TUC Library Guide

 Interlibrary Loan Policy 

Policy: 7.2

Volume: 7, Library

Chapter: 2, Interlibrary Loan Policy

Responsible Executive: Library Director

Executive Council Approval Date: July 15, 2014

Originally Issued: March 15, 2011

Revised: May 7, 2021

Reviewed: Sept. 15, 2022

REASON FOR POLICY:

Through our Interlibrary Loan policy and services, Touro University California Library endeavors to promote research and scholarship by making resources not immediately available in the library’s collection accessible to our campus community. This policy establishes the procedures for interlibrary loan borrowing and lending.

WHO SHOULD READ THIS POLICY:

• Faculty
• Adjunct Faculty
• Staff
• Students

POLICY STATEMENT:

• Materials not owned by the TUC Library or available online may be requested from another library via interlibrary loan (ILL). Touro University California (TUC) students, faculty, adjunct faculty, and staff are eligible for interlibrary loan borrowing privileges.
• TUC students, faculty, adjunct faculty, and staff are permitted unlimited interlibrary loan requests at no charge.
• Interlibrary loans may be requested online by going to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) under “Accessing Library Services” on the library homepage.
• Required and recommended textbooks on current reading lists are not eligible to be requested through interlibrary loan.
• Interlibrary loan requests are processed Mondays-Fridays and are typically filled by a lending library electronically within 1-3 business days. Delivery of electronic format ILL materials are sent to the patron's interlibrary loan dashboard or if requested to the patron's TUC e-mail. TUC e-mail address must be used except in the case of affiliated TUC adjunct faculty who do not have one. Electronically supplied ILLs are for the patron to keep and do not need to be returned.
• Physical materials, such as books and media materials are sent by the lending library via U.S. mail to the TUC Library and must be returned by the TUC Library to the lending library. Receipt of physical ILL items from the lending library may take 7 days or more. It is highly recommended that physical materials requested via ILL be picked up at the TUC Library, but TUC Library will forward ILL materials in physical format to these individuals via U.S. Mail. Return/due dates are determined by the lending library and sometimes extensions are allowed but need to be requested by the patron via the TUC Library. All ILL borrowing requests for print books from TUC faculty, students or staff are reviewed by the subject librarian to determine whether a requested book title should be purchased for the TUC Library collection rather than requested via ILL.
• ILL allows for borrowing of print books and media but book titles in e-book format cannot be borrowed in their entirety. Only chapters or limited number of pages of e-books can be requested via interlibrary loan.
• Rush requests will be honored whenever workload and positive response by lending libraries allow.

LENDING:

In the spirit of reciprocity, Touro University California Library promotes lending and sharing library materials whenever possible to encourage and enhance positive library relationships, thereby increasing our potential to borrow library materials needed by TUC students, faculty, adjunct faculty and staff.

Materials that cannot be lent include items in TUC Archives and the Reserve, Reference and Historical Collections as well as items deemed to have particularly high use by TUC students or faculty or are of high monetary value.

All interlibrary loan requests must comply with U.S. Copyright Law.

Questions regarding this policy can be directed to the Access Services & Instruction Librarian or Library Director.

Library Circulation Policy

Policy: 7.4 

Volume: 7, Library   

Chapter: 4, Library Circulation Policy  

Responsible Executive: Library Director  

Executive Council Approved:  Jan. 12, 2012 ALT Approved:  10/28/2022 

Originally Issued: Jan. 12, 2012 

Revised/Reviewed: August 2, 2016 06/18/21; 09/16/22 

REASON FOR POLICY:   

This circulation policy governs the loan periods and check-out limits of the Library’s circulating and reserve materials; the interlibrary loan and reserve services available, and fees and blocks applicable to the various categories of Library users (TUC faculty, adjunct faculty, faculty emeriti, students, and staff). The policy also describes hold and renewal limits for library materials and eligibility for receiving library materials by mail.    

