Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Evidence Based Medicine: Finding Evidence for Practice

Resources for evidence based medicine.

Evidence Based Medicine Toolkit

Finding Evidence for Practice

You will need your TouroOne login credentials to access some of these eResources from off campus.

TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database Plus

Simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles -- including most of those listed above and many more. Also searches MEDLINE’s Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets. Free resource

The Cochrane Collaboration
Includes the top 50 reviews from the Cochrane Library, free summaries, podcasts, videos, multimedia and webinars. Free resource.

Synthesized Sources

Synthesized sources are collections of the best available evidence to support practice.

ClinicalKey - Delivers all of Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, giving physicians access to over 1100 top books, over 600 top journals, multimedia images and videos, more than 300 instructional videos from Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, drug monographs, patient education, MEDLINE citations and abstracts from PubMed.

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Consists of detailed, structured topic reviews of hundreds of articles. Teams of experts complete comprehensive literature reviews, evaluate the literature, and present summaries of the findings of the best studies. Published by the International Cochrane Collaboration. Click on "Cochrane Reviews".

Clinical Practice Guidelines

Guidelines (ClinicalKey)
Clinical decision support resource with the mission to provide "authoritative, continually evolving content with a core focus on 21st-century patient care that is deeply rooted in expert medical evidence." It is designed for quick retrieval of relevant clinical information on more than 800 topics and conditions. Evidence is summarized where possible from systematic reviews of primary research and by more than 300 authoring organizations.

National Guidelines Clearing House
NGC is s a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from the Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ) Free Resource

Formerly PRODIGY. NHS Clinical Knowledge Summaries is part of NHS Evidence and provides detailed information on the full range of conditions managed by primary care. The website provides an A-Z list of conditions with varying levels of diagnosis depending on the severity of the condition. These are described as case studies describing the diagnosis and treatment. Each case study links to additional resources including images and clinical studies were appropriate.
 

Point of Care Resources (Collections of Questions and Answers)

BestBETS (United Kingdom)
A searchable database of evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, with details of courses and teaching material.

BETs were developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK, to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature. BETs take into account the shortcomings of much current evidence, allowing physicians to make the best of what there is. Although BETs initially had an emergency medicine focus, there are a significant number of BETs covering cardiothoracics, nursing, primary care and paediatrics.

Clinical Evidence
Comprises an international database of high-quality rigorously developed systematic reviews assessing the benefits and harms of treatments, and a collection of EBM resources and training materials. Sponsored by the British Medical Journal (BMJ). Free resource.

UpToDate
is an evidence based, peer reviewed information resource 

Filtered Sources

Filtered sources content has been pre-selected for their quality

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) (in the Cochrane Library)
Cochrane Controlled Trials Register is a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Click on the "Trials" drop down menu. Select "Search Trials (CENTRAL)"

Unfiltered Sources
Unfiltered sources are databases of articles that have not been prescreened for quality. The searcher needs to filter out the results that do not meet either requirements using specific search terms.

PubMed Clinical Queries
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.
  • Results are limited to specific clinical research areas.
  • Enter your search term(s).
  • Results will display under Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews, Medical Genetics.
  • For Clinical Study Categories :
    • you can filter by "category" (etiology, diagnosis, therapy, prognosis, clinical prediction guidelines) or
    • "scope" (broad or narrow)
  • For Medical Genetics :
    • you can filter by "topic" (diagnosis, differential diagnosis, clinical description, clinical description, management, genetic counseling, molecular genetics, genetic testing)

For comprehensive searches, use PubMed directly.