Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physician Assistant: Clinical Applications Resources

This Research Guide will help PA students find Library resources and useful websites for their PA classes and projects. When looking for resources for PH classes, the Public Health Research Guide may be more appropriate.

DIAGNOSTIC TESTS

MEDICAL CODING

ICD-10-CM/PCS

MEDICAL RECORDS

CLINICAL APPLICATIONS DATABASES

For evidence-based medicine databases and resources, please see the Research Databases page in the Evidence Based Medicine Guide.

UpToDate
Provides topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. UpToDate is used to answer questions quickly, increase your clinical knowledge, check for changes to drug monographs, and improve patient care.

5 Minute Consult
Fast, evidence-based answers to your clinical questions at the point of care. Browse by: diseases and conditions, procedures, algorithms and charts, drugs, PT exercises, patient handouts, lab tests

AccessMedicine
Searches all of AccessMedicine multimedia, drug monographs, point-of-care resources, textbooks.

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination with OSCE Clinical Skills Videos 
The Bates' videos demonstrate head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques on different types of patients. The OSCE videos are designed to help with preparation for Objective Structured Clinical Examinations (OSCEs) by testing clinical reasoning skills. Each video presents a clinical encounter and you are given the opportunity to develop an assessment, or differential diagnosis, and provide an appropriate diagnostic workup. Note: this resource may not be accessible on all mobile devices.

Pediatric Care Online
From the American Academy of Pediatrics. Includes a point-of-care quick reference tool, full text of the AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care, Bright Futures, a Visual Library containing hundreds of images, AAP policy, Red Book content, pediatric drug look-up, pediatric patient education handouts, and more.

Procedures Consult (ClinicalKey) 
High quality video, text and illustrations for top medical procedures. Highlights patient safety guidelines. Includes indications, contraindications, anatomy, equipment

PsychiatryOnline 
A web-based portal that features the DSM-V—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.

Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 
Provides practical, expert information on diagnosis and management when you just have a few minutes. It is a single-source reference designed for quick and easy access to the information you need in the clinical setting. Content is derived from Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment (CMDT). More than 950 diseases are listed alphabetically.

CLINICAL APPS EBOOKS

PRACTICE GUIDELINES