Centers for Disease Control (CDC) - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention main page. Includes MMWR, Mortality and Morbidity Weekly Report, which provides health statistics, infectious disease information, and breaking news.
ClincialTrials.gov - ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Drug Information Portal
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. At the top of the page are links to individual resources with potential drug information, including summaries tailored to various audiences. Resources include the NLM search systems useful in searching for a drug, NLM research resources, resources organized by audience and class, and other NIH and government resources such as FDA and CDC. Free Resource.
Provides information on drug levels in breast milk, blood levels in breastfed infants, alternate drugs that might be used during breastfeeding, and more. Free Resource.
NCBI Bookshelf - A collection of biomedical books and reports made available through authors, publishers, and the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
POPLINE®(POPulation information onLINE)
Contains citations with abstracts for scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the fields of family planning and reproductive health.
PracticeUpdate - Previously OncologySTAT. Requires registration.
PubChem - Database of chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. It is maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
SilverBook - A database of material on chronic disease created by The Alliance for Aging Research. Content consists of links to material from over 100 separate agencies, organizations, and experts.
TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork)
A cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas. It is managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) in the Division of Specialized Information Services (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Free Resource.
Google Scholar allows you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
You should see links to 'Full Text @ TUC Library', and 'Check Library Holdings.' If you don't, go into Settings - Library Links and search for Touro University California. Note that 'Full Text @ Touro' is not us, it's Touro College - look for TUC Library.
This page includes listings of the Library's subscription biomedical literature databases relevant to the COM Masters curriculum and free databases.
You will need your TouroOne credentials to access these databases from off campus.
Please email the Electronic Resources Librarian if you need assistance with database access.
If you need assistance with choosing a database for a literature search, please contact Jennifer Abueg.
To access from off-campus login with your TouroOne credentials.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. Also includes osteopathic and manual therapy literature.
Cochrane Library (Wiley)
The Cochrane Library includes seven distinct databases in its collection:
EMBASE - A comprehensive international biomedical literature database, with articles from 1947 to present. Records include conference abstracts; drug, disease, and medical device data; 2,900 unique journals; and includes MEDLINE titles. Tools to help with your research include a PICO search page, in-depth indexing to create highly targeted searches, journal searching, medical device searching.
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) - The HTA brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The aim of the HTA database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care.
Contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Provided by the American Psychological Association (APA).
PubMed with LinkOut to full-text articles
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed is the first database to search when looking for biomedical and life science journal articles, clinical trials, reviews and more. PubMed includes links to many providers offering full text articles and other related resources.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences (Elsevier) - A science, technology, and medicine full text and bibliographic information database containing articles from more than 900 Elsevier journals, books. Also includes osteopathic and manual therapy literature.
The largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Scopus offers smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It is a comprehensive resource to support research needs across all disciplines. Also includes osteopathic and manual therapy literature.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers all areas of sports & sports medicine literature with full-text coverage for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.