Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Health: GLOBAL HEALTH

This Research Guide will help MPH students find the resources they need for their classes, papers, projects, and capstone.

Welcome to the Global Health Page

This page introduces some of the resources the Library has to help you with your Global Health research and field study. There are many more books you can find in the Library Catalog, databases you can find on the A-Z Databases page, and journals, which can be found with the A-Z Journals tool. For help using these tools, please see the "How to Use & Access Library Tools and Resources" tab in this guide. 

Also see the "Data Sources" page for links to data resources offered by the Library and other sources.  

And of course, you can always contact your librarian Julie Horwath at jhorwath@touro.edu for help with any of these tools and finding resources for your research. 

REGIONAL DATABASES

The following free databases are supported by the World Health Organization and will help you find articles about public health in different regions of the world.

HESPARIAN HEALTH GUIDES

HESPARIAN HEALTH MOBILE APPS

Global Health weblinks

ADOLEC, Literature on Adolescence Health
Bibliographic database that contains articles related to adolescence, produced by the Pan American Health Organization.

American Medical Student Association, International Health resources
Their mission is to educate, empower and promote action on global health issues.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Coordinating Office for Global Health
The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has used its scientific expertise to help people throughout the world live healthier, safer, longer lives through science-based health action.

Center for National Health Development in Ethiopia
The Center for National Health Development in Ethiopia (CNHDE) is a Project of the Earth Institute at Columbia University involved in supporting efforts for the achievement of the Millennium Development Goals in Ethiopia.

Country Studies, Federal Research Division, Library of Congress
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

EurasiaHealth Knowledge Network provided by USAID
EurasiaHealth is a clearinghouse of freely available resources contributed, created and translated by a worldwide community of health professionals focusing on Central & Eastern Europe and the New Independent States.

GHEC Library of Resources
The Global Health Education Consortium initiated this web project with the central objective of improving the quality and efficiency of global health education. They seek to do this by providing modules on a wide variety of topics which students can review either on their own or in instructor-led courses.

GlobalHealth.gov
To promote the health of the world’s population by advancing the Secretary’s and the Department of Health and Human Services’ global strategies and partnerships, thus serving the health of the people of the United States.

Global Health Gateway
Kaiser Family Foundation's "online clearinghouse for the latest data and information on the U.S. role in global health."

Global Health Library provided by WHO
The Global Health Library (GHL) will provide first step access to reliable health information in paper form, electronic form, and any other media to those who need it.

Population Council
The Population Council is an international, nonprofit, nongovernmental organization that seeks to improve the well-being and reproductive health of current and future generations around the world and to help achieve a humane, equitable, and sustainable balance between people and resources.

Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health
Gateway to freely available online resources related to disaster medicine and public health. Resources include expert guidelines, factsheets, websites, research reports, articles, and other tools aimed at the public health community.

ReliefWeb
ReliefWeb is a source for timely, reliable and relevant humanitarian information and analysis.

SciELO

SciELO is a bibliographic database, digital library, and cooperative electronic publishing model of open access journals. SciELO was created to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries and provides an efficient way to increase visibility and access to scientific literature Originally established in Brazil in 1997, today there are 14 countries in the SciELO network and its journal collections: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Mexico, Peru, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Uruguay, and Venezuela. Paraguay is developing a journal collection.

World Health Organization
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

The World Bank
The World Bank is a source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Their mission is to fight poverty with passion and professionalism for lasting results and to help people help themselves and their environment by providing resources, sharing knowledge, building capacity and forging partnerships in the public and private sectors.

The World Factbook, Central Intelligence Agency
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

UNICEF
UNICEF was created to work with others to overcome the obstacles that poverty, violence, disease and discrimination place in a child’s path.

United Republic of Tanzania, Ministry of Health and Social Welfare
Facilitate the provision of basic health services that are of good quality, equitable, accessible, affordable, sustainable and gender sensitive for Tanzanians.

U.S. Agency for International Development's Global Health
USAID programs in global health represent the commitment and determination of the United States Government to prevent suffering, save lives, and create a brighter future for families in the developing world.

 

SEARCH THE TUC LIBRARY CATALOG

Search for books, ebooks, DVD's and more in our Library catalog in the search box below. The search bar is set to do a keyword search. You can also search by author or title by selecting them from the drop down menu. To do an advanced search, please go to the TUC Library Catalog.
 

