS (Demographic and Health Surveys) project has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries. Registration is required for access to data.

Mental Health Atlas 2020 - WHO
The Mental Health Atlas, released every three years, is a compilation of data provided by countries around the world on mental health policies, legislation, financing, human resources, availability and utilization of services and data collection systems. It serves as a guide for countries for the development and planning of mental health services. The Mental Health Atlas 2020 includes information and data on the progress made towards achieving mental health targets for 2020 set by the global health community and included in WHO’s Comprehensive Mental Health Action Plan. It includes data on newly-added indicators on service coverage, mental health integration into primary health care, preparedness for the provision of mental health and psychosocial support in emergencies and research on mental health. It also includes new targets for 2030.

MPC (Minnesota Population Center) Data Projects
Census and survey data from the U.S. and around the world, consistently-coded data for comparative analysis across time and place, and comprehensive documentation for all datasets. This is a free resource for researchers and students. You will need to complete an online registration form.

OECD.Stat - Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development
OECD.Stat provides official data on health policy, health spending, demographic changes, and country finances for OECD countries. It is also the authoritative data source on foreign aid for health and other sectors.

Population Council Research
The Population Council is an international, nonprofit, nongovernmental organization that seeks to improve the well-being and reproductive health of current and future generations around the world and to help achieve a humane, equitable, and sustainable balance between people and resources. You must register to gain access to data via the Data Portal.

Population Reference Bureau's DataFinder - International Indicators 
For more than 50 years, PRB’s World Population Data Sheet has been one of the most trusted sources for vital demographic data used by government leaders, policymakers, researchers, academics, and decisionmakers around the world. It offers the latest population, health, and environment indicators for more than 200 countries and territories, each carefully researched and vetted by PRB’s expert team of demographers and analysts.

World Bank DataBank
The World Bank DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of World Bank and IMF time series data on a variety of health, policy, and economic development topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

Data at WHO
Links to WHO data sources, including World Health Statistics 2022 report, Coronavirus (COVID-19) data, mortality database, the United Nations Health Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the Health Equity Monitor, and much more. Also includes links to insights and visualizations and  on various aspects of global health and data collection and analysis tools. 

WORLD Policy Analysis Center
The WORLD Policy Analysis Center provides public access to its data on constitutional rights, laws, and policies, and leads comparative policy research by working with partners worldwide to advance equality globally by moving evidence to impact.

MAPS

WHO Map Gallery
WHO Public Health Mapping
Health Map

CONTACT ME FOR HELP

Profile Photo
Julie Horwath
she/her/hers
Contact:
Library, Room 200
jhorwath@touro.edu
707.638.5315