Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pharmacy Rotations: Research Databases

Resources to help COP students who are currently on rotation

All Databases

Click below for a list of all of TUC Library's databases.

PubMed Online Training

The National Library of Medicine has created online tutorials and quick tours for PubMed. These videos, some as short as 1 minute, demonstrate how to create simple and advanced searches, manage search results, use MeSH and My NCBI, and more.

Search in Google Scholar!

Google Scholar allows you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.

You should see links to 'Full Text @ TUC Library', and 'Check Library Holdings.' If you don't, go into Settings - Library Links and search for Touro University California. Note that 'Full Text @ Touro' is not us, it's Touro College - look for TUC Library.

Google Scholar Search

Restricted databases

You must login with the TUC Library to access the below databases.

Access Pharmacy
Comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource that allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, and research drugs and supplements. Also contains multimedia, case files, interactive self-assessment, and NAPLEX review.

Cochrane Databases
The Cochrane Databases include the Cochrane Methodology Register, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes full text articles and protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies.

EBSCO (all databases)
Gateway to all EBSCO databases, which cover health, medicine, business, education, and more. Select individual databases or search multiple databases together. Note: Searching multiple databases together will limit search options.

Natural Medicines 
Provides high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. 

Health & Medical Collection 
Coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.

PubMed with LinkOut to full-text
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE and other sources. PubMed is the first database to search when looking for biomedical and life science journal articles, clinical trials, reviews, and more.

Scopus
The largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Scopus offers smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It is a comprehensive resource to support research needs across all disciplines.

UpToDate
A comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource. UpToDate is designed to give users access to concise, practical information at the point of care.

For UpToDate mobile access, you must register for a personal UpToDate account. Your account with UpToDate will expire after 90 days of inactivity.  If this occurs, you can simply login to UpToDate through the Library's web links to verify your access.

 

Free Databases

National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Free Resource.

PubChem
PubChem is a free database of chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. It is maintained by the National Library of Medicine.

TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork)
A cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas. It is managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) in the Division of Specialized Information Services (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Free Resource.

TRIP Database (Turning Research into Practice)
A medical search engine with emphasis on evidence based medicine ( EBM ). Features evidence based (including Cochrane and Bandolier), clinical guidelines, medical images and patient information. Free Resource.