Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pharmacy: Drug Information

This guide will help COP students navigate the Library's resources

Drug Mobile Apps

Drug Information Databases

AccessPharmacy Drug Monographs
Drug information from AccessPharmacy. You can search or browse alphabetically by generics, trade names, or drug classes. Mobile app available.

Clinical Pharmacology
A Gold Standard database providing drug and drug-related information, consumer drug information handouts, a drug identifier, product comparison reports, drug interaction reports, compatibility reports, a drug finding tool, clinical comparison reports, and a resource center. Mobile App available.

For Mobile App access:

1. Complete the registration for an Elsevier account using this link: https://www.clinicalkey.com/pharmacology/user/register

2. To activate the Remote Access, go to https://www.clinicalkey.com/pharmacology/login

3. Under Remote Access, click Apply for Remote Access

4. Enter your e-mail address then continue

5. Check your e-mail then activate the link for Remote Access

6. Login to your account.

Please note that users who have the e-mail domain of @tu.edu or @student.touro.edu can activate this Remote Access.

Facts & Comparisons eAnswers
F&C offers the ability to search for drugs by disease or symptom, a drug interaction tool, interactive comparative drug tables, advanced dosing tools, online access to Drug Facts & Comparisons and Review of Natural Products, and more. F&C is used in many community pharmacies.

Lexicomp Online
Lexicomp is a provider of drug information and clinical content for the healthcare industry. Lexicomp provides tools necessary to help improve patient safety, ensure compliance, and elevate the quality of care patients receive.

MICROMEDEX
A comprehensive source for drug information. Search for dosage, pharmacokinetics, cautions, interactions, comparative efficacy, clinical applications and place in therapy for investigational, international, FDA-approved, and nonprescription preparations. Includes DRUG-REAX, DRUGDEX, DrugPoints, INDENTIDEX, POISINDEX, ToxPoints, and more. Mobile App available.

Martindale

An international drug reference that provides a thorough review of pharmaceutical products available worldwide including the identification of medications, local equivalents, manufacturers, and more. Martindale is available from the Lexicomp website.

Natural Medicines 
Provides high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Mobile app available.

UpToDate 
Drug information provided by Lexi-Comp. Lexi-Interact ™ Drug Interactions Program also available. A comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource. UpToDate is designed to give users access to concise, practical information at the point of care. Also features comparative drug summaries in a side-by-side format, multi-level therapeutic class tree, and drug images for easier identification. Mobile app available.

UpToDate requires that you register for an account from within the TUC network. TouroOne users (students and regular faculty) will need to go to the Library's UpToDate link, search for Touro University California using the institution lookup box, and sign in with TouroOne. Your account with UpToDate will expire after 90 days of inactivity.  If this occurs, you can simply login to UpToDate through the Library's web links to verify your access. Please contact the Library if you have issues with UpToDate access.

USP (U.S. Pharmacopeia)
Online access to the USP includes the USP-NFUSP Dictionary, and USP-FCC (Food Chemicals Codex). Use your TUC email address to create a free "My Access" account. Please contact Amy Castro if you need help accessing USP. 

DailyMed - Provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts).

Drug Information Portal - The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. At the top of the page are resources including the NLM search systems useful in searching for a drug, NLM research resources, resources organized by audience and class, and other NIH and government resources such as FDA and CDC. 

LactMed - Provides information on drug levels in breast milk, blood levels in breastfed infants, alternate drugs that might be used during breastfeeding, and more.

Pillbox - Combining data derived from drug labels submitted to FDA by drug manufacturers and distributors and NLM's RxNorm, Pillbox is an identification and reference system for oral solid-dosage medications.

Drug Review Tools

Quiz yourself with the Top 300 Prescription Drug Challenge! Note that you will have to self-register for a MyAccess account to use this feature.

Quiz yourself with the Top 300 Drugs Flashcards! Note that you will have to self-register for a MyAccess account to use this feature.

Quiz yourself with the Top 100 Nonprescription Drug Flashcards! Note that you will have to self-register for a MyAccess account to use this feature.

Quiz yourself with the Top 100 Injectable Flashcards! Note that you will have to self-register for a MyAccess account to use this feature.

TUC Library Resources