Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College of Osteopathic Medicine: Resources for Doctoring Courses

This Resource Guide will help OMS1 and OMS2 students find helpful library resources

See the following pages for additional resources for Osteopathic Doctoring:

Drug Resource Apps Recommended by Your COM PCD Faculty for OD

Epocrates - free app download. The plus version is free for medical students if you provide your AMA ME number.

MPR - Provides drug dosing, interactions, and recalls, drug monographs, drug news, and e-prescribing service for healthcare professionals.

PDR - Prescribers Digital Reference - a compilation of manufacturers' prescribing information (package insert) on prescription drugs, updated regularly.

VisualDX

VisualDX

"VisualDx provides problem-oriented decision support for differential diagnosis, testing, and therapeutic decisions. VisualDx includes the world’s best dark skin atlas and most equitable image collection of disease presentations in people of all skin colors." - from the website.

In VisualDX, which has over 42,000 images, you can build differentials; search diseases, conditions, and diagnoses; provide patient education handouts and emails; search for medication adverse events; earn CME credits; and more. View references used for the articles and link directly to UpToDate and PubMed for further research on your topics.

Modules include:

General Symptoms Dermatology of All Skin Types
Dermatology of Skin Color Ophthalmology
ENT/Oral Medicine Cardiac / Pulmonary
Neurologic / Psychiatric Genitourinary
Gastrointestinal Drug Reactions

See short guides and tutorials for VisualDX at this link.

Differential Diagnosis Resources

Diagnosaurus (AccessMedicine) - Browse differential diagnoses alphabetically, or by symptom, disease or organ system

5 Minute Clinical Consult - Algorithms & Charts - Over 200 diagnosis and treatment algorithms, including online-only exclusives help you to diagnose clinical signs and symptoms, and treatment of a variety of clinical symptoms.

Diagnostic Tests & Procedures, Clinical Decision-Making and Study Tools

You will need your TouroOne credentials to access some of these eResources from off campus.

5 Minute Consult

Point of care tool with information on diseases and conditions, drugs, patient handouts, PT exercises, procedures, algorithms and charts, lab tests.

See short guides and tutorials for 5 Minute Consult at this link.

AccessMedicine

  • books - more than 100 study guides, clinical textbooks and manuals
  • quick reference (QMDT, Guidelines - Primary Care, Guidelines - Inpatient Medicine, DDx, Diagnostic Tests, Clinical Prep, 2 Minute Medicine, English-Spanish Medical Dictionary, Calculators)
  • drug monographs (generics, trade names, drug classes, patient handouts)
  • multimedia (diagnostic and imaging studies, exploring essential radiology, Harrison's pathophysiology animations, Harrison's podclass, human anatomy modules, lectures, patient interview, patient safety modules, pharmacology, physical exam, procedural videos
  • cases
  • study tools
  • patient education

See short guides and tutorials for AccessMedicine at this link.

American Heart Association eBook Collection - This collection focuses on heart and cardiovascular health and includes topics such as preventing high blood pressure, pediatric CPR, emergency cardiovascular care, and much more. The titles include workbooks, manuals, and guideline updates. Also includes the ACLS and PALS Training Manuals.

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination with OSCE Clinical Skills Videos

The Bates' videos demonstrate head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques on different types of patients. The OSCE videos are designed to help with preparation for Objective Structured Clinical Examinations (OSCEs) by testing clinical reasoning skills. Each video presents a clinical encounter and you are given the opportunity to develop an assessment, or differential diagnosis, and provide an appropriate diagnostic workup. Note: this resource may not be accessible on all mobile devices.

See guides and short tutorials on using Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination with OSCE Clinical Skills Videos at this link

ClinicalKey

Delivers all of Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, giving physicians access to over 1100 top books, over 600 top journals, multimedia images and videos, more than 300 instructional videos from Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, drug monographs, patient education, MEDLINE citations and abstracts from PubMed.

  • Includes Procedures Consult : multimedia training tool that teaches how to prepare for, perform, and follow up on the most common procedures required in today's hospital setting ; covers the procedures required by the ABIM (American Board of Internal Medicine) and conforms to ACGME standards. Includes an outline on pre– and post-procedures, anatomy, procedures, outcomes, and checklists. Select Procedures Videos from the drop down box and search with keywords.

See guides and short tutorials on how to use ClinicalKey at this link.

