Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physician Assistant: Research Databases

This Research Guide will help PA students find Library resources and useful websites for their PA classes and projects. When looking for resources for PH classes, the Public Health Research Guide may be more appropriate.

The TUC Library has many more databases besides those listed on this page.

>>>CLICK HERE TO GO TO THE LIBRARY'S A-Z DATABASE LIST<<<

Please note, when accessing Library resources from off campus you may be required to login into OpenAthens. 

PubMed 

PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine. It provides access to over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE and other sources. PubMed is the first database to search when looking for biomedical and life science journal articles, clinical trials, reviews, and more.

PubMed Training & Help - Click here for help and info about using PubMed

UpToDate

UpToDate provides topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. UpToDate is used to answer questions quickly, increase your clinical knowledge, check for changes to drug monographs, and improve patient care.

Access to UpToDate has changed! UpToDate now requires that you register for an account from within the TUC network (on-campus or off-campus ; if you are off-campus, login with your OpenAthens/TouroOne credentials). The UpToDate login you create can also be used for your mobile device and includes free access to the UpToDate mobile app.  Once you have registered, the app will recognize that you are affiliated with Touro University California when you install the app. Please note: If after initial registration, you use UpToDate directly through UpToDate.com (not through the TUC network) your registration will expire after 30 days.  If this happens, you will need to re-verify your TUC affiliation by logging on to UpToDate from within the TUC network.

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, giving physicians access to over 1100 top books, over 600 top journals, multimedia images and videos, FirstConsult, more than 300 instructional videos from Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, drug monographs, patient education, MEDLINE citations and abstracts from PubMed.

Includes Procedures Consult : multimedia training tool that teaches how to prepare for, perform, and follow up on the most common procedures required in today's hospital setting ; covers the procedures required by the ABIM (American Board of Internal Medicine) and conforms to ACGME standards. Includes an outline on pre– and post-procedures, anatomy, procedures, outcomes, and checklists. Browse by title and enter into ClinicalKey search box. Filter by resource type (select Procedures Consult).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

To find out if we have article you find in Google Scholar, you can use the Article Linker tool. Click here to go to ARTICLE LINKER.

If we do not have the article you want, you can request it through ILL. Click here to learn about ILL and set up an ILL account: INTERLIBRARY LOAN 

Google Scholar Search

MORE DATABASES FOR PA

CINAHL Plus
CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals.

The Cochrane Library 
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements.

  • Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)

CENTRAL is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. In addition to bibliographic details (author, title, source, year, etc) CENTRAL records often include an abstract.  They do not contain the full text of the article. Published monthly.

  • Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCA)

CCA provides a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform point-of-care decision-making. Each CCA contains a clinical question, a short answer, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane Review deemed most relevant to practicing healthcare professionals, our target audience. The evidence is displayed in a user-friendly tabulated format that includes narratives, data, and links to graphics. Cochrane Clinical Answers were developed by Cochrane Innovations and Wiley.

Health & Medicine Collection from ProQuest 
ProQuest Health and Medical Collection combines the clinical research titles with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. It provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE® indexing.

In addition, the database includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research.

The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Health Source from EBSCO provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, as well as abstracts from nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. In addition, this database includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.

Natural Medicines
Natural Medicines provides high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.

PsycINFO 
PsychINFO contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Provided by the American Psychological Association (APA).

PsychiatryOnline
PsychiatryOnline is a web-based portal that features DSM-5 —the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.

Scopus 
The largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources from around the world. Scopus offers smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. It is a comprehensive resource to support research needs across all disciplines.

SPORTDiscus 
SPORTDiscus ccovers all areas of sports & sports medicine literature with full-text coverage for 550 journals.

Free Databases

Centers for Disease Control (CDC) - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention main page. Includes MMWR, Mortality and Morbidity Weekly Report, which provides health statistics, infectious disease information, and breaking news.

Drug Information Portal
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. At the top of the page are links to individual resources with potential drug information, including summaries tailored to various audiences. Resources include the NLM search systems useful in searching for a drug, NLM research resources, resources organized by audience and class, and other NIH and government resources such as FDA and CDC. Free Resource.

LactMed
Provides information on drug levels in breast milk, blood levels in breastfed infants, alternate drugs that might be used during breastfeeding, and more. Free Resource.

National Institutes of Health (NIH) - National Institute of Health main page. Includes links to all the various National Institutes, including the National Cancer Institute, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, National Institute on Drug Abuse, National Institute of Mental Health, and National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke.

NCBI Bookshelf - A collection of biomedical books and reports made available through authors, publishers, and the National Center for Biotechnology Information.

PracticeUpdate - Previously OncologySTAT. Oncology information organized by cancer types for oncology specialists and professionals. Journals, news, drugs, research, news and more.Requires registration.

PubChem
PubChem is a free database of chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. It is maintained by the National Library of Medicine.

TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork)
A cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas. It is managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) in the Division of Specialized Information Services (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).