Skip to Main Content

Nursing: Accessing Articles

RN to MSN!

Finding Full Text Using Article Linker

Sometimes you might find an article that you are interested in but the Full-Text option isn't immediately available in the database.  Don't worry, you still have options!

First try:

Finding Full Text Using Article Linker

If the database you are searching does not bring you directly to the article's full text, or you have a citation and want to find full text, you can try Article Linker. The easiest way to use Article Linker is by entering a PubMed ID (PMID) or DOI in the box to the left. To learn how to find an article's DOI or PMID, see Article Linker FAQs. 

If you don't have a DOI or PMID, you can enter the citation information in the Article Linker form. 

If Article Linker indicates that we do not have the journal and article that you are looking for, you can order it as an interlibrary loan.

Article Linker Tips:

  • Article Linker will try to bring you right to the full text of your article. Sometimes this fails - if so, look for the banner at the top that says "Full text not here? Click here" and click that link.

Example banner

  • If you don't go directly to the full text, Article Linker will bring you to a search results page - if you see 'Get Article' and 'Go To Journal' buttons, try clicking them. If the 'Get Article' buttons don't work, you can still click 'Go To Journal' and search or browse to find your article.

 

 

A-Z Journals List

Although you might think finding full text using Article Linker (see box above) is easier, you can use the A-Z Journal List to find full text too. Just follow the directions below and substitute your citation information from what is used below.

Let's say you are looking for this article "Renal function in infants with sickle cell anemia" by RE Ware, et. al. in The Journal of Pediatrics, January 2010, Volume 156, Number 1.

1. Go to the Library's A-Z list located directly under this box.

2. Type in the name of the journal you are looking for, in this example, The Journal of Pediatrics and hit submit.

3. Our A-Z list indicates that we subsribe to The Journal of Pediatrics through ClinicalKey, click here to see the results.

4. Click on the ClinicalKey Books and Journals link from the A-Z list.

5. Navigate through to the article you are looking for using your citation information. Please note that depending on the database or e-journal that the article is located in, the navigation will be slightly different. If an article is print only, please let us know if you would like us to send the article to you while you are on rotations.

If the A-Z list indicates that we do not have the journal and article that you are looking for you can order it as an interlibrary loan.

Quick Links!

Below are some quick links to accessing articles but definitely read the information on the left to guide you through locating your articles!

Search for journals in TUC Library's collection

Find Journals Here!

Search for Periodical Titles

FIND FULL-TEXT ARTICLES

Search for full-text ARTICLES using the DOI or PubMed ID (PMID)

 

Example DOI:
10.1103/PhysRevD.15.2752
Example PMID:
21346416

Interlibrary Loans

If you checked Article Linker and TUC does not have the article you need, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) using the ILL request form.