Research Guides: Education Research Guide (Doctoral Program): Databases

Did you know?

The Library offers over one hundred databases and online resources covering research topics, clinical tools, reference sources, news sources, and more. Coverage includes medical topics, education, and many other subject areas.

The Library Databases page allows you to search by type of database:

Subject Area: Select database related to your discipline, such as nursing or education
Database Type: Narrow your databases choices by focus, including anatomy resources or databases that include ebooks
Vendor/Providers: You can limit databases to particular database companies, such as EBSCO or ProQuest

Looking for Full-Text?

The databases will not always offer you the full-text of articles, but the Library offers Interlibrary Loan (ILL). This is a service where you can submit an online Interlibrary loan (ILL) request on Clio, and Library staff will get the article for you.

If you are looking for full-text of an article you found outside the Library (like on Google Scholar), you can use the Library's Article Linker tool to quickly find full-text or request via interlibrary loan.

If you need further assistance or have any questions regarding ILL, email tuc.library@touro.edu or call us at 707-638-5317. Please see here for more information on ILL and using Clio, the Library's interlibrary loan service.

Need Help Searching?

If you would to schedule a one-on-one meeting with a librarian to get help with your search, you can email one of the Education librarians to set up a meeting.

Tamara Trujillo: ttrujill@touro.edu

Amy Castro: acastro13@touro.edu

What is a database?

Databases are Library tools that allow you to search for articles, e-books, and other materials. The databases on this page are ideal ones to start with for your discipline; go to the Library Databases page for the entire list of databases.

Search by database if you are looking for a topic. If you are searching by a specific article citation or if you are looking for a particular journal title go to the Journals page.

Selected Education Databases

Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Education Database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
Coverage: 1988 - current

SUBJECT COVERAGE:
Adult education
Elementary education
Higher education
Home schooling
Secondary education
Special needs education
Teacher education
Education Full-Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
ERIC - Education Resource Information Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An online digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. The ERIC collection includes annotated bibliographic records (citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data) for more than 1.2 million items indexed since 1966, including: journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
You have access to:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Health & Medicine
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: History
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Literature & Language
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Science & Technology
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Social Sciences
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Arts
LearnTechLib This link opens in a new window
The Digital Library is an online resource of international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Provided by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary collection offering coverage of information in many areas of study.
Career & Technical Education Databases (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This a source for vocational information. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, covering a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
SUBJECT COVERAGE:

Anthropology
Communication science
Demography
Economics
Education
Political science
Policy studies
Psychology
Social work
Sociology
Embase This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive international biomedical literature database, with articles from 1947 and on, this resource has over 32 million (yes, MILLION!) records. These records include conference abstracts; drug, disease, and medical device data; 2,900 unique journals; and includes MEDLINE titles. Tools to help with your research include a PICO search page, in-depth indexing to create highly targeted searches, journal searching, and more.
PubMed with LinkOut to full-text This link opens in a new window
*THIS IS A FREE RESOURCE.*
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's. PubMed is the first database to search when looking for biomedical and life science journal articles, clinical trials, reviews, and more. LINKOUT provides direct links to TUC's collection of journals for accessing articles directly.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources from around the world. Scopus offers smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. It is a comprehensive resource to support research needs across all disciplines.