Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physician Assistant: How to Use Library Tools & Access Resources

This Research Guide will help PA students find Library resources and useful websites for their PA classes and projects. When looking for resources for PH classes, the Public Health Research Guide may be more appropriate.

ACCESSING TUC'S ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

 On this page you will find instructions for using our various tools for locating and accessing the resources you need.

To make sure you are getting complete access to the resources you use, please link to them from links provided on the Library's website, the Library's A-Z Databases list, your program's Research Guides, or the links found in this guide .   

Please note: going directly to a resource's website instead of linking to it from the above places can result in access issues.

WHEN ACCESSING RESOURCES FROM OFF CAMPUS YOU WILL BE PROMPTED TO LOGIN TO OPENATHENS VIA TOUROONE. 

If you have any questions or issues using a resource or tool please contact us at tuc.library@tu.edu

IF YOU NEED HELP CHOOSING A DATABASE FOR YOUR RESEARCH NEEDS, PLEASE CONTACT YOUR SUBJECT LIBRARIAN OR EMAIL THE LIBRARY AT TUC.LIBRARY@TU.EDU

OPENATHENS AUTHENTICATION

HOW TO ACCESS RESOURCES WITH OPENATHENS

When accessing resources from off the campus network, you will be asked to authenticate your TUC affiliation by signing into OpenAthens. When selecting a resource that requires authentication, you will see this page:

 undefined

All users with active TouroOne accounts: Please select the first option, "With your TouroOne credentials", to sign into OpenAthens. 

If you do not have a TouroOne account: An OpenAthens account will have been created for you. Please select the third option, "OpenAthens. If you don't have an OpenAthens account created for you, please contact Amy Castro at amy.castro@tu.edu

HOW TO USE THE ARTICLE LINKER

CLICK HERE TO GO TO ARTICLE LINKER

If you have an article citation and you want to know if you can get it through the Library, you can use Article Linker.

There are two ways to look up a citation:

  • with the PubMed ID (PMID) or DOI
  • with the citation information, such as article title and journal title. 

FINDING ARTICLES WITH THE PUBMED ID (PMID) OR DOI

To find an article with the PMID or DOI, simply enter the PMID or DOI into the search field, as seen below, and click the SEARCH button.

Search for articles with PMID or DOI

FINDING ARTICLES WITH THE CITATION INFORMATION

If you don't have a PMID or DOI, you can also search for your article by entering in as much of the information from the citation as possible, as seen in the image below. Please note, while you don't have to fill in every field, you must at least enter a journal title or ISSN to search. 

Article linker citation look up feature

ACCESSING THE LIBRARY CATALOG & EBOOKS

>>> CLICK HERE TO GO TO THE LIBRARY CATALOG <<<

The TUC Library catalog is where you can look up our physical materials (books, anatomical models, etc.) and eBooks. You will also be able to access eBooks from this feature.

HOW TO SEARCH THE CATALOG

When searching the catalog, you can choose to search by keyword, author, or title. The simplest way to find your book or other item is to use the KEYWORD tab, as seen below. The keyword search will recognize and retrieve library materials based on subject, author, and title entries of print books and ebooks. For example, to search for materials about anatomy, simply enter "anatomy" in the search box when the KEYWORD tab is highlighted, as seen below.

TUC Catalog search feature

To search by author or title click on the corresponding tab. However, using the keyword search will also retrieve materials by author and title. 

PLEASE NOTE: This does NOT search for journals or databases. The TUC Catalog only searches books, ebooks, and other physical items that are able to be checked out from the Library. 


HOW TO LOCATE & ACCESS EBOOKS

How to Locate Ebooks:

To find ebooks, simply look at the item in the results list of your catalog search. For ebooks, you will notice the end of the call numbers have an "EB" and within and right above the location box you will see it say" TUC Electronic Books" and "Electronic Resources", respectively. (Please see the image below.) 

How to Access Ebooks:

When accessing ebooks off campus, you will need to login to OpenAthens with your TouroOne login credentials. See box "How to Access Resources with OpenAthens" above. There are a few ways to link to Ebooks:

1) From the catalog, you can click the "Electronic Resources" link, as seen in the image directly above. 

2) You can click the book's title and go into the catalog record. From there in the middle of the page there will be a link to go to the ebook. See example:

3) From links in the research and resource guides or in Canvas. 

*If you have any issues accessing an ebook, please make sure to let the Library know.* 

ACCESSING DATABASES

CLICK HERE TO GO TO THE A-Z DATABASES LIST

Clicking this link will take you to the complete listing of TUC Library's databases. Most of these will require user authentication to complete access. To see a listing of freely accessible databases from the list, choose "Free Resources" from the "Database Types" dropdown menu.

This page offers the ability to find databases with ease. You filter by subject, type, or vendor by making selections in the dropdown menus, or search for databases with keyword in the search bar, as seen here: 

undefined

Please note: Once you select an initial filter, each subsequent filter will apply to the current filtered selection.

For example, if you select the subject "Medicine", you will see results for all databases for medicine offered by TUC. If you then select the database type, "Journal Articles" you will see results for databases for medicine--the first filter selected--that offer journal articles.

To clear the filters, you can go back to the dropdown menus and select "All Databases", located at the very top of each dropdown menu. Or you can click the button "Clear Filters/Browse All Databases", as seen here:

undefined

ACCESSING JOURNALS

CLICK HERE FOR A-Z JOURNALS

The above link will take you to our interface where you can search for journals by title or ISSN, or browse by subject. Most of these will require OpenAthens authentication for complete access to the content.

HOW TO SEARCH FOR A JOURNAL

To locate a specific journal, simply type the name in the search bar and click FIND JOURNALS.

Journal finder search feature

You can also search by ISSN or words within the journal title by selecting the option of your choice in the dropdown menu to the right of the search bar. 

CHOOSING THE CORRECT PLATFORM TO VIEW THE JOURNAL 

When selecting the platform from which to view the journal, pay close attention to the date range each one covers.

If you want to see if we have a current subscription to a journal, look for entries that indicate coverage is available " to present", as seen below for the British Medical Journal. And, as you can see below, we have several platform options for older issues.  

undefined

SEARCHING BY SUBJECT

 You can also browse by first letter of the journal's title or subject.

To search by first letter of journal title, simply click on the letter.  Please keep in mind, we have access to many thousands of journals, so it may be overwhelming to search by letter. 

To search by subject, click on the dropdown letter and select the subject in which you'd like to browse, then click FIND JOURNALS.

undefined

HOW TO REQUEST AN INTERLIBRARY LOAN

CLICK HERE TO GO TO THE INTERLIBRARY LOAN SERVICE

The Library's interlibrary loan (ILL) service, touro.cliohosting.com, allows you to request articles and books we don't have available. There is no cost to current TUC students, faculty, adjunct faculty or staff, and there are no limits to the number of requests you can make. To submit ILL requests, you will first have to login with your TouroOne/OpenAthens username and password and register your account. This will happen on your first visit to the service; you will be guided to register your account. 

Once you have created your account, when you go to the ILL service, touro.clio.com, you will be taken to your dashboard. To request an article, simply click REQUEST, and then select NEW ARTICLE REQUEST from the dropdown menu, as seen in the image below. You will then be taken to a form to fill out and submit. 

undefined

If you have any questions about our ILL service, please contact amy.castro@tu.edu.