Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TUC Library Guide

This guide contains information on all aspects of the TUC Library for the TUC community.

The TUC LIbrary

ABOUT THE TUC LIBRARY 

The TUC Library, centrally located on the lower tier of the TUC campus. across from Lander Hall, supports the reference, research, teaching, and study needs of the university’s students, faculty, and staff. The Library occupies about one half of a 15,000+ square foot building and is divided into spatial zones to accommodate different study styles: including a collaborative study area, a silent reading area, 8 group study rooms, and a conference room. The Library also has six ergo-friendly height adjustable desks, three high-speed, commercial-level copiers/printers/scanners; and a break room equipped with vending machines and a hot/cold water dispenser.  

LIBRARY FACULTY & STAFF 

The Library is staffed by four full-time faculty librarians, including the library director; one full-time library assistant; and 5-10 student assistants. The librarians serve as library and information subject specialists to the different curricular areas of the campus: osteopathic medicine, pharmacy, public health, physician assistants, education, and nursing.   

The librarians offer group and individual instruction on how to access and utilize the Library’s print and electronic resources and have created online research guides to further support the use of library resources.

LIBRARY RESOURCES & SERVICES

The TUC Library collection is heavily virtual, and the Library purchases books and journals in electronic format whenever available. The Library collection consists of:  

  • some 10,000 print monographs and AV materials 

  • over 240,000 online monographs 

  • approximately 400 print journals 

  • approximately 47,000 online journal titles 

  • and 100 databases in the fields of medicine, public health, education, pharmacy, physician assistant studies, and nursing.  

These resources are easily accessible through links on the Library’s homepage. The Library provides TUC students, faculty and staff with web-based resources via many different portals including: eBook platforms, PubMed, Scopus, EBSCOHost, Ovid, PsycInfo, and ProQuest. These e-resources are available to students on and off campus and some are available also on mobile devices. 

The Library also houses a “reserve”or course textbook collection. Every semester, in collaboration with each program’s faculty, the Library acquires and places on reserve at least one copy of all required and recommended texts for each class taught that semester, in eBook format when possible or in print format if no eBook is available. 

TUC students, faculty and staff have 24/7 access to all the online library resources from off campus via OpenAthens, which authenticates using TouroOne. Each new student is also issued a library card that allows them to check out print and other physical library materials. 

For materials not held or subscribed to by the TUC Library, the Library offers extensive interlibrary loan service (ILL) through its participation in the National Library of Medicine’s DOCLINE service and OCLC’s WorldShare. 

 

Library Committee

LIBRARY COMMITTEE

The TUC Library has the benefit of the advice and recommendation of the Library Committee, which is under the auspices of the TUC Faculty Senate. The purpose of the Committee is:

  • To insure that the TUC Library functions to meet the academic needs of students, faculty and staff.  The Committee makes recommendations pertaining to Library operations including policies, budget, facilities and equipment, resources (books, journals, databases, etc.), and services. 
  • To make recommendations and provides advice to the Library on matters brought to the Committee by the Library Director, the Provost, or the Faculty Senate. 
  • To provide periodic reports to the Faculty Senate.

By-Laws

Full by-laws of the Library Committee are available here.

Membership

The current membership of the Library Committee is as follows:

The Library Committee
POSITION                                      NAME    FY ELECTED TERM ENDS     
Chair & CEHS Member Alexandra Hernandez  2020/21 6/30/2024
COM Member Gail Feinberg  2020/21 6/30/2023
COP Member Rolly Kali-Rai  2020/21 6/30/2024
SGA Member Judy Barber  2020/21 6/30/2023
Library Director Tamara Trujillo  Ex-officio

Directions

 TUC CAMPUS MAP

Library Address:

TUC Library 182 Moises Way, Vallejo 94592

The TUC LIbrary is located across from Lander Hall, as seen circled in red on the map above. 

Library Policies

To view current Library Policies, please CLICK HERE or go to the Library Policies page in this guide.