Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education: Databases

Search in Google Scholar!

Google Scholar allows you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.

You should see links to 'Full Text @ TUC Library', and 'Check Library Holdings.' If you don't, go into Settings - Library Links and search for Touro University California. Note that 'Full Text @ Touro' is not us, it's Touro College - look for TUC Library.

Google Scholar Search

ProQuest Research Companion

Use this resource to learn how to find, evaluate and use information for your research projects with quick video-based learning modules and tools, including a citation builder, search aid, resource evaluation aid, and revision aid.

Education Databases

Education Full Text (EBSCO)
Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.

ERIC (EBSCO) 
The Educational Resource Information Center, includes digests, reference information, citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. 

Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) 
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of education journals and educational reports.

ProQuest Education Journals  
Abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full-text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.

Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) 
Search abstracts of over 260 journals and books geared toward K-12 teachers. Covers assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, etc.

LearnTechLib Library (formerly EdITLib)
The Education and Information Technology Digital Library is an online resource of peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.

General Subject Databases

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection 
A comprehensive collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences, this database covers more than 1 million dissertations and theses. 

Scopus 
The largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Scopus offers smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. It is a comprehensive resource to support research needs across all disciplines.

ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE (EBSCO) 
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. 

EBSCO (all databases) 
EBSCO is a collection of databases that provide access to the full text and citations of articles in virtually all academic fields including science, education, business, and nursing. Full-text newspapers are also available. 

ProQuest (Link to all ProQuest Databases) 
Access to multiple databases that include over 13,000 journals and newspapers covering business, education, social sciences, the arts, and medicine; many full-text. 

Psychology Databases

ProQuest Psychology Journals 
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

PsycINFO (EBSCO) 
Contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Provided by the American Psychological Association (APA). 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Tamara Trujillo
Contact:
707-638-5314

Librarian

Profile Photo
Amy Castro
chat loading...
Contact:
Library, Rm. 218
acastro13@touro.edu
707-638-5317
Subjects: Education, Nursing, Pharmacy