Research Guides: Pharmacy: Biomedical Databases

PubMed Online Training

The National Library of Medicine has created online tutorials and quick tours for PubMed. These videos, some as short as 1 minute, demonstrate how to create simple and advanced searches, manage search results, use MeSH and My NCBI, and more.

PubMed
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE and other sources. PubMed is the first database to search when looking for biomedical and life science journal articles, clinical trials, reviews, and more.

Citation Databases

Embase
A comprehensive international biomedical literature database, with articles from 1947 and on, this resource has over 32 million records. These records include conference abstracts; drug, disease, and medical device data; 2,900 unique journals; and includes MEDLINE titles. Tools to help with your research include a PICO search page, in-depth indexing to create highly targeted searches, journal searching, and more.
PubMed
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE and other sources. PubMed is the first database to search when looking for biomedical and life science journal articles, clinical trials, reviews, and more.
Scopus
The largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Scopus offers smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It is a comprehensive resource to support research needs across all disciplines.

Databases

TUC Library Subscription Databases

To browse all pharmacy databases available at the TUC Library, visit this link or go to the A-Z Database list and limit the subject to Pharmacy.

AccessPharmacy
Comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource that allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, and research drugs and supplements. Also contains multimedia, case files, interactive self-assessment, and NAPLEX review.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier's content from medical, surgical, pharmaceutical, patient education and more into one dynamic resource. ClinicalKey provides access to over 900 books and 500 journals, 1,400 topic pages, thousands of videos and millions of images.
Cochrane Databases
The Cochrane Databases include the Cochrane Methodology Register, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes full text articles and protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies.
Natural Medicines
Provides high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Has mobile App see Mobile Resources guide for more information
Sanford Guide Web edition
provides comprehensive coverage of treatment options for infectious diseases, syndromes, and pathogens. Features include over 1,000 topic pages, multi-term search, interactive dosing tables, activity spectra, calculators, and more. Edited by a team of distinguished infectious disease experts from leading academic and clinical centers, recommendations are based on the latest available evidence and designed for use at the point of care.
UpToDate
Provides topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. UpToDate is used to answer questions quickly, increase your clinical knowledge, check for changes to drug monographs, and improve patient care.
Please see PDF below ("How to Access UpToDate Remotely") for instructions on how to sign up for an UpToDate account with the TUC Library or how to re-verify your access if it expires.

How to Access UpToDate Remotely
Follow the steps in this document to sign up for UpToDate or re-verify your account while away from campus.

Search in Google Scholar!

Google Scholar allows you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.

You should see links to 'Full Text @ TUC Library', and 'Check Library Holdings.' If you don't, go into Settings - Library Links and search for Touro University California. Note that 'Full Text @ Touro' is not us, it's Touro College - look for TUC Library.

Free Databases

PubChem
PubChem is a free database of chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. It is maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
NLM's Toxicology Information (formerly TOXNET)
TOXNET was a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas. TOXNET was retired, but the information in it is still accessible in other National Library of Medicine databases. This link will take you to a page on how to find toxicology literature, breastfeeding & drugs, chemical information, household product safety, dietary supplement information and more.
TRIP Database (Turning Research into Practice)
A medical search engine with emphasis on evidence based medicine ( EBM ). Features evidence based (including Cochrane and Bandolier), clinical guidelines, medical images and patient information.