Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physician Assistant: Image Resources

This Research Guide will help PA students find Library resources and useful websites for their PA classes and projects. When looking for resources for PH classes, the Public Health Research Guide may be more appropriate.

Clinical Images Resources

Atlas of Dermatology - Contains over 200 dermatological images. Free resource from Loyola University Chicago.

The Atlas of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy - Includes endoscopic images of the esophagus, stomach, ileum, duodenum & ampulla, capsule endoscopy, inflammatory bowel disease, and colon & ileum. Free resource.
 
Critical Care Compendium - A comprehensive collection of pages covering more than 1600 core topics and contrversies of critical care. Includes ICU Mind Maps, Critical Care Drug Manual, ECG Library, CICM Fellowship Overview. Free resource from lifeinthefastlane.com
 
Skin Diseases Images Atlas. Free resource.

 

Ear Nose & Throat - USA - Photographs and videos of the larynx, eardrum and middle ear surgery, tonsillectomy and adenoidectomy, hearing aids, ear tubes and nose bleeds. Free resource.

Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
A collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education, covering hematology, dermatology, ECG, neurology, pediatric neurology, neuroscience, pathology and histology. Free resource from the University of Utah.

Hematology Image Bank
A comprehensive reference and teaching tool containing blood disease images and cases. Free resource from the American Society of Hematology.

Infectious Disease Images
This site contains images of infectious disease cases to healthcare professionals for educational purposes. Developed by researchers at Partners HealthCare, Inc., Massachusetts General Hospital, University of Texas at Austin, and Harvard Medical School, with support from the National Library of Medicine. Free resource

IDSA : Infectious Diseases Society of America - Includes topical research on emerging clinical research and IDSA Practice Guidelines Free resource

Merck Manual Online - Figures & Photographs covering the following specialties & disorders : critical care medicine, gynecology & obstetrics, pediatrics. radiology, hematology & oncology, immunology & allergic disorders, infectious diseases, injuries & poisoning ; cardiovascular, dermatologic, ENT, eye, endocrine & metabolic, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, musculoskeletal & connective tissue, neurologic, pulmonary disorders. Free resource.

NCI Visuals Online - Contains over 2,000 cancer-specific and general biomedical images. Except where noted, Visuals Online images are in the public domain and may be used, linked, or reproduced without permission. Free resource.

A visual educational resource dedicated to providing pictures that are representative of common and uncommon physical exam findings. Discussions of pathophysiology, diagnostics, and treatment are not included. Free Resource from the University of California at San Diego.

Neurology Image Resources

The Human Brain Atlas - Three-dimensional atlas of the human brain created from MRI images. Includes anatomically labeled stained sections that correspond to the three-dimensional MRI images : coronal, horizontal & sagittal planes, brainstem atlas, QuickTime movies of every section. Free resource from Michigan State University - Brain Biodiversity Bank.
 

Neurologic Exam - Videos and descriptions presenting the anatomical foundations of neurologic exams. Free resource from the University of Utah. Requires QuickTime plugin.

‚ÄčWhole Brain Atlas
Imaging of the central nervous system, magnetic resonance, x-ray CT, and nuclear medicine images : normal brain, cerebrovascular disease, neoplastic disease, degenerative disease, inflammatory or infectious disease. Free resource from Harvard University.

Anatomy Image Resources

You will need to sign into OpenAthens through TouroOne to access most of these resources from off-campus.
Anatomy.tv

Includes the following modules:

  • 3D Atlas
    • Head and Neck
    • Spine
    • Shoulder and Arm
    • Forearm and Hand
    • Thorax and Abdomen
    • Pelvis
    • Hip
    • Knee
    • Leg, Ankle and Foot
  • 3D Real Time (Mobile version available. Please CLICK HERE for instruction for registering and downloading.)
    • Head and Neck
    • Spine
    • Shoulder and Arm
    • Forearm and Hand
    • Thorax
    • Abdomen
    • Male Pelvis
    • Female Pelvis
    • Hip and Thigh
    • Knee
    • Leg, Ankle and Foot
    • Whole Body
  • Functional Anatomy
    • Full body
    • Upper body
    • Lower body
    • Head and neck
    • Trunk and pelvis
    • Upper limb
    • Lower limb
    • Surface anatomy
    • Trigger points
    • Synovial joints
  • Clinical Specialties
    • Head and Neck : Basic Neuroanatomy

 

AccessMedicine Human Anatomy Modules

These interactive modules allow for visualization of the human body in an interactive, 3D format where both male and female anatomy modules can be viewed. Choose a module and then utilize the options on the left-side of the screen to learn more about human anatomy.

Bones of the Skull: A 3-D Learning Tool

A collection of QuickTime VR (virtual reality) object movies of the skull and its individual bones. Students are able to rotate the bones and view them from multiple perspectives. At any point, the user can click to view labeled close-ups. This resource need to be downloaded on your computer. It is free, but you must register.

Digital Anatomist Project

2D & 3D views of the brain and neuroanatomy, thoracic organs and the knee. Free resource from the University of Washington.

Human Brain Atlas

Includes images and videos on the coronal, horizontal & sagittal planes. Requires QuickTime to view videos. Free resource from Michigan State University Brain Biodiversity Bank.

LUMEN Learn 'Em

An interactive memorization tool on nerves, cutaneous innervation, arteries, dermatomes, anatomy and the musculoskeletal system. Free resource from Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine.

Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy

From Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th edition. Special features include : Browse by region or system ; bonus plates, sample dissection, atlas plate discussion videos, muscle tables, 3D models & videos ; customization of images for specific tasks ; export images to use in Microsoft PowerPoint® and other presentation software.You will need your Library card information to use this resource from off-campus. 

