Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Functional & Integrative Medicine: Databases & Websites

Accessing Electronic Resources From Off-Campus

Accessing Electronic Resources From Off-Campus

You will need your TouroOne credentials to access ebooks, databases and other electronic resources from off-campus. Select Access with your TouroOne credentials

 

Then login with your TouroOne Username and Password

If you continue to experience electronic access issues, please contact the Electronic Resources Librarian, Julie Horwath at jhorwath@touro.edu

 

Functional & Integrative Medicine Databases 

Most of these databases require login through TouroOne from off-campus.

For evidence-based medicine research databases, please go to the EBM Research Databases page in the EBM Guide.

Cochrane Library (Wiley) - The Cochrane Library includes seven distinct databases in its collection:

  • The Cochrane Methodology Register,
    • The Cochrane Methodology Register offers a bibliography of publications that report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials.
  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews,
    • The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes full-text articles and protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies.
  • Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials,
    • The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a bibliography of controlled trials.
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects,
    • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care.
  • Health Technology Assessment Database,
    • HTA brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world.  The aim of the HTA database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care.
  • NHS Evaluation Database,
    • NHS assists decision-makers by systematically identifying economic evaluations from around the world, appraising their quality, and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses.
  • The About the Cochrane Collaboration database
    • This database contains information on the 81 groups that make up the Cochrane Collaboration. 

Cochrane offers several online tutorials--all under 5 minutes!

See guides and short tutorials for Cochrane Library at this link.

EMBASE

A comprehensive international biomedical literature database. Citation records include conference abstracts; drug, disease, and medical device data; 2,900 unique journals, and MEDLINE citations. Also has alternative therapies literature. Tools to help with your research include a PICO search page, in-depth indexing to create highly targeted searches, journal searching, and more.

See guides and short tutorials for EMBASE at this link.

PubMed with LinkOut to full-text articles

A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960s and additional life science journals. PubMed is the first database to search when looking for biomedical and life science journal articles, clinical trials, reviews, and more. PubMed includes links to many providers offering full-text articles and other related resources.

See guides and short tutorials for PubMed at this link.

Scopus (Elsevier)
The largest abstract and citation database contains both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Scopus offers smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It is a comprehensive resource to support research needs across all disciplines.

See guides and short tutorials for Scopus at this link.

Websites

Academy of Integrative Health & Medicine

Academy of Integrative Medicine

American Academy of Environmental Medicine

American Association for Integrative Medicine

American Board for Functional Medicine

American College for Advancement in Medicine

American Holistic Medical Association

The Bravewell Collaborative

Institute for Functional Medicine

Integrative Practitioner
An online community of integrative healthcare professionals including opportunities for peer-to-peer collaboration and discussion.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).

Osher Center for Integrative Health
At the University of California San Francisco Medical Center.

Preventive Medicine Research Institute (PMRI)
Located in Sausalito, CA. A non-profit research institute investigating the effects of diet and lifestyle choices on health and disease.