This page includes listings of the Library's subscription biomedical literature databases and free databases relevant to the COM curriculums.
You will need your TouroOne credentials to access these databases from off-campus.
Select Access with your TouroOne credentials
Then login with your TouroOne Username and Password.
If you continue to experience electronic access issues, please email the Electronic Resources Librarian, Michael Massaro at mmassaro@touro.edu
If you need assistance with choosing a database for a literature search, please contact Jennifer Abueg.
If you are looking for evidence-based research databases, please see the databases page in the Evidence-Based Medicine guide.
Free Databases and Information Sources
Centers for Disease Control (CDC) - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention main page. Includes MMWR, Mortality and Morbidity Weekly Report, which provides health statistics, infectious disease information, and breaking news.
NCBI Bookshelf - A collection of biomedical books and reports made available through authors, publishers, and the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
PracticeUpdate - Previously OncologySTAT. Requires registration.
SilverBook - A database of material on chronic disease created by The Alliance for Aging Research. Content consists of links to material from over 100 separate agencies, organizations, and experts.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
You should see links to 'Full Text @ TUC Library', and 'Check Library Holdings.' If you don't, go into Settings - Library Links and search for Touro University California. Note that 'Full Text @ Touro' is not us, it's Touro College - look for TUC Library.
All TUC Library Databases
TUC Library Subscription Databases
To access from off-campus login with your TouroOne credentials.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. Also includes osteopathic and manual therapy literature.
See guides and short tutorials for CINAHL at this link.
Cochrane Library (Wiley)
The Cochrane Library includes seven distinct databases in its collection:
- The Cochrane Methodology Register
- The Cochrane Methodology Register offers a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes full text articles and protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
- The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a bibliography of controlled trials.
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care.
- Health Technology Assessment Database
- HTA brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The aim of the HTA database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care.
- NHS Evaluation Database
- NHS assists decision-makers by systematically identifying economic evaluations from around the world, appraising their quality, and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses.
- The About the Cochrane Collaboration database
- This database contains information on the 81 groups the make up the Cochrane Collaboration.
See guides and short tutorials for Cochrane at this link.
EMBASE - A comprehensive international biomedical literature database, with articles from 1947 to present. Records include conference abstracts; drug, disease, and medical device data; 2,900 unique journals; and includes MEDLINE titles. Tools to help with your research include a PICO search page, in-depth indexing to create highly targeted searches, journal searching, medical device searching.
See guides and short tutorials for EMBASE at this link.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest)
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete™ combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library™ with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. ProQuest Health and Medical Complete provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE® indexing.
In addition, the database includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research.
The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.
See guides and short tutorials for Health & Medical Collection at this link.
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) - The HTA brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The aim of the HTA database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care.
See guides and short tutorials for Healthcare Administration Database at this link.
PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Provided by the American Psychological Association (APA).
See guides and short tutorials for PsycINFO at this link.
PubMed with LinkOut to full-text articles
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed is the first database to search when looking for biomedical and life science journal articles, clinical trials, reviews and more. PubMed includes links to many providers offering full text articles and other related resources.
See guides and short tutorials for using PubMed at this link.
Scopus (Elsevier)
The largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Scopus offers smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It is a comprehensive resource to support research needs across all disciplines. Also includes osteopathic and manual therapy literature.
See guides and short tutorials for Scopus at this link.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers all areas of sports & sports medicine literature with full-text coverage for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.
See guides and short tutorials for SPORTDiscus at this link.