Thieme Image Collection - Neck and Internal Organs

Available for checkout on DVD-ROM

Thieme Teaching Assistant
  • Anne Gilroy - Atlas of Anatomy, 2nd edition
  • Anne Gilroy - Atlas of Anatomy, 3rd edition
  • Anne Gilroy - Anatomy : an essential textbook
  • Anatomy for Dental Medicine, 2nd ed.
  • Scheunke - Atlas of Anatomy - General Anatomy and Musculoskeletal System vol. 1, 2nd ed. 
  • Scheunke - Atlas of Anatomy - Internal Organs, 2nd ed.
  • Scheunke - Atlas of Anatomy - Head, Neck & Neuroanatomy, 2nd ed.

Images can be exported as individual files and embedded into PowerPoint slides or PDFs, and magnified for better clarity.  Individual lines and labels to images can be clicked "on" or "off".

EKG Resources

Arrhythmia Recognition

Practice rhythm strips, rhythm quiz, terminology flashcards, interactive glossary. Free resource from 12leadECG.com

ECG Learning Center

Includes cardiac diagrams, images, ECG rhythm strips, quizzes. Free resource.

ECG Library

Images of ECG recordings including the normal ECG, ischemic heart disease, hypertrophy patterns, atrioventricular block, bundle branch block, supraventricular rhythms, pacemakers, Wolff Parkinson White Syndrome and other images. Free resource.

ECG Library (lifeinthefastlane.com)

Includes ECG basics, A-Z by diagnosis, clinical cases, image database. Free resource.

Radiology Image Resources

You will need your TouroOne login credentials to access some of these resources from off-campus.

Chest X-Ray Atlas

Provides images of various conditions; organized by pathology, diseases and radiologic signs. Free resource.

Diagnostic and Imaging Studies

From AccessMedicine - cardiovascular, fetal ultrasonography, GI, pulmonary, rheumatology

Exploring Essential Radiology

From AccessMedicine ; Includes imaging for : abdomen, ureters, distal lower limb, head, mediastinum, neck, pelvis, pleural cavity, proximal lower limb, spine, upper limb.

Goldminer

Provides access to 240,000+ images published in 262 peer-reviewed journals. Advanced Search by findings, anatomy, imaging technique, patient age or sex. Free resource.

Introduction to Radiology

A free online interactive tutorial produced by the University of Virginia Health System.

Liebermann's Primary Care Radiology
Free resource from Harvard University.
MedPix Medical Image Database

A database of over 53,000 images from over 13,000 cases.. Organized by disease location (organ system), pathology category, patient profiles, and by image classification and caption. Search by alphabetized Diagnosis list. Managed by the National Library of Medicine, originally developed by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics at the Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, Maryland. Free Resource.

Radiology Atlas Images

Contains images of the following regions: thorax, abdomen, pelvis and perineum, upper limb, lower limb and head and neck. Free resource from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.

radiologyeducation.com

A radiology education digital library, curated by Michael P. D'Alessandro, M.D. Free resource.

Radiopaedia.org

Free educational radiology resource with radiology cases and reference articles.

Basic Sciences Image Resources

Grogono's Acid Base Tutorial 

Physiology, acid production, interpretation, clinical aspects, respiratory correction, metabolic acidosis and alkalosis, acid base diagram, Stewart's strong ion difference, interactive Henderson equation, pH playground, simple arithmetic, terminology, alphabetical index. Free resource.

Acid Base Physiology

Free resource from the Anaesthesia Education Website

Cells Alive!
Images, interactive diagrams and animations pertaining to cell biology, microbiology, immunology and microscopy. Free resource.
Embryology - Development of the Human Heart

This site describes the normal development of the human heart and some congenital abnormalities. The text is accompanied by some illustrated figures. Free resource from Loyola University of Chicago Stritch School of Medicine.

Embryology - Genitourinary Development

This tutorial correlates embryology with congenital anomalies. It includes illustrations and some movies. Free resource from Loyola University of Chicago Stritch School of Medicine.

Embryology Images

This employs scanning electron micrographs to illustrate mammalian embryology. The micrographs are accompanied by text and line drawings. Free resource from Loyola University of Chicago Stritch School of Medicine.

HistoWeb

This site is an histology atlas covering the following areas: cell structure, epithelia, glands, nervous system, muscle, connective, cartilage, bone, vascular, blood, lymphoid, skin, respiratory, GI system, eye & ear, endocrine, urinary, male, female and histopathology. Free resource from the University of Kansas Medical Center.

Internet Atlas of Histology

Over 1000 labeled histological features are labled and have accompanying functional descriptions, accessible though an alphabetical index and a search engine. Free resource from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

The Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education

A computer-aided instructional resource containing over 2700 images with text that illustrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated wtih human disease conditions. For self-assessment and study there are over 1300 examination items. Also includes histology tutorials. Free resource from Mercer University School of Medicine, sponsored by the University of Utah Health Sciences Library.

PaO2, SaO2 & Oxygen Content 

Covers arterial blood gases. Free resource from Lawrence Martin, M.D.

UNSW Embryology

Animation of the Carnegie stages 1-23 of human embryonic development. Free resource.

The Urbana Atlas of Pathology

Includes images of general pathology, cardiovascular, endocrine, pulmonary & renal pathology. Free resource from the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Urbana-Champaign.

Virtual Autopsy

Includes interactive case histories and autopsy reports, and anatomy and physiology tutorials relevant to the case histories. Free resource from the University of Leicester Department of Pathology.

Visible Human Project