Skip to Main Content

College of Osteopathic Medicine: Image Resources

This Resource Guide will help OMS1 and OMS2 students find helpful library resources

Blue LInk - University of Michigan Medical School - Free Resource

Curricula:

  • First Year Medical Anatomy - Foundational Anatomy
  • First Year Dental Head and Neck Anatomy
  • Systems Based Anatomy For Undergraduate and Graduate Students
  • Systems Based Anatomy via EdX
  • Systems Based Anatomy via Coursera
  • Surgery and Applied Sciences Second Year Clerkship in Anatomy
  • Online Systems Based Anatomy for Undergraduate and Graduate Students

Resources:

  • BlueLink Images
  • QuizLink PDFs
  • Practice Questions
  • Learning Objectives
  • Radiology
  • Illustrations
  • BlueLink Anatomy Tables
  • LabLinks
  • Practice Practicals
Anatomy Image Resources
 
You will need your TouroOne login credentials to access some of these resources from off-campus.
Please contact the Electronic Resources Librarian if you have problems accessing TUC subscription databases

 

You can also use the VR headsets with Anatomy TV in the Library or at Farragut Inn at the ITLC!

Anatomy TV

See short guides and tutorials for Anatomy TV at this link.

Includes the following modules:

  • 3D Atlas
    • Head and Neck
    • Spine
    • Shoulder and Arm
    • Forearm and Hand
    • Thorax and Abdomen
    • Pelvis & Perineum
    • Hip & Thigh
    • Knee
    • Leg, Ankle and Foot
  • 3D Real Time 
    • Head and Neck
    • Spine
    • Shoulder and Arm
    • Forearm, Wrist and Hand
    • Thorax
    • Abdomen
    • Male Pelvis
    • Female Pelvis
    • Hip and Thigh
    • Knee
    • Leg, Ankle and Foot
    • Whole Body
  • Functional Anatomy & Therapy
  • Anatomy & Physiology
    • Body Plan & Organization
    • Chemistry
    • Cell Biology
    • Histology
    • Integumentary System
    • Skeletal System
    • Muscular System
    • Nervous System
    • Special Senses
    • Endocrine System
    • Blood
    • Cardiovascular System
    •  Lymphatic System & Immunity
    • Respiratory System
    • Digestive System
    • Metabolism
    • Urinary System
    • Fluid, Electrolyte & Acid Base Balance
    • Reproductive System
    • Development and Inheritance
  • Imaging
    • Cross-Sectional Anatomy
  • Functional Anatomy
    • Full body
    • Upper body
    • Lower body
    • Head and neck
    • Trunk and pelvis
    • Upper limb
    • Lower limb
    • Surface anatomy
    • Trigger points
    • Synovial joints
  • Clinical Specialties
    • Head and Neck : Basic Neuroanatomy
    • Audiology
    • Speech-Language Pathology

Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy - From Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy. Special features include : Browse by region or system ; bonus plates, sample dissection, atlas plate discussion videos, muscle tables, 3D models & videos ; customization of images for specific tasks ; export images to use in Microsoft PowerPoint® and other presentation software.

 
Thieme MedOne TTA - from Thieme Medical Publishers:
Please note that these electronic versions are not exact reproductions of the print versions. The electronic versions contain plates with lines and labels only.
 

Atlas of Anatomy - English Nomenclature

General Anatomy and Musculoskeletal System - English Nomenclature

Internal Organs - English Nomenclature

Head, Neck and Neuroanatomy - English Nomenclature

Anatomy for Dental Medicine English Nomenclature

General Anatomy and Musculoskeletal System - Latin Nomenclature

Internal Organs - Latin Nomenclature

Images can be and magnified for better clarity and can be exported as jpg files or embedded into PowerPoint slides. Individual lines and labels to plates can be clicked "on" or "off".

AccessMedicine Human Anatomy Modules

These interactive modules allow for visualization of the human body in an interactive, 3D format where both male and female anatomy modules can be viewed. Choose a module and then utilize the options on the left-side of the screen to learn more about human anatomy.

Bones of the Skull: A 3-D Learning Tool

A collection of QuickTime VR (virtual reality) object movies of the skull and its individual bones. Students are able to rotate the bones and view them from multiple perspectives. At any point, the user can click to view labeled close-ups. This resource need to be downloaded on your computer. It is free, but you must register.

Digital Anatomist Project
2D & 3D views of the brain and neuroanatomy, thoracic organs and the knee. Free resource from the University of Washington.

LUMEN Learn 'Em
An interactive memorization tool on nerves, cutaneous innervation, arteries, dermatomes, anatomy and the musculoskeletal system. Free resource from Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine.
Biomedical Sciences Image Resources
 
Grogono's Acid Base Tutorial - physiology, acid production, interpretation, clinical aspects, respiratory correction, metabolic acidosis and alkalosis, acid base diagram, Stewart's strong ion difference, interactive Henderson equation, pH playground, simple arithmetic, terminology, alphabetical index. Free resource.
 

Acid Base Physiology - free resource from the Anaesthesia Education Website

Images, interactive diagrams and animations pertaining to cell biology, microbiology, immunology and microscopy. Free resource.
 

Embryology - Development of the Human Heart
This site describes the normal development of the human heart and some congenital abnormalities. The text is accompanied by some illustrated figures. Free resource from Loyola University of Chicago Stritch School of Medicine.

Embryology - Genitourinary Development
This tutorial correlates embryology with congenital anomalies. It includes illustrations and some movies. Free resource from Loyola University of Chicago Stritch School of Medicine.

The Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education
A computer-aided instructional resource containing over 2700 images with text that illustrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated wtih human disease conditions. For self-assessment and study there are over 1300 examination items. Also includes histology tutorials. Free resource from Mercer University School of Medicine, sponsored by the University of Utah Health Sciences Library.

Includes photos, animations & MRI images of Carnegie stages and postovulatory ages. Free resource from the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development of the National Institutes of Health.
 

PaO2, SaO2 & Oxygen Content - Covers arterial blood gases. Free resource from Lawrence Martin, M.D.

UNSW Embryology - Animation of the Carnegie stages 1-23 of human embryonic development. Free resource

Visible Human Project

VisualDX

"VisualDx provides problem-oriented decision support for differential diagnosis, testing, and therapeutic decisions. VisualDx includes the world’s best dark skin atlas and most equitable image collection of disease presentations in people of all skin colors." - from the website.

In VisualDX, which has over 42,000 images, you can build differentials; search diseases, conditions, and diagnoses; provide patient education handouts and emails; search for medication adverse events; earn CME credits; and more. View references used for the articles and link directly to UpToDate and PubMed for further research on your topics.

Modules include:

General Symptoms Dermatology of All Skin Types
Dermatology of Skin Color Ophthalmology
ENT/Oral Medicine Cardiac / Pulmonary
Neurologic / Psychiatric Genitourinary
Gastrointestinal Drug Reactions

See short guides and tutorials for VisualDX at this link.

Clinical Images Resources

Atlas of Dermatology - Contains over 200 dermatological images. Free resource from Loyola University Chicago.

The Atlas of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy - Includes endoscopic images of the esophagus, stomach, ileum, duodenum & ampulla, capsule endoscopy, inflammatory bowel disease, and colon & ileum. Free resource.
 
Critical Care Compendium - A comprehensive collection of pages covering more than 1600 core topics and contrversies of critical care. Includes ICU Mind Maps, Critical Care Drug Manual, ECG Library, CICM Fellowship Overview. Free resource from litfl.com
 
Skin Diseases Images Atlas. Free resource.

Ear Nose & Throat - USA - Photographs and videos of the larynx, eardrum and middle ear surgery, tonsillectomy and adenoidectomy, hearing aids, ear tubes and nose bleeds. Free resource.

Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
A collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education, covering hematology, dermatology, ECG, neurology, pediatric neurology, neuroscience, pathology and histology. Free resource from the University of Utah.

Hematology Image Bank
A comprehensive reference and teaching tool containing blood disease images and cases. Free resource from the American Society of Hematology.

Infectious Disease Images
This site contains images of infectious disease cases to healthcare professionals for educational purposes. Developed by researchers at Partners HealthCare, Inc., Massachusetts General Hospital, University of Texas at Austin, and Harvard Medical School, with support from the National Library of Medicine. Free resource

NCI Visuals Online - Contains over 2,000 cancer-specific and general biomedical images. Except where noted, Visuals Online images are in the public domain and may be used, linked, or reproduced without permission. Free resource.

A visual educational resource dedicated to providing pictures that are representative of common and uncommon physical exam findings. Discussions of pathophysiology, diagnostics, and treatment are not included. Free Resource from the University of California at San Diego.

ECG Resources

Arrhythmia Recognition - Practice rhythm strips, rhythm quiz, terminology flashcards, interactive glossary. Free resource from 12leadECG.com

ECG Learning Center - Includes cardiac diagrams, images, ECG rhythm strips, quizzes. Free resource.

ECG Library (ecglibrary.com) - images of ECG recordings including the normal ECG, ischemic heart disease, hypertrophy patterns, atrioventricular block, bundle branch block, supraventricular rhythms, pacemakers, Wolff Parkinson White Syndrome and other images. Free resource.

ECG Library (Life in the Fast Lane)
Includes ECG basics, A-Z by diagnosis, clinical cases, image database. Free resource.

Neurology Image Resources
The Human Brain Atlas - Three-dimensional atlas of the human brain created from MRI images. Includes anatomically labeled stained sections that correspond to the three-dimensional MRI images : coronal, horizontal & sagittal planes, brainstem atlas, QuickTime movies of every section. Free resource from Michigan State University - Brain Biodiversity Bank.

Neurologic Exam - Videos and descriptions presenting the anatomical foundations of neurologic exams. Free resource from the University of Utah. Requires QuickTime plugin.

​Whole Brain Atlas
Imaging of the central nervous system, magnetic resonance, x-ray CT, and nuclear medicine images : normal brain, cerebrovascular disease, neoplastic disease, degenerative disease, inflammatory or infectious disease. Free resource from Harvard University.

Radiology Image Resources

You will need your TouroOne login credentials to access some of these resources from off-campus.

Chest X-Ray Atlas - Provides images of various conditions; organized by pathology, diseases and radiologic signs. Free resource.

Diagnostic and Imaging Studies - from AccessMedicine - cardiovascular, fetal ultrasonography, GI, pulmonary, rheumatology
 
Introduction to Radiology - a free online interactive tutorial produced by the University of Virginia Health System.
 
Liebermann's eRadiology - includes primary care radiology, interactive tutorials, classics collection, learning lab, living anatomy. Free resource from Harvard University.
 
MedPix Medical Image Database
A database of over 53,000 images from over 13,000 cases.. Organized by disease location (organ system), pathology category, patient profiles, and by image classification and caption. Search by alphabetized Diagnosis list. Managed by the National Library of Medicine, originally developed by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics at the Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, Maryland. Free Resource.
 

radiologyeducation.com - a radiology education digital library, curated by Michael P. D'Alessandro, M.D. Free resource.

Free educational radiology resource with radiology cases and reference articles.