Other Helpful Resources
Guidelines
❖
JBI
JBI is a global organization promoting and supporting evidence-based decisions that improve health and health service delivery. It offers a unique range of solutions to access, appraise and apply the best available evidence.
- JBI Manual for Evidence SynthesisThe JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis provides guidance to authors for the conduct and preparation of JBI systematic reviews and evidence syntheses.
Cochrane
A Cochrane review is a systematic review that attempts to identify, appraise and synthesize evidence to answer a specific research question. Researchers conducting systematic reviews use explicit, systematic methods aimed at minimizing bias, to produce reliable findings to inform decision-making. We encourage authors of Cochrane reviews to update their published reviews to reflect the findings of new evidence when it becomes available. Cochrane reviews are valuable sources of information for those receiving and providing care, as well as for decision-makers and researchers.
- Animated Storyboard: What Are Systematic Reviews?An animated storyboard created by Cochrane to explain systematic reviews.
- Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of InterventionsCochrane prepares, maintains and promotes systematic reviews (Cochrane Reviews) to inform decisions about health and social care.
- Methodological Expectations of Cochrane Intervention Reviews (MECIR)The MECIR Standards are methodological standards to which all Cochrane Protocols, Reviews, and Updates are expected to adhere.
- Pre-submission checklists for authorsTwo checklists to ascertain that your draft protocol or review fulfill all the key technical and methodological requirements.
- Proposing and registering new Cochrane ReviewsInstructions and resources to propose and register a review with Cochrane.
Other Useful Resources
- PEDroA database of trials, reviews, and guidelines for evaluating physiotherapy interventions.
- PROSPEROInternational prospective register of systematic reviews.
- PubMedA service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's. PubMed is the first database to search when looking for biomedical and life science journal articles, clinical trials, reviews, and more. LINKOUT provides direct links to TUC's collection of journals for accessing articles directly.
- Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR)SRDR is a powerful tool for the extraction and management of data for systematic review or meta analysis. It is also an open and searchable archive of systematic reviews and their data.
- Trip Medical DatabaseClinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. The evolution of the TRIP Database has been guided by the desire to answer real clinical questions using the principles of evidence based medicine.
- Systematic Searches TutorialsSeries of tutorials that cover the fundamental concepts and general procedures for searching health science literature in a systematic manner.
- AMSTARA measurement tool to assess systematic reviews. Helps users differentiate between systematic reviews, focusing on their methodological and expert consensus.
- CASP Checklist for Systematic ReviewsCASP has appraisal checklists designed for use with Systematic Reviews.
- ROBISA tool for assessing the risk of bias in systematic reviews.
|
What is Evidence Synthesis? Systematic Reviews (including different review types (i.e, diagnostic accuracy, effectiveness,..), Scoping Reviews, Rapid Reviews
|
Cochrane Interactive Learning, https://training.cochrane.org/interactivelearning on demand at any time (11 modules, first 3 cover basics to get started) Campbell, https://www.campbellcollaboration.org/ |
|
Brainstorming on a topic |
JBIES journal, https://journals.lww.com/jbisrir/pages/default.aspx JBI EBP database, JSL A-Z PubMed with filters for SRs PROSPERO, https://www.crd.york.ac.uk/PROSPERO/ OSF registry, https://osf.io/ JBI Title Registry, https://jbi.global/systematic-review-register
|
|
Forming Review Q |
Framework (PICOS, PIRD, PCC, etc.) JBI Manual, https://jbi-global-wiki.refined.site/space/MANUAL Cochrane Manual, http://handbook.cochrane.org/ CRD’s Guidance, https://www.york.ac.uk/media/crd/Systematic_Reviews.pdf |
|
Review Q formed, ready to write a protocol |
Example protocols JBIES JBI EBP Database Cochrane Library PICOS or other framework Inclusion/exclusion criteria defined Tools to used in review identifies along with an explanation
|
|
Systematic Review Tools |
Systematic Review Accelerator, https://sr-accelerator.com/#/ Systematic Review Toolbox, http://www.systematicreviewtools.com/ EPPI Reviewer, https://eppi.ioe.ac.uk/CMS/Default.aspx?alias=eppi.ioe.ac.uk/cms/er4& CADIMA, https://www.cadima.info/ , https://www.cadima.info/index.php/area/evidenceSynthesisDatabase
|
|
Protocol-Review - PRISMA |
PRISMA, http://prisma-statement.org/ Systematic Reviews, Scoping Reviews, Search including Checklist, flow diagram, statement, explanation and elaboration Equator network, https://www.equator-network.org/
|
|
Protocol- Information Sources |
Identifying databases to search in the review, https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5718002/ JSL A-Z Grey Literature Sources (ClinicalTrials.gov, ICTRP, LILACS, PMID: 29266844, PMID: 26052848, PMID: 25914722) MEDLINE search for protocol should be PRESSed, https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0895435616000585 or via PRESSforum Search tools for MEDLINE (PubMed), Yale MeSH Analyzer, https://mesh.med.yale.edu/ PubReMiner, https://hgserver2.amc.nl/cgi-bin/miner/miner2.cgi
|
|
Protocol-Review - Deduplication |
EndNote Deduplicator, https://sr-accelerator.com/#/deduplicator Other method identified
|
|
Protocol-Review - Screening |
RevMan, https://training.cochrane.org/online-learning/core-software/revman Rayyan, https://www.rayyan.ai/ Other methods identified (highly recommend using software to reduce risk of bias) DistillerSR, https://www.distillersr.com/ Abstracker, http://abstrackr.cebm.brown.edu/ ASReview, https://asreview.nl/
|
|
Protocol-Review– Critical Appraisal/Risk of Bias |
JBI Critical Appraisal, https://jbi.global/critical-appraisal-tools Cochrane Risk of Bias, https://methods.cochrane.org/bias/risk-bias-tool ROBINS Tools, https://www.riskofbias.info/ CASP Checklists, https://casp-uk.net/casp-tools-checklists/ The Newcastle-Ottowa Scale (NOS), https://www.ohri.ca/programs/clinical_epidemiology/oxford.asp https://www.ohri.ca/programs/clinical_epidemiology/nosgen.doc CEBM, https://www.cebm.ox.ac.uk/resources/ebm-tools/critical-appraisal-tools
|
|
Protocol-Review- Additional tools for appraisal |
Tools/checklists for study types to assess study design TIDierR, http://tidierguide.org/ EQUATOR Network, https://www.equator-network.org/reporting-guidelines/tidier/
|
|
Protocol-Review Methods |
Methodological Expectations of Cochrane Intervention Reviews (MECIR), https://community.cochrane.org/mecir-manual
|
|
Protocol-Review– Data Extraction |
JBI Data Extraction template, https://bmjopen.bmj.com/content/bmjopen/9/1/e025076/DC1/embed/inline-supplementary-material-1.pdf?download=true JBI Data Extraction Tutorial, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6byOdpA1At8 Custom extraction tool Other data extraction tool identified or modified
|
|
Protocol-Review – Data |
Statistical analysis and meta-analysis tools identified Data repository identified Any documentation and where it will be place identified
|
|
Protocol PRISMA |
Checklist and statement for Protocols, https://www.prisma-statement.org/extensions
|
|
Protocol-Review- Summary of Evidence
|
GradePro https://www.gradepro.org/ |
|
Protocol-Review- Reference Chaining/Citation Chasing |
CitationChaser, https://www.eshackathon.org/software/citationchaser.html Bramer method, https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30271303/ |