Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Evidence Based Medicine: EBM Research Databases

Resources for evidence based medicine.

Restricted databases

To access from off-campus use your TouroOne login credentials.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. CINAHL also includes literature on world-wide OMM research and indexes the International journal of osteopathic medicine, Journal of the American Osteopathic Association and others.

Cochrane Databases (Wiley)
The Cochrane Databases include the Cochrane Methodology Register, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects. The Cochrane Methodology Register offers a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes full text articles and protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies. The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a bibliography of controlled trials. Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care. Also includes Cochrane Groups, Health Technology Assessment and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
 

PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Provided by the American Psychological Association (APA).

UpToDate
Provides topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. UpToDate is used to answer questions quickly, increase your clinical knowledge, check for changes to drug monographs, and improve patient care.

  • You do not need to be on campus to register or re-authenticate your UTD account.
  • When you login from off-campus use your TouroOne credentials.
  • You will receive email alerts from UTD for each registered device (e.g., desktop computer, laptop, tablet, smartphone) if you have not logged into UTD after 90 days, or are approaching the 90-day limit. Note that you do not need to register for a new UTD account. You only need to login as a returning user with your UTD username and password. Do not use the link provided in the UTD email notification to re-authenticate -- use the link above.
  • After you are directed to the UTD login page, re-authenticate by login on the left side of the screen.
  • If you have forgotten your UTD username and password, click on the login help button. You will get a UTD email with a temporary login, which you can change later.

If you need assistance please contact the Electronic Resources Librarian.

Free Databases

American College of Physicians (ACP) Clinical Practice Guidelines - Includes Clinical Recommendations : Clinical practice guidelines, clinical guidance statements, best practice advice ; Comparative Guideline Tables. Free resource.

Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ) - The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used. Free resource.

BestBETS (Best Evidence Topics)
A searchable database of evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, with details of courses and teaching material. Includes critically appraised topics and articles, filtered and unfiltered topics and articles.

Clinical Evidence
Comprises an international database of high-quality rigorously developed systematic reviews assessing the benefits and harms of treatments, and a collection of EBM resources and training materials. Sponsored by the British Medical Journal (BMJ). Free resource.

Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), clinicaltrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals. Free resource.
 

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) - Database of abstracts of systematic reviews that have been quality assessed and includes an expert critical commentary. Produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York. Free resource. Database last updated 2015

National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Free Resource.

NHS Clinical Knowledge Summaries - Formerly PRODIGY. A reliable source of evidence-based information and practical 'know how' about the common conditions managed in primary care. From the National Innovation Centre, UK. Free resource.

NHS Clinical Knowledge Summaries is part of NHS Evidence and provides detailed information on the full range of conditions managed by primary care. The website provides an A-Z list of conditions with varying levels of diagnosis depending on the severity of the condition. These are described as case studies describing the diagnosis and treatment. Each case study links to additional resources including images and clinical studies were appropriate.

PubMed with LinkOut to full-text articles
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed is the first database to search when looking for biomedical and life science journal articles, clinical trials, reviews and more. PubMed includes links to many providers offering full text articles and other related resources.

TRIP Database (Turning Research into Practice)
A medical search engine with emphasis on evidence based medicine ( EBM ). Features evidence based (including Cochrane and Bandolier), clinical guidelines, medical images and patient information. Free Resource.