Research Guides: Public Health: SYSTEMATIC REVIEWS

TOOLS & ACTIVITIES FOR LEARNING ABOUT SYSTEMATIC REVIEWS & HOW TO DO THEM

METHOD MAP: Systematic Reviews
Click here for a visual representation of systematic reviews in the context of the research methods landscape, learn about key terminology, and find books, case studies, and more about systematic reviews.
CASE STUDY: A Mixed-Methods Systematic Review of Transitions for Caregivers of People Living With Dementia
Learning Outcomes:
By the end of this case, students should be able to identify the features and general format of a systematic review including:
- formulating research questions and eligibility criteria
- how to approach searches
- where to find guidance
- describe how qualitative and quantitative approaches to research might differ
- compare some of the benefits and challenges of taking a mixed-methods approach

Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library includes seven distinct databases in its collection: The Cochrane Methodology Register, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Evaluation Database, The About the Cochrane Collaboration database.
Embase (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive international biomedical literature database, with articles from 1947 and on, this resource has over 32 million (yes, MILLION!) records. These records include conference abstracts; drug, disease, and medical device data; 2,900 unique journals; and includes MEDLINE titles. Tools to help with your research include a PICO search page, in-depth indexing to create highly targeted searches, journal searching, and more.
SAGE Research Methods (SAGE Publications) This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method.

Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions
Version 6.3, 2022
Includes the following sections, each of which have multiple chapters:
PART 1: About Cochrane Reviews
PART 2: Core Methods
PART 3: Specific Perspectives in Reviews
PART 4: Other Topics
JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis
From the "About This Manual" section:
"The JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis provides guidance to authors for the conduct and preparation of JBI systematic reviews and evidence syntheses. The JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis has separate chapters devoted synthesis of different types of evidence and to address different types of review questions. "

RAYYAN Website
"Biomedical researchers choose Rayyan to get superior results faster, making more time for other important areas of their research. We understand how to do a systematic review quickly and efficiently." - from the RAYYAN homepage

To create a FREE account, click the SIGN UP button in the top right corner, then select the FREE option.

RAYYAN - A Quick Tour (3:44)

Guide to using RAYYAN
Created at McGill University, this detailed guide to using RAYYAN will help you get started and show you how to use all of the free features.

RAYYAN Tutorial (14:09)

Covidence Website
You can sign up for the FREE TRIAL and complete ONE systematic review. After the first review, you will be asked to subscribe.

Colandr Information
From the About page: "Colandr is a web-based, open access platform for conducting evidence reviews. Colandr can be used by collaborative teams of any size and provides an organizational structure to manage information throughout the entire evidence review process. "
Colandr - The Platform
Use this link to go directly to the platform and get started. It's free!
Colandr Help Guides & Tutorials
Learn how to use the platform from step-by-step and video guides and an FAQ page.

Colandr - Introduction (49:03)

Full Colandr Webinar (1:28:14)