Merck Manual Online - Professional - Provides symptoms to disorders, tests & procedures, laboratory values, clinical calculators. Free resource.

Neuroexam.com

An interactive online guide to the neurologic examination. Supplemental resource to Blumenfeld's Neuroanatomy Through Clinical Cases. Requires QuickTime plugin. Free resource.

Pediatric Care Online
A point of care resource including the AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care, Bright Futures, Red Book content, pediatric drug lookup, antimicrobial therapy guide, visual library, webinars, pediatric care updates, AAP policy statements and clinical practice guidelines, interactive periodicity schedule, signs and symptoms search, patient handouts and forms and tools to screen, track and record clinical information.

See guides and short tutorials on Pediatric Care Online at this link.

Pedscases is an interactive website created by medical students.  Has quizzes, cases, MCQs in pediatrics. Free resource.

A Practical Guide to Clinical Medicine - A review of clinical exam skills. Free resource from the University of California at San Diego.

History of Present Illness The Pelvic Examination Lower Back Exam
The Rest of the History Male Genital/Rectal Exam The Mental Status Exam
Review of Systems The Upper Extremities The Neurological Exam
Vital Signs The Lower Extremities Physical Exam Check Lists
The Eye Exam Musculo-Skeletal Exam Medical Links
Head and Neck Exam Knee Exam Write Ups
The Lung Exam Shoulder Exam The Oral Presentation
Cardiovascular Exam Hand Exam Outpatient Clinics
Exam of the Abdomen Elbow Exam Inpatient Medicine

Breast Exam

Hip Exam Clinical Decision Making

The 25 physical exams every clinician should know. Free resource from Stanford University School of Medicine.

Aortic Regurgitation Exam Liver Exam
Ankle Brachial Index Low Back Exam
Ankle and Foot Exam Lymph Node Exam
Ascites & Venous Patterns Neck Veins & Wave Forms
Bedside Ultrasound Pelvic Exam
Breast Exam Precordial Movements in the Cardiac Exam
Cardiac Second Sounds Pulmonary Exam: Percussion & Inspection
Cerebellar Exam Pupillary Responses
Deep Tendon Reflexes Pulsus Paradoxus and Blood Pressure Measurement Techniques
Dermatology Exam: Acne vs. Rosacea Rectal Exam
Dermatology Exam: Learning the Language Spleen Exam
Dermatology Exam: Nevi (Mole) Exam Thyroid Exam
Fundoscopic Exam (Ophthalmoscopy) Tongue Exam
Gait Abnormalities Liver Disease, Head to Foot
Hand Exam Visit the 25
Hip Region Exam Shoulder Exam
Internal Capsule Stroke Parkinson's Disease Exam
Involuntary Movements and Tremor Diagnosis: Types, Causes, and Examples Diastolic Murmurs Exam

Knee Exam

​​​​​​​​​​

Dermatology Exam: Nevi (Mole) Exam

UCSD MedPics / Clinical Images
A visual educational resource dedicated to providing pictures that are representative of common and uncommon physical exam findings. Discussions of pathophysiology, diagnostics, and treatment are not included. From the UC San Diego School of Medicine. 
Free Resource.

Head and Neck Abdomen
 Eyes Genital and Rectal
Thorax Lower Extremities
Upper Extremities  Skin

 

UpToDate
Provides topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. UpToDate is used to answer questions quickly, increase your clinical knowledge, check for changes to drug monographs, and improve patient care.

  • You do not need to be on campus to register or re-authenticate your UTD account.
  • When you login from off-campus use your TouroOne credentials.
  • You will receive email alerts from UTD for each registered device (e.g., desktop computer, laptop, tablet, smartphone) if you have not logged into UTD after 90 days, or are approaching the 90-day limit.
  • Note that you do not need to register for a new UTD account. You only need to login as a returning user with your UTD username and password. Do not use the link provided in the UTD email notification to re-authenticate -- use the link above.
  • Download the Word document with the instructions at the link below for accessing UpToDate

See guides and short tutorials for UpToDate at this link.

If you need further assistance please contact the Electronic Resources Librarian.

 

Suturing Videos

ClinicalKey - Select "Procedure Videos" in the drop down menu and search for specific suturing videos,

Suturing - on CD-ROM available for regular checkout

Suturing Collection - on DVD available for regular checkout

STRUCTURAL COMPETENCY RESOURCES

Additional Ebooks on Diagnosis & Treatment