 WHO SHOULD READ THIS POLICY: 

• Faculty 

• Staff 

• Students 

• Adjunct Faculty 

POLICY STATEMENT:  

Patron Status	Loan Period	Services	Fees, Fines
Faculty (Includes Adjunct and Emeritus Faculty	Books: 8 weeks  Media: 4 weeks  Reserve Items: 6 hours	Unlimited interlibrary loans  Reserve items may leave the library  Two renewals (items on hold may  not be renewed)  May place holds on items currently checked out	No overdue fines  Replacement or replacement cost of Lost/Damaged Item
Student (on campus)	Books: 3 weeks  Media: 2 weeks  Reserve Items: 3 hours	Unlimited interlibrary loans  Two renewals (items on hold may  not be renewed)  May place holds on items currently checked out	No overdue fines   Replacement or replacement cost of Lost/Damaged Item
Student (on rotations)	Books: 6 weeks  Media: 4 weeks  Reserve Items:  3 hours	Unlimited interlibrary loans  Two renewals (items on hold may  not be renewed)  May place holds on items currently checked out	No overdue fines   Replacement or replacement cost of Lost/Damaged Item
Staff / Administrator	Books: 8 weeks  Media: 4 weeks  Reserve Items: 3 hours	Unlimited interlibrary loans  Two renewals (items on hold may not be renewed)  May place holds on items currently checked out	No overdue fines  Replacement or replacement cost of Lost/Damaged Item

Borrowing Limits 

For all patrons, up to 15 circulating items may be checked out at a time. In some cases, items may have accompanying materials. Such items are indicated by a “This item accompanies . . .” sticker and may be checked out in addition to a patron’s first 15 items.  

Renewals 

Renewals can be done online by the patron or may be requested in person, by calling 707-638-5300, or by emailing tuc.library@touro.edu. In the case of overdue items, renewals must be done by a librarian or library assistant. 

Holds 

For items checked out from the circulating collection, patrons can place online holds or holds may be requested in person or by calling 707-638-5300. Patrons who have placed holds will be sent an e-mail by the library when the item(s) is available for check-out. Items from the circulating collection will be held for 4 calendar days (excluding campus holidays and the Sabbath) counting from the day the e-mail notice was sent. Patrons should note that Sabbath hours and related Library policies apply also to pick-up and check-out of holds.  

Holds may be placed for Reserve materials that are checked out. Patrons with holds on reserve materials will be notified by e-mail when the reserve item is available for check-out and will be required to pick up the item within 15 minutes after the e-mail was sent.  

Overdues, Fines, and Lost and Damaged Items 

Items become overdue at 9:00 pm on the due date. (This is due to a shared library computer system with other Touro Libraries).  

The TUC Library does not charge fines for overdue books, but encourages library patrons to renew their library materials and return them when no longer needed so other patrons can use the materials. 

Checked out books and other items 45 or more days overdue will be considered lost and the patron will be charged the cost to replace the item.  Patrons will also be charged for replacement of books that are substantially damaged making further check outs not feasible.  Replacement of the lost or damaged item may be possible at the discretion of the subject librarian. 

Outstanding replacement costs owed may be paid to the Bursar or paid online at the TUC Non-Bursar Transaction Store. You can at any time check amount owed by logging into your account on the Library System from the Library website. 

If a fine or fee is felt to be in error or to be unwarranted due to extenuating circumstances, the patron should discuss the matter with the Access Services Librarian or with the Library Director.  

Recalls 

The library may recall an item at any time if it is needed for reserve for class use. All other recalls may not happen until a patron has been allowed at least two weeks with an item. Patrons may place holds, thereby triggering a recall, on items currently checked out. Recalled items must be returned or postmarked three days after the recall is initiated.  

Media Materials & Education Test Kits 

Media materials, including CDs, CDROMs, DVDs, and education test kits, because of limited materials and high demand, have shorter check-out periods than books.  Education test kits circulate for 1 week and may be checked out by GSOE faculty and students only. The check-out period for media materials varies depending on the patron category. 