GLOBAL HEALTH BOOKS AT THE LIBRARY

Below is a small selection of TUC Library's books and eBooks related to Global Health. To find more books on your topic, you can search TUC's catalog or contact Julie Horwath at jhorwath@touro.edu.

GLOBAL HEALTH FIELD STUDY

The Library has a number of books and eBooks to help you prepare for your field study in Bolivia, Ethiopia, or Cambodia. Here are just a few examples. You can search the catalog or ask a librarian for help if you'd like to find more.

BOLIVIA

CAMBODIA

ETHIOPIA

Disease information

HIV/AIDS

AEGIS (AIDS Education Global Information System)
Gateway to information about AIDS and HIV - its prevention, treatment and management - that is updated hourly. It features links to daily news reports, fact sheets and personal stories.

HIV/AIDS Links and Resources
HIV/AIDS links and resources are provided by Human Rights Watch

HIV Guide, Johns Hopkins
Point of care information about HIV/AIDS provided by Johns Hopkins University.

HIV InSite, University of California, San Francisco
HIV InSite is a comprehensive, up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy from the University of California San Francisco

Leprosy

International Federation of Anti-Leprosy Associations ILEP
The purpose of ILEP is to promote and facilitate co-operation and collaboration between its Members, by co-ordinating their support to leprosy programmes, representing their common interests and providing technical expertise to the Federation, its Members and other parties.

International Leprosy Association
The International Leprosy Association, founded in 1931, is a Professional Society of physicians, scientists, and individuals and organizations in related areas, working to understand and relieve the problems associated with leprosy.

International Leprosy Association's Global Project on the History of Leprosy
The Global Project on the History of Leprosy is the initiative of the International Leprosy Association. The Project is developing a database of leprosy archives around the world, as a working tool for researchers who are interested in the modern history of leprosy.

Leprosy Review
LEPRA Health in Action works to treat, educate and support people in some of the world’s most deprived countries.

Parasites

DPDx
This web site was developed and is maintained by CDC’s Division of Parasitic Diseases and Malaria (DPDM). Their goal is to use the Internet to strengthen diagnosis of parasitic diseases, both in the United States and abroad.

MedlinePlus: Malaria, U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health
Information from MedlinePlus about Malaria.

WHO NEWS & RESROUCES

WORLD-WIDE NGO DIRECTORY

GLOBAL HEALTH ORGANIZATIONS

American International Health Alliance
The American International Health Alliance is a nonprofit organization working to advance global health by helping communities and nations with limited resources build sustainable institutional and human resource capacity.

Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, Global Health Program
The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Global Health Program harnesses advances in science and technology to save lives in poor countries.

Global Forum on Health Research
The Global Forum for Health Research is an independent, international organization committed to demonstrating the essential role of research and innovation for health and health equity, benefiting poor and marginalized populations.

Global Health Council
The Global Health Council is the world's largest membership alliance dedicated to saving lives by improving health throughout the world.

Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is one of the world’s leading independent organizations dedicated to defending and protecting human rights.

Institute for International Medicine
The Institute for International Medicine (INMED) is a Missouri-registered, non-profit, educational corporation founded in 2003. INMED's mission is to equip healthcare professionals with the unique skills to serve forgotten people.

International Health section of American Public Health Association
The International Health Section was founded in 1976 to provide leadership and a focus on international public health issues within APHA.

The Rohde Foundation
Founded by Touro University California Alumnus, Jesse Rohde, The Rohde Foundation is dedicated to equitable and comprehensive health care in rural Africa.

World Federation of Public Health Associations
The World Federation of Public Health Associations is an international, nongovernmental, multi-professional and civil society organization bringing together public health professionals interested and active in safeguarding and promoting the public’s health through professional exchange, collaboration, and action.

GLOBAL HEALTH NEWS WEBSITES

AllAfrica.com, electronic distributor of African news and information
AllAfrica Global Media is a multi-media content service provider, systems technology developer and the largest electronic distributor of African news and information worldwide.

BBC News, Medical Notes
Links to the BBC News Online medical notes library

Global Health Gateway
Kaiser Family Foundation's "online clearinghouse for the latest data and information on the U.S. role in global health." Includes Kaiser Daily Global Health Policy Report.

National Public Radio, Global Health
Listen to Global Health information from National Public Radio.

World Health News, Harvard school of Public Health
This is online news digest from the Center for Health Communication at the Harvard School of Public Health. The site covers critical public health issues from around the world.

CDC AROUND THE WORLD - NEWS FEED

Loading ...

WHO Disease Outbreak News

Loading ...