Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College of Osteopathic Medicine: Drug Databases

This Research Guide will help COM students find helpful library resources

DailyMed - Provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). Search by drug name, NDC code, drug class or set ID. From the NIH/U.S. National Library of Medicine

Drug Information Portal The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. At the top of the page are resources including the NLM search systems useful in searching for a drug, NLM research resources, resources organized by audience and class, and other NIH and government resources such as FDA and CDC.

Epocrates free app download. The plus version is free for medical students if you provide your AMA ME number.

LactMed - Provides information on drug levels in breast milk, blood levels in breastfed infants, alternate drugs that might be used during breastfeeding, and more.

MPR - Provides drug dosing, interactions, and recalls, drug monographs, drug news, and e-prescribing service for healthcare professionals.

Pillbox - Combining data derived from drug labels submitted to FDA by drug manufacturers and distributors and NLM's RxNorm, Pillbox is an identification and reference system for oral solid-dosage medications.

PDR - Prescribers Digital Reference - a compilation of manufacturers' prescribing information (package insert) on prescription drugs, updated regularly.

To see how to get drug information on your smartphone or tablet, look on the Drug Information Resources subpage in the Mobile Resources guide.

Quiz yourself with the Top 200 Drugs Challenge! Note that you will have to self-register for a MyAccess account to use this feature.

You will need your TouroOne credentials to access these resources from off-campus.

AccessPharmacy Drug Monographs
Drug information from AccessPharmacy. You can search or browse alphabetically by generics, trade names, or drug classes.

Clinical Pharmacology
A Gold Standard database providing drug and drug-related information, consumer drug information handouts, a drug identifier, product comparison reports, drug interaction reports, compatibility reports, a drug finding tool, clinical comparison reports, and a resource center.

Includes more than 2900 gold standard drug monographs. Filter by drug class, adverse reactions, indications, contraindications.
 

Facts & Comparisons eAnswers

F&C offers the ability to search for drugs by disease or symptom, a drug interaction tool, interactive comparative drug tables, advanced dosing tools, online access to Drug Facts & Comparisons and Review of Natural Products, and more. F&C is used in many community pharmacies.

Lexicomp Online
Lexicomp is a provider of drug information and clinical content for the healthcare industry. Lexicomp provides tools necessary to help improve patient safety, ensure compliance, and elevate the quality of care patients receive.

MICROMEDEX
A comprehensive source for drug information. Search for dosage, pharmacokinetics, cautions, interactions, comparative efficacy, clinical applications and place in therapy for investigational, international, FDA-approved, and nonprescription preparations. Includes DRUG-REAX, DRUGDEX, DrugPoints, INDENTIDEX, POISINDEX, ToxPoints, and more.

Prescriber's Letter - the leading information source for prescribers on drug therapy recommendations and medical information. One popular feature of the Prescriber Letter online is the ability to earn CE/CME credits in a number of ways— the monthly letter, online searches, home study courses, archived and live webinars. In addition, users can search journal issues, access CME-As-You-Go and PL Voices Interactive Webinar series, read practice-related and disease-related charts and much more. Download the "Quick Start Guide" to get started.

Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Web Edition

  • Searchable categories include : Syndromes, Pathogens, Anti-Infectives, Hepatitis, HIV/AIDS, Prevention, Tables and Tools
  • Includes updates in
    • Infectious Diseases
    • Monthly updated treatment guidelines
    • Practice Pearls
    • Drug Shortages (US)

UpToDate
Drug information provided by Lexi-Comp. Lexi-Interact ™ Drug Interactions Program also available. A comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource. UpToDate is designed to give users access to concise, practical information at the point of care. Also features comparative drug summaries in a side-by-side format, multi-level therapeutic class tree, and drug images for easier identification.

  • You do not need to be on campus to register or re-verify your UTD account. 
  • If you have forgotten your UTD username and password, click on the login help button. You will get a UTD email with a temporary login, which you can change later.
  • You will receive email alerts from UTD for each device registered with (e.g., desktop computer, laptop, tablet, smartphone) if you have not logged into UTD after 90 days, or are approaching the 90-day limit. Note that you do not need to register for a new UTD account. You only need to login as a returning user with your UTD username and password.