TUC Library Guide

Library News
❖

Covidence Site Maintenance on January 25

The platform will be temporarily unavailable for approximately 6 hours between 4pm PST and 10pm PST.

❖

Exam Master System Upgrade & Downtime on January 26/27

Exam Master will be down for a major system upgrade that will enhance user experience and lay the groundwork for future security enhancements across our platform. As part of this upgrade, moving forward, new users will be able to use one set of credentials to access multiple resources on different URLs. Please note that this change will apply only to new accounts and will not affect the current configurations of existing users.

To implement this feature and ensure a smooth transition, Exam Master will be inaccessible on January 26th and 27th.

❖

Change to Login Process for Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination

When accessing Bates' from on campus, you will now see the below login page. This is due to the Bates' migration to Lippincott's Clinical Context platform. You do not need to create an account or select Access through your institution. Simply click the middle option, "Library - Continue as anonymous user," to proceed to the Bates' homepage with all features available. 

❖Select Library (Continue as anonymous user) when accessing from on campus.❖

This should not affect access from off-campus, which has not changed. From off-campus, login with your normal process for off-campus authentication.

Please contact the Library if you have any difficulty accessing Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination.

❖

Change to Login Process for Lexidrug

 

❖Select Sign in with OpenAthens when accessing from on campus.❖

This should not affect access from off-campus, which has not changed. From off-campus, login with your normal process for off-campus authentication.

December Resource List
❖

Neurodiversity Resources at the TUC Library

New in Our Book Collection
December 2024
❖

eBook Collection
❖

General Collection
❖

Leisure Collection
❖

LA PA Collection
❖

New Database
❖

Teaching Channel Video

Over 1,900 videos give students and faculty valuable content that empowers teaching and learning. Videos can be easily navigated through the filter feature to easily access the most appropriate videos. The library provides a plethora of both full-length and short video clips. Instructors can show short clips during lectures to demonstrate various techniques and methods. Students can experience full-length authentic classrooms through video and be better prepared on day one of their teaching career. Instructors can also assign videos as homework assignments.

New Journals
❖

Journal of Women's Health

Journal of Women's Health is the primary source of information for meeting the challenges of providing optimal health care for women throughout their lifespan. The Journal delivers cutting-edge advancements in diagnostic procedures, therapeutic protocols for the management of diseases, and innovative research in gender-based biology that impacts patient care and treatment.

Journal for Vascular Ultrasound

The Journal for Vascular Ultrasound (JVU) is the official quarterly Journal of the Society for Vascular Ultrasound and publishes peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of the noninvasive diagnosis of vascular disease, including original research, reviews, case reports, letters to the editor, and editorials. Continuing Medical Education (CME) test questions are included with many JVU articles that readers can complete to earn CME credits. The JVU is currently inviting submissions of articles with subject matter that falls within the journal’s Aims and Scope.

Journal of Hospice & Palliative Nursing

Journal of Hospice & Palliative Nursing is the professional, peer-reviewed journal for nurses in hospice and palliative care settings. Focusing on the clinical, educational and research aspects of care, JHPN offers current and reliable information on end of life nursing. Feature articles in areas such as symptom management, ethics, and futility of care address holistic care across the continuum.

NEJM AI

NEJM AI is an interdisciplinary journal facilitating dialogue among stakeholders invested in using AI to transform medicine. NEJM AI intentionally pairs “pre-clinical” and clinical articles to deliver critical context to both clinicians and non-clinician researchers. The journal bridges the fast-moving developments in AI, informatics, and technology in medicine with the application of these advancements to clinical practice. NEJM AI covers the application of AI methodologies and data science to biomedical informatics, connected health, telemedicine, medical images and imaging, personalized medicine, policy and regulation, and the ethical and medicolegal implications of AI.

Clinical Diabetes

The mission of Clinical Diabetes is to provide primary care clinicians and all health care professionals involved in the care of people with diabetes with information on advances and state-of-the-art care for people with diabetes. Clinical Diabetes is also a forum for discussing diabetes-related problems in practice, medical-legal issues, case studies, digests of recent research, and patient education materials.

LGBT Health

LGBT Health is the premier peer-reviewed journal dedicated to promoting optimal healthcare for all sexual and gender minority persons worldwide. The Journal focuses specifically on health while maintaining sufficient breadth to address policy, legislative, and education and training issues relevant to the provision of healthcare and health outcomes. This Journal aims to advance understanding of the health needs particular to each sexual and gender minority population and to improve delivery of and access to culturally competent healthcare. LGBT Health also encourages further research and increased funding in this critical but currently underserved domain. The Journal is an authoritative source of information and provides an international forum for the most recent developments in health research, clinical practice, and policy. Contributions from all continents are solicited including Asia and Africa which are currently underrepresented in LGBT health research.

Journal of Diagnostic Medical Sonography

Creating and interpreting clear and precise sonographic images is both an art and a science. The Journal of Diagnostic Medical Sonography (JDMS) which is the official journal of the Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonography, provides peer-reviewed innovative publications in all specialties including but not limited to abdominal, women’s health, pediatric, cardiovascular, musculoskeletal, and in all fields where new applications for ultrasound are being explored.

 

Transgender Health

Transgender Health is the first peer-reviewed journal dedicated to addressing the healthcare needs of transgender individuals throughout their lifespan and identifying gaps in knowledge as well as priority areas where policy development and research are needed to achieve healthcare equity.

 

Monthly Resource Focus

❖

New Chronicle of Higher Education Reports Available

The Library now has four new reports from The Chronicle of Higher Education. If you would like to check out any of the reports, please contact the Library at tuc.library@touro.edu. If you would like the report mailed to your office or home address, please let us know!

Adapting to AI: How to Understand, Prepare for, and Innovate in a Changing Landscape

Energizing Alumni: Engagement and Advancement for a Strong Institution

A librarian's Toolbox: What you Need to Know

The Neurodiverse Campus: Supporting Students, Faculty, & Staff

❖

In an effort to bring you the most relevant content, Prescriber’s Letter is becoming Prescriber Insights. Prescriber Insights provides you with all the value you have come to rely on with Prescriber’s Letter, with the opportunity to offer you content specific for your unique practice needs.

 

CLICK HERE TO GO TO THE COMPLETE RESOURCE

Recent New Acquisitions Lists

❖

Below you will find the PDFs of the complete New Acquisitions Lists for the most current month and the three previous months. For older lists, please contact the Library, and we will be happy to provide them to you.