Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Osteopathic Medicine: OMM Databases & Research Resources

TUC Library resources of osteopathic and manual medicine & free resources in osteopathic research and history

All TUC Library databases

Restricted databases

To access from off-campus: Login with your TouroOne credentials

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. CINAHL also includes literature on world-wide OMM research and indexes the International journal of osteopathic medicine, Journal of the American Osteopathic Association and others.

Cochrane Library (Wiley)
The Cochrane Library includes seven distinct databases in its collection:

  • The Cochrane Methodology Register,
    • The Cochrane Methodology Register offers a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials.
  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews,
    • The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes full text articles and protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies.
  • Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials,
    • The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a bibliography of controlled trials.
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects,
    • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care.
  • Health Technology Assessment Database,
    • HTA brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world.  The aim of the HTA database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care.
  • NHS Evaluation Database,
    • NHS assists decision-makers by systematically identifying economic evaluations from around the world, appraising their quality, and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses.
  • The About the Cochrane Collaboration database
    • This database contains information on the 81 groups the make up the Cochrane Collaboration. 

PubMed with LinkOut to full-text articles

  • A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed is the first database to search when looking for biomedical and life science journal articles, clinical trials, reviews and more. PubMed includes links to many providers offering full text articles and other related resources.

Scopus (Elsevier)
The largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Scopus offers smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It is a comprehensive resource to support research needs across all disciplines.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers all areas of sports & sports medicine literature with full-text coverage for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.

Search in Google Scholar!

Google Scholar allows you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.

You should see links to 'Full Text @ TUC Library', and 'Check Library Holdings.' If you don't, go into Settings - Library Links and search for Touro University California. Note that 'Full Text @ Touro' is not us, it's Touro College - look for TUC Library.

Google Scholar Search

Osteopathic Medicine Databases & Resources

This page includes listings of the TUC Library's subscription databases, with osteopathic and allied health literature, and free access to osteopathic research databases, literature and institutions. You will need your TouroOne credentials to access the subscription databases from off campus. Please email tuc.library@tu.edu if you need assistance with TUC databases access.

If you need assistance with choosing a database or a literature search, please contact Jennifer Abueg.

If you are looking for evidence-based research databases, please see the databases page in the Evidence-Based Medicine guide.

For interactive anatomy resources (e.g., AnatomyTV, Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy), see the Anatomy Images section on the Images Resources page in the COM Research Guide.

Free Osteopathic Research Databases & Resources

Association for Research and Study for the Advancement of Osteopathy in Europe.
Website is in French.
 
The Institute's mission is to advance whole person healthcare and wellness through development and support of premier clinical and translational research. At the A.T. Still University of Health Sciences, Kirksville, Missouri.

Brief Guide to Osteopathic Medicine, For Students, By Students, 2nd ed. (2015) - Written by TUCOM alumni Patrick Wu and Jonathan Siu (Class of 2014), this 36-page guide:

  • explains what osteopathic medicine is and what a DO does,
  • explores the philosophy and history of osteopathic medicine, from its U.S. origins to its worldwide reach today,
  • outlines osteopathic manipulative medicine techniques (OMM),
  • and presents the growing opportunities available for osteopathic medical students and DOs.

Published by the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM). Free download in pdf.

European Centre for Higher Education of Osteopathy / Research Department
(British link)
 
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals.
 
COMM Collaboration (Center for Osteopathic Medicine Collaboration)
This society wants to create within Europe an osteopathic movement for the benefit of scientific research within osteopathic medicine with special emphasis on the mutual relationship between research and practice. 

 

Digital Commons @PCOM - from the Institutional Repository at the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, highlights include:
Herald of Osteopathy was published for a general readership, with the goal of promoting knowledge about osteopathy within the non-medical audience.
 

Osteopathic Medicine was the official faculty publication of the Philadelphia College of Osteopathy, launched in 1943. Intended as a forum to promote the research of osteopathic physicians and other scientists at the College beyond the existing traditional medical literature, and to promote awareness of current research to medical professionals outside the field, Osteopathic Medicine published case studies, autopsy reports, and general research in osteopathic medicine. The journal was published monthly between August 1943 and December 1944, and quarterly in 1945.

Beginning publication in 1899 and ceasing around 1914, the Philadelphia Journal of Osteopathy was the college's first publication, and served as a general interest journal promoting the emerging science of osteopathy as well as providing news about enrollment and study at the newly-founded College and Infirmary of Osteopathy. Typical issues included articles about recognition of osteopathic practice and educational programs in various states, uses of osteopathic techniques to treat common ailments, and class notes, teaching appointments, and announcements regarding the college's facilities and equipment.

 
supports and promotes quality studies of osteopathy, whether for scientific evidence of their effectiveness or to understand their modes of action. It also allows the publication of study results in leading international medical journals, as well as the creation of curricula to apply for national and European funding programs.
Website is in German.
 
FORCE has emerged to improve health and the delivery of care through the utilization of Osteopathic medicine and its approach. The mission of the Foundation is to identify, develop, fund, and manage research initiatives in Osteopathic medicine, specifically the use of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine (OMM) and Osteopathic Principles and Practice (OPP), and to ensure that funded research results in translation to clinical practice that expands the capacity of DO, MD, and other clinical professionals to improve clinical outcomes and patient care.
 
FOREOS is an Endowment Fund for osteopathic research. Website is in French.
 
Prepared by the Educational Council on Osteopathic Principles of the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine - Revised 2011. Free download in pdf.
 
Free osteopathic research resources in the public domain from internetarchive.org
 

Museum of Osteopathic Medicine

Sponsored by A. T. Still University.The  Includes links to digital resources : A.T. Still papers and American School of Osteopathy, journals and osteopathic books, museum online collection.

 

National Council for Osteopathic Research (NCOR)

The National Council for Osteopathic Research (NCOR) was constituted in 2003 in order to explore and assure the place that osteopathy has to play in Healthcare. The Council was established by the General Osteopathic Council, the British Osteopathic Association and all of the osteopathic educations institution within the United Kingdom.

 

OstMED.DR - Osteopathic Medical Digital Repository - OstMED-DR is a bibliographic index to the osteopathic medicine literature. Sponsored by the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) and the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM), and OCLC - Content DM

The ORC focuses on the clinical efficacy and mechanisms of action of osteopathic manipulative treatment (OMT). At the University of North Texas Health Science Center.

 

Osteopathic Research Web - Searchable database of osteopathic research projects and theses. Theses contributors include the British School of Osteopathy, Wiener Schule fur Osteopathie, British College of Osteopathic Medicine, Akademie fur Osteopathie (OFO) Deutschland, European School of Osteopathy, Escola d'Osteopatia de Barcelona.

Led by the Madrid School of Osteopathy (Escuela de Osteopatía de Madrid – EOM). Some articles in Spanish.
 
Canadian osteopathic organization with education and research programs and activities.