If the material accompanies a book or other item with a longer checkout period, it will also circulate for the longer period. Such items are indicated by a “This item accompanies . . .” sticker.  

Reserve Materials 

Reserve materials are usually required and recommended texts used in current classes. Generally, only one reserve item may be checked out at a time. Exceptions that may be checked out in addition to the regular reserve item include body models, headphones, calculators, laptop stands, and accompanying materials. Supplementary items (i.e. other than required or recommended texts) on reserve for a course must be placed there at the request of the course coordinator. Reserve items are for in-Library use only with the exception of faculty and adjunct faculty who may check out reserve materials and take them out of the Library for up to 6 hours.  

Electronic Books 

The availability and use of e-books are not standardized. Licensing or purchase of e-book is typically available for different quantities of users. Electronic books can generally be read online by the quantity of users purchased or licensed by the Library with no checkout or return necessary. Depending on the vendor or platform that hosts the book, checkouts of electronic books may be available with free vendor provided software. The checkout period will depend on the options provided by the vendor platform. When the checkout period is over, the software will automatically return the copy and make available again for other users. 

Some electronic books are for unlimited users at a time or for a set maximum number of users equivalent to the Library having a specific number of print copies. When downloading of an e-book is possible, it is equivalent to a check-out of a print book making it unavailable to other users, even for online reading or the download period. Whenever possible, the Library leaves one electronic copy available for online reading. 

Books By Mail 

Books by campus mail is a service offered to any TUC faculty, adjunct faculty, or staff member with a campus office/address. Books by U.S. mail is a service offered to any authorized TUC Library user.  Eligible patrons, may, by e-mail or telephone, request on-shelf TUC circulating materials be mailed to them.  The library will ship materials to eligible patrons via insured carrier at Library expense.  Books sent by mail are subject to regular loan periods.  Returning the item(s) to the library is at the user’s expense.  Books returned by mail are checked in based on postage date.  

Non-Circulating Materials 

Items in the Library Historical Collection, Reference Collection, Archives, print journals, and newspapers do not circulate and can only be used within the Library.  

Notices 

All Library notices will be sent to a patron’s TUC email address. Exceptions are made for clinical adjunct faculty who do not have TUC email addresses. The following notices will be sent: for checked out/overdue materials and recalled materials as follows: 

For Checked Out Materials/Overdue Materials:  

• A courtesy notice 2 days before an item is due 

• An overdue notice 5 business day after the due date 

• An overdue notice 30 days after the due date 

• 45 days after the due date:  When an item has not been returned for 45 days after due date, the item is considered “lost” and patron will need to either replace the item or pay invoice from Bursar  

For Checked Out Materials Recalled by Library:  

• A recall notice at least 2 days before the item is due 

• A pick-up notice will be sent the following morning when the requested hold item (non-reserve items) is available for pick-up  

• A pick-up notice will be sent immediately when the requested reserve item is available for pick-up  

Block of Library Privileges  

Library privileges will be blocked under the following conditions: 

• When a Faculty, Staff, or Student has one or more items 45 days past due.  

• Borrowing physical items from the Library will be blocked.  

• Block is lifted when item(s) is returned, replaced with an item approved by librarian, or invoice for cost of checked out item(s) is paid 

•  When a Faculty, Staff, or Student has a recalled item overdue by 3 days or more  

• Borrowing physical items from the Library will be blocked.  

• Block is lifted when all outstanding recalled items have been returned. 

Library Room Reservation Policy

Policy: 7.6

Volume: 7, Library   

Chapter: 6, Library Room Reservation Policy  

Responsible Executive: Library Director  

Executive Council Approved:  12/4/12 

Originally Issued: 10/29/12

Revised/Reviewed: 11/07/23 

REASON FOR POLICY:   

This policy governs the use of Library group study rooms and Library conference room.

