TUC Library has put together a collection of proprietary and free databases to help you meet your information needs. These databases are listed alphabetically below. You can use the filters or the search bar to quickly locate the databases for your particular research needs.
HOW TO USE THE FILTERS
You can apply filters to locate databases for specific subjects or database types by choosing from the respective dropdown menus. Please note that after selecting an initial filter, any subsequent filters you choose will filter your current results, not the entire A-Z List. For example, if you first select the subject filter "Medicine" you will get a list of all the databases on the list that provide information and resources for topics in medicine. If you then apply a type filter of "eBooks", your results will be for databases that have the assigned subject of "medicine" and the assigned type of "eBooks", providing you with a list of the databases that have eBooks on medicine. To remove filters, click the "Clear Filters/Browse All Databases" button, which appears after a filter is in place.
LOCATING FREE RESOURCES
To locate resources freely available to the public, select the "Free Resources" filter on the "All Database Types " dropdown menu.
OFF CAMPUS ACCESS
You will need to sign into TouroOne for off-campus access to all databases not indicated as "Free Resources." Please contact Michael Massaro, our Electronic Resources Librarian, if you encounter access issues with any of the following databases.
Also, explore our RESEARCH GUIDES to see the databases that are most relevant to a particular subject area in your program, and to find other materials and tools to help you with your program-specific course work.
ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier's content from medical, surgical, pharmaceutical, patient education and more into one dynamic resource. ClinicalKey provides access to over 900 books and 500 journals, 1,400 topic pages, thousands of videos and millions of images.
A comprehensive international biomedical literature database, with articles from 1947 and on, this resource has over 32 million (yes, MILLION!) records. These records include conference abstracts; drug, disease, and medical device data; 2,900 unique journals; and includes MEDLINE titles. Tools to help with your research include a PICO search page, in-depth indexing to create highly targeted searches, journal searching, and more.
Lexicomp is a provider of drug information and clinical content for the healthcare industry. Lexicomp provides tools necessary to help improve patient safety, ensure compliance, and elevate the quality of care patients receive.
*THIS IS A FREE RESOURCE.*
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's. PubMed is the first database to search when looking for biomedical and life science journal articles, clinical trials, reviews, and more. LINKOUT provides direct links to TUC's collection of journals for accessing articles directly.
The largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources from around the world. Scopus offers smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. It is a comprehensive resource to support research needs across all disciplines.
Provides topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. UpToDate is used to answer questions quickly, increase your clinical knowledge, check for changes to drug monographs, and improve patient care.
PLEASE NOTE: UpToDate requires you to register for an account from within the TUC network. This account can also be used for accessing the UpToDate mobile app. Please note: your UpToDate account will expire after 90 days of inactivity. If this occurs, you can simply re-register to restore access, by logging into UTD from the UTD links provided by the Library, which will allow UTD to recognize you as a TUC affiliate.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Alexander Street video includes documentaries, feature films, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, skills-based training video, demonstrations, and more. Patrons will find many award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. - from Academic Video Online brochure
***CONTACT MICHAEL MASSARO FOR ACCESS CODE AT: email@example.com.***
CanopyLearn is an online, self-paced eLearning platform that offers the most robust medical Spanish and medical English curriculum, tailored for healthcare professionals based on everyday clinical encounters. It combines medical terms, Spanish learning foundations, and cultural knowledge together in every lesson.
✓ Improve medical Spanish and medical English in 40 hours
✓ Fit into your busy schedules and learn on any mobile devices
✓ Improve cultural competence while watching telenovelas
-description for the Canopy website
*Awarded "The Best Medical Spanish Online Courses for Healthcare Professionals" by the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
OnlineMedEd is a learning platform for healthcare education that organizes and presents information through an array of tools including notes, videos, challenge questions and memory tools. OnlineMedEd requires pre-registration. TUC COM, COP, PA and SON students and faculty have been pre-registered. To access, use link https://portal.onlinemeded.com and then sign in with your Touro e-mail. If you have any problems signing in or are in a TUC program other than COM, COP, PA or SON please contact the TUC librarians at firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance with registration or other questions. (NOTE: OnlineMedEd will be activated for TUC campus-wide on Monday, October 2, 2023).
For Primal VR, under Titles select Virtual Reality. You will need to install it.
***TO GO DIRECTLY TO TUC LIBRARY SUBSCRIPTIONS, CLICK ON THE "TITLES" TAB IN THE TOP MENU.***
Interactive anatomy study tools that let you explore parts of the human body in 3D and VR, including a clinical specialty anatomy study tool focusing on neuroanatomy of the head and neck. A session with twenty (20) minutes or longer of inactivity will be logged off automatically.
VR USER GUIDE LINK: https://www.primalpictures.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/PrimalVR_User_Manual.pdf
***Includes PALMS (Perceptual and Adaptive Learning Modules)***
PALMS is an adaptive self-assessment tool for identifying anatomical structures.
Use this resource to learn how to find, evaluate and use information for your research projects with quick video-based learning modules and tools, including a citation builder, search aid, resource evaluation aid, and revision aid.
Radiopaedia.org is a radiology resource, compiled by radiologists and other health professionals from around the world with the mission to "create the best radiology reference the world has ever seen". (-from the About page on the website). This website offers articles, cases, lectures, classes, and quizzes free to promote radiology education for current and future health and medical professionals.
"VisualDx provides problem-oriented decision support for differential diagnosis, testing, and therapeutic decisions. VisualDx includes the world’s best dark skin atlas and most equitable image collection of disease presentations in people of all skin colors." - from the website.
In VisualDX, which has over 42,000 images, you can build differentials; search diseases, conditions, and diagnoses; provide patient education handouts and emails; search for medication adverse events; earn CME credits; and more. View references used for the articles and link directly to UpToDate and PubMed for further research on your topics.