Research Guides: Physician Assistant: Resources for Rotations

REQUIRED BOOKS FOR PRIMARY CARE

REQUIRED BOOKS BY SPECIALTY

SURGERY

Print: Surgical Recall by Lorne Blackbourne
Call Number: WO 18.2 S9618 2025

ISBN: 9781975212483

Publication Date: 2024-11-05
eBook: Case Files Surgery, 6th ed. by Liu Toy
ISBN: 9781259585227

Publication Date: 2016-08-04
eBook: Essential Clinical Procedures by Richard W. Dehn; David P. Asprey
ISBN: 9780323624671

Publication Date: 2020-03-06

EMERGENCY MEDICINE

eBook: Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th Edition by Donald Yealy; Garth D. Meckler; J. Stephan Stapczynski; David M. Cline; Stephen H. Thomas; Judith E. Tintinalli; O. John Ma
ISBN: 9781260019933

Publication Date: 2019-10-18
eBook: Pocket Guide to POCUS: Point-Of-Care Tips for Point-of-Care Ultrasound by Cameron Baston; Christy Moore; Elizabeth A. Krebs; Anthony J. Dean; Nova Panebianco
ISBN: 9781260441475

Publication Date: 2019-02-15

REQUIRED BOOKS FOR ELECTIVES

DERMATOLOGY

eBook and Print: Habif's Clinical Dermatology by James G. H. Dinulos
Call Number: WR 17 H116c 2021

ISBN: 9780323612692

Publication Date: 2020-02-26
eBook: Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, Ninth Edition by Arturo P. Saavedra; Ellen K. Roh; Anar Mikailov
ISBN: 9781264278015

Publication Date: 2023-04-17

ORTHOPEDICS

eBook and Print: AAOS Essentials of Musculoskeletal Care by American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: WE 40 E78 2022

ISBN: 9781284223347

Publication Date: 2022
eBook: Practical Office Orthopedics by Theodore Parks; Edward H. Parks
ISBN: 9781259642869

Publication Date: 2017-12-29

URGENT CARE

eBook: Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th Edition by Donald Yealy; Garth D. Meckler; J. Stephan Stapczynski; David M. Cline; Stephen H. Thomas; Judith E. Tintinalli; O. John Ma
ISBN: 9781260019933

Publication Date: 2019-10-18

REFERENCE RESOURCES

AccessMedicine (McGraw Hill)
Online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 60 medical titles, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device. There are additional supplementary text and test materials available to TUC Faculty. Has mobile App see Mobile Resources guide for more information.

PLEASE NOTE, for some features, such as the Flashcards, Play Showdown!, and Review Questions, you will need to create a MyAccess account. To do so, go to the SIGN IN button in the top right corner.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination with OSCE Clinical Skills Videos (Wolters Kluwer)
The Bates' videos demonstrate head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques on different types of patients. The OSCE videos are designed to help with preparation for Objective Structured Clinical Examinations (OSCEs) by testing clinical reasoning skills. Each video presents a clinical encounter and you are given the opportunity to develop an assessment, or differential diagnosis, and provide an appropriate diagnostic workup. Note: this resource may not be accessible on all mobile devices.
Five Minute Consult (Wolters Kluwer)
Digital access to thousands of diseases and conditions complete with workflow algorithms, procedure and PT videos, CME/CE credits, thousands of images. 5MinuteConsult provides diagnosis, treatment, and management information on the most frequently observed diseases and conditions.
ClinicalKey (Elsevier)
ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier's content from medical, surgical, pharmaceutical, patient education and more into one dynamic resource. ClinicalKey provides access to over 900 books and 500 journals, 1,400 topic pages, thousands of videos and millions of images.

AccessPharmacy

Comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource that allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, and research drugs and supplements. Also contains multimedia, case files, interactive self-assessment, and NAPLEX review.

Below are direct links to modules within AccessMedicine that will be useful for your rotations.

AccessMedicine

This online resource provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 60 medical titles, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.

Below are direct links to modules within AccessMedicine that will be useful for your rotations.

Case Files Collection
Clinical Rotation Cases
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2025-2026
Graber and Wilbur’s Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, 5th Edition
To view these cases, you will need to sign into your MyAccess account, or create one for free. It's quick and easy!
Procedural Videos
Physical Exam Videos
Diagnostic and Imaging Studies
Differential Diagnoses

CLINICAL DATABASES

How to Access UpToDate Remotely
Follow the steps in this document to sign up for UpToDate or re-verify your account while away from campus.

DRUG INFORMATION DATABASES

Lexidrug (UpToDate)
Lexicomp is a provider of drug information and clinical content for the healthcare industry. Lexicomp provides tools necessary to help improve patient safety, ensure compliance, and elevate the quality of care patients receive.
Micromedex
A comprehensive source for drug information. Search for dosage, pharmacokinetics, cautions, interactions, comparative efficacy, clinical applications and place in therapy for investigational, international, FDA-approved, and nonprescription preparations. Also features comparative drug summaries in a side-by-side format, multi-level therapeutic class tree, and drug images for easier identification. Includes Red Book Online the latest drug product pricing and packaging information on prescription and over-the-counter drug products.
Clinical Pharmacology (Elsevier)
A Gold Standard database, provides drug and drug-related information, consumer drug information handouts, a drug identifier, product comparison reports, drug interaction reports, compatibility reports, a drug finding tool, clinical comparison reports, and a resource center.
NatMed Pro (Therapeutic Research Center)
Provides high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Has mobile App see Mobile Resources guide for more information.

RADIOLOGY

Radiopaedia (Radiopaedia.org)
Radiopaedia.org is a radiology resource, compiled by radiologists and other health professionals from around the world with the mission to "create the best radiology reference the world has ever seen". (-from the About page on the website). This website offers articles, cases, lectures, classes, and quizzes free to promote radiology education for current and future health and medical professionals.

MEDICAL SPANISH

Canopy - Medical Spanish Language Course (Canopy)
***CONTACT acastro13@touro.edu FOR ACCESS CODE***
CanopyLearn is an online, self-paced eLearning platform that offers the most robust medical Spanish and medical English curriculum, tailored for healthcare professionals based on everyday clinical encounters. It combines medical terms, Spanish learning foundations, and cultural knowledge together in every lesson.
✓ Improve medical Spanish and medical English in 40 hours
✓ Fit into your busy schedules and learn on any mobile devices
✓ Improve cultural competence while watching telenovelas
-description for the Canopy website
*Awarded "The Best Medical Spanish Online Courses for Healthcare Professionals" by the National Institutes of Health (NIH).