 WHO SHOULD READ THIS POLICY: 

• Faculty 
• Staff 
• Students 

POLICY STATEMENT:  

Group Study Rooms

• The primary purpose of the 9 Library group student rooms is to provide students places to study in small groups.
• Reservations for Library study rooms may be made up to one week in advance, on the online room reservation system on the Library website. Reservations can also be made on the iPad located at the Library circulation desk
• If a study room is not reserved, it is available for a walk-in reservation on a first come first served basis.
• Reservations for specific Library study rooms may be made for groups of two or more students.
• Each study room may be reserved for up to four hours per day.  Different individuals from the same group may not reserve rooms under different names thus having use of a room for longer than four hours.
• Room reservations for study rooms may only be made by students. 
• A reservation is considered cancelled if group does not occupy the study room within 10 minutes of the reservation. 
• Library study room 212 contains an OMM table. This room may be reserved only for OMM or physical diagnosis. When it is not reserved for OMM and physical diagnosis it may be used for regular study. If the room is needed for OMM purposes, occupants may be asked to move.
• The maximum occupancy of each of the study rooms is posted in each room and in the reservation system.
• Use of a group study room requires continuous occupancy.  Items left unattended in a group study room for 15 minutes or more may be removed by a Library staff member so that the room can be used by other students.  Items removed from a study room by a library staff member can be claimed at the Library circulation desk. 

Library Conference Room

• The Library Conference Room (Library Room 215 with a maximum occupancy of 8 persons) is available for reservation by TUC students, faculty or staff.  The Library Conference Room is listed on the library reservation system, or TUC faculty or staff may contact one of the librarians or the library assistant to reserve this room. When the Library Conference Room is not reserved, it is open and available as a study room.

General Information

• The Library staff cannot watch or be responsible for personal items left unattended in the Library.
• See the Library food and drink policy for rules that apply to the Library Study Rooms.
• Windows may not be covered or blocked in any room.
• Please direct any questions regarding the Library room reservation policy to the Library Director at (707) 638-5314.

 Library Patron Record Policy

 

Policy: 7.7

Volume: 7, Library

Chapter: 7, Library Patron Record Policy (Updates Library Card Policy)

Responsible Executive:  Library Director

Executive Council/ALT Approval Date: April 16, 2013

ALT Approval Date of Revision: June 13, 2023

Originally Issued:  April 17, 2013

Revised Issued: June 14, 2023

REASON FOR POLICY:

This policy describes the rules for creating the Touro University California Library (TUC) patron records in the Sierra Library System (ILS) for TUC students, faculty, adjunct faculty, emeritus faculty, staff and affiliated adjunct faculty.

The TUC student/faculty/staff badge/ID card will be used to verify the identity of the individual for check-out of library materials utilizing a patron record in the ILS. 

WHO SHOULD READ THIS POLICY:

• Faculty
• Staff
• Students
• Adjunct Faculty

Policy statement:

The issuing of physical TUC Library cards ceased as of June 1, 2023, and this policy updates the earlier Library Card Policy.   The creation of Library patron records for all current TUC students, faculty, adjunct faculty, emeritus faculty, staff and affiliated adjunct faculty will continue in the Sierra Library System (ILS).  A current patron record in the ILS is required for checking out physical library items from the TUC Library. 

Students

• Each semester library patron records for all new TUC students are created in the  ILS for all new incoming TUC students based on uploads by the Library from Banner into the ILS.   
• A student is eligible to check out Library print materials when their Banner record is uploaded into ILS which creates a TUC patron record. A patron record in the ILS only permits check-out of print materials from the TUC Library. Access to Library e-resources is enabled by the TUC student activating their TouroOne log-on.    
• The Library patron record issued to a TUC student remains active until the student graduates.  Student patron records in the ILS expire on Dec. 31^st or June 30^th following graduation from TUC.
• The decision to retain or cancel library access during an official leave of absence is determined by the University Registrar.
• Library patron records of students who withdraw or who are dismissed will be expired immediately upon notification from the Office of the TUC Registrar. 

Faculty/Adjunct Faculty/Staff:

• All paid faculty, adjunct faculty or staff TUC employees so listed in TouroOne/Banner, the TUC Faculty/Staff Directory or confirmed by the TUC Human Resources Dept. are eligible for a Library patron record and may check out Library print/physical materials. Upon receipt of information from HR that a new faculty, adjunct faculty, staff member has been hired, the library will reach out to let them know that library services and resources are available to them including a brief Library orientation. Creation of library patron records in the ILS for faculty, adjunct faculty, and staff is not automatic as it is for TUC students and must be requested by the TUC faculty or staff member. However, access to all TUC Library electronic resources is automatic and is enabled by the creation of a TouroOne/Banner employee account.   
• Faculty and staff library patron records will expire immediately upon separation from the university.
• TUC Faculty and Staff Emeritus retain TUC Library privileges indefinitely.  

Affiliated Adjunct Faculty:

• Affiliated "adjunct faculty" are not paid TUC employees and are not listed in TouroOne/Banner, or in the TUC Faculty Staff Directory nor are they processed through the TUC HR Dept. They are affiliated with TUC programs or colleges and are most frequently preceptors who are reviewed and given special adjunct status by the program, department, or college with which they are affiliated. Affiliated adjunct faculty are eligible for a Library patron record and may check out Library print materials. Rosters of eligible adjunct faculty are maintained by the relevant college/program which the Library consults to create these Library patron records in the Library ILS. 
• Affiliated Adjunct faculty who wish to borrow TUC Library materials must contact either the Library Director or the Access Services Librarian by email and request borrowing privileges.
• All interested and eligible adjunct faculty will be given an “Adjunct Faculty Library Privileges Request Form.” Upon receipt of the completed form, adjunct faculty will be issued an OpenAthens account and if desired, be set up for Library borrowing privileges in the Library ILS, both of which will expire one year from the date of issuance and must be renewed annually.
• If an affiliated adjunct faculty member’s association with TUC ends, their library patron record in the ILS as well as their OpenAthens account will be expired immediately. 

Library Food & Drink Policy

Policy: 7.8
Volume:  7 Library 
Chapter: 8 Food and Drink Policy
Responsible Executive: Library Director 
Executive Council Approval Date: June 4, 2013
Originally Issued: June 26, 2013

Revision Approved by Executive Council: Feb 3, 2015

Revised: October 18, 2023
Approved by ULT: October 23, 2023

REASON FOR POLICY:  

The Library's Food and Drink Policy is intended to maintain a pleasant and comfortable environment for our campus community and to preserve materials, computer equipment, and furnishings in the Library. This policy is in recognition that members of the Touro University California community spend lengthy amounts of time in the Library and also have limited food and space options on campus, and this policy intends to balance the needs of our unique community.

WHO SHOULD READ THIS POLICY: 

• Faculty 

• Staff 

• Students 

POLICY STATEMENT: 

To preserve an environment that is conducive to learning, Library users are asked to be considerate and respectful of their fellow library users and Library employees, and to avoid consuming distracting food items that create messes, smells, and/or noise. Responsible stewardship of the Library environment for our users, the Library collection, and other resources requires that we exercise care in allowing food in the Library. The Library has the right to ask a Library user to remove any food or drink from the Library that is disruptive to Library users or is contrary to this Food and Drink Policy.

Consumption of food and beverages in the Library is allowed with these conditions and in these Library locations:

Allowed throughout the Library including in the North (Silent) Reading Area:

• Beverages in spill-proof mugs or in closed containers with lids including covered cups, soda cans or bottles are welcome in the Library South and North reading areas and in all the Library study rooms.

Allowed in the Library South Reading Room & all individual Library study rooms:

• Dry-type snacks e.g. cookies, pretzels, granola type bars, nuts

• Fruit (grapes, apple, etc.) or vegetables (carrots, celery sticks, etc.)

Allowed In the Vending Room (Library Room 206) and on the Library Patio. Food may also be consumed in the Foyer Area of the Library Annex or in the Lander Hall Microwave Room.

• Meal-time food, soups, salads, cereals/oatmeal

Other Conditions:

• No food may be brought into the Silent Reading Area on the Library north side.

• Food deliveries to the Library for Library users are not allowed. An exception is made for Library-approved, scheduled, catered events taking place in the Library.

• Food-centered get togethers, such as birthday parties and buffets, are not allowed in the Library.

• Meals or snacks should not be consumed when using Library materials.

• Food left in the Library will be thrown away at the end of the day.

• Food leftover from campus events brought to the Library must be cleared with one of the Library staff before leaving it in the Library. Any remaining food at the end of the day will be discarded.

• Neither food nor drink is allowed in the book stacks, or when using items from the Library Historical or Archive Collections.

• Trash from food and/or drink should be disposed of appropriately in trash cans, not in recycling bins.

• No leftover food, condiments, or dirty dishes should be left in the Library Vending Room or other Library locations. Tables and chairs should be left clean for other Library users.

• Accidents can happen. If you spill food or drink please inform a Library staff member immediately. Also report any overflowing trash receptacles to Library staff. The Library will be able to arrange for cleaning more easily if notified quickly.

Your thoughtful observance of this policy is appreciated. With everyone’s assistance the Library is able to achieve the balance needed to maintain a conducive learning environment and preserve and protect Library resources. Any questions or comments about this policy may be directed to the Director of the Library (707- 638-5314).

Education Test Collection Policy 

Policy: 7.10 
Volume:  Library 
Chapter: 10 Education Test Collection Policy 
Responsible Executive: Library Director 
Executive Council Approval Date: October 5, 2016 
Originally Issued: October 5, 2016. 
Last Reviewed: 9/6/2022   

REASON FOR POLICY:  

To establish a policy for the creation and maintenance of and access to the Education Test Collection materials housed in the TUC Library. 

WHO SHOULD READ THIS POLICY: 

• Faculty 

• Staff 

• Students 

POLICY STATEMENT: 

The Education Test Collection housed in the TUC Library consists of a limited number of education test kits.  These materials are identified in the Library Catalog with the location “TUC Educational Test Collection” and are shelved behind the Circulation Desk in the TUC Library.  Educational test collection materials are available for use by current GSOE students and GSOE faculty only.  This includes both in-Library use and for check-out from the library.   Use by anyone else, requires approval from the GSOE faculty member designated by GSOE administration as the library’s contact for the Education Test Collection. 

1. Due to the limited quantity of these materials and the high use of these materials by members of some of the GSOE classes, check-out of education test materials is for 1 week only.  If no holds are placed on an item, education test kits can be renewed twice more, for 1 week per renewal. 

2. The library has responsibility for providing bibliographic access to and physical maintenance of any educational test kit materials in the library including: 

• Cataloging and classifying educational test materials for the Library Catalog  

• Providing appropriate shelving and cabinet space in the library for education test materials including supplementary materials to the test kit. 

• Ensuring that all the components of the test kit are included at the time of check-out (most test kits consist of multiple parts) and replenishing, as needed, after return from check-out, any components that are meant to be used by the patron checking out the material (e.g. score sheets) and following up with GSOE on any missing components. 

• Informing GSOE when component parts need to be re-ordered because supply of component parts are running low or a part is found to be missing/lost.    

• Reporting to GSOE contact when Library in course of working with these materials finds that a newer edition has become available. 

3.  The Graduate School of Education (GSOE) is responsible for the following:  

• Selecting all the education test kits in the library and purchasing and paying for them and sending them to the library for cataloging and to house them for the use by current GSOE faculty and students. 

• Purchasing components that need to be replenished or replaced.  

• Making decisions about withdrawing or about retaining test kits in the Collection that are old and/or for which a newer edition/version has been published. 

• Making decisions about withdrawing or about continuing to make available test kits that have some content missing that cannot be replenished or GSOE does not wish to replenish.  

4. The library staff does not provide photocopies or scans of materials in the Education Test Collection nor are these materials available for interlibrary loan to other libraries.  

Any questions pertaining to this policy should be directed to the Director of the TUC Library.