"VisualDx provides problem-oriented decision support for differential diagnosis, testing, and therapeutic decisions. VisualDx includes the world’s best dark skin atlas and most equitable image collection of disease presentations in people of all skin colors." - from the website.
In VisualDX, which has over 42,000 images, you can build differentials; search diseases, conditions, and diagnoses; provide patient education handouts and emails; search for medication adverse events; earn CME credits; and more. View references used for the articles and link directly to UpToDate and PubMed for further research on your topics.
Modules include:
| General Symptoms | Dermatology of All Skin Types |
| Dermatology of Skin Color | Ophthalmology |
| ENT/Oral Medicine | Cardiac / Pulmonary |
| Neurologic / Psychiatric | Genitourinary |
| Gastrointestinal | Drug Reactions |
See short guides and tutorials for VisualDX at this link.
Diagnosaurus (AccessMedicine) - Browse differential diagnoses alphabetically, or by symptom, disease or organ system
5 Minute Clinical Consult - Algorithms & Charts - Over 200 diagnosis and treatment algorithms, including online-only exclusives help you to diagnose clinical signs and symptoms, and treatment of a variety of clinical symptoms.
ABC of Emergency Differential Diagnosis, 1st ed. by 
Pocketbook of Differential Diagnosis, 5th ed. by 
Differential Diagnosis of Common Complaints, 7th ed. by 
Differential Diagnosis in Primary Care by 
Ferri's Differential Diagnosis, 2nd ed. by 
French's Index of Differential Diagnosis an A-Z, 16th ed. by 
A Pocket Manual of Differential Diagnosis, 5th ed. by 
Taylor's Differential Diagnosis Manual : symptoms and signs in the time-limited encounter by Diagnostic Tests
Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests, 6th ed. by 
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference, 13th ed. by 
Guide to Diagnostic Tests,Seventh Edition by 
Ferri's best test : a practical guide to clinical laboratory medicine and diagnostic imaging, 5th ed. by Point of Care Resources
For evidence-based medicine research databases and resources, please see the Research Databases page in the Evidence-Based Medicine Guide.
UpToDate
Provides topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. UpToDate is used to answer questions quickly, increase your clinical knowledge, check for changes to drug monographs, and improve patient care.
See guides and short tutorials for UpToDate at this link.
Fast, evidence-based answers to your clinical questions at the point of care. Browse by: diseases and conditions, procedures, algorithms and charts, drugs, PT exercises, patient handouts, lab tests
See guides and short tutorials for 5 Minute Consult at this link.
Delivers all of Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, giving physicians access to over 1100 top books, over 600 top journals, multimedia images and videos, more than 300 instructional videos from Clinical Overviews/First Consult, drug monographs, patient education, practice guidelines, Procedures Consult, MEDLINE citations and abstracts from PubMed.
Procedures Consult : multimedia training tool that teaches how to prepare for, perform, and follow up on the most common procedures required in today's hospital setting ; covers the procedures required by the ABIM (American Board of Internal Medicine) and conforms to ACGME standards. Includes an outline on pre– and post-procedures, anatomy, procedures, outcomes, and checklists. Browse by title and enter into ClinicalKey search box. Filter by resource type (select Procedures Consult).
See guides and short tutorials for ClinicalKey at this link.
AccessMedicine
Searches all of AccessMedicine multimedia, drug monographs, point-of-care resources, textbooks.
See guides and short tutorials for AccessMedicine at this link.
American Diabetes Association eBook Collection - includes titles on diabetes care and management and topics such as nutrition and exercise therapies, drug risks for diabetics, living with diabetes, hypoglycemia, and much more. The collection includes case studies, reference materials, guides, and sourcebooks.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination with OSCE Clinical Skills Videos
The Bates' videos demonstrate head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques on different types of patients. The OSCE videos are designed to help with preparation for Objective Structured Clinical Examinations (OSCEs) by testing clinical reasoning skills. Each video presents a clinical encounter and you are given the opportunity to develop an assessment, or differential diagnosis, and provide an appropriate diagnostic workup. Note: this resource may not be accessible on all mobile devices.
See guides and short tutorials for Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination to OSCE Clinical Skills Videos at this link.
Merck Manual Online Professional Version - Provides symptoms to disorders, tests & procedures, laboratory values, clinical calculators. Written for the health care professional. Free resource.
*THIS IS A FREE RESOURCE*
NEJM's Resident 360 website provides the following content:
| Procedural Videos | Interactive Medical Cases | Visual Abstracts |
| Quick Take Videos | Podcasts | Clinical Pearls & Morning Reports |
| Covid-19 Simulations | Image Challenges | Discussions...and more |
PLEASE NOTE: Access to the Rotation Prep section of NEJM Resident 360 is not accessible, and requires a separate subscription to NEJM Knowledge+.
Pediatric Care Online - From the American Academy of Pediatrics. Includes a point-of-care quick reference tool, full text of the AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care, Bright Futures, a Visual Library containing hundreds of images, AAP policy, Red Book content, pediatric drug look-up, pediatric patient education handouts, and more.
See guides and short tutorials for Pediatric Care Online at this link.
Procedures Consult (ClinicalKey)
High-quality video, text and illustrations for top medical procedures. Highlights patient safety guidelines. Includes indications, contraindications, anatomy, equipment
PsychiatryOnline
PsychiatryOnline is a web-based portal that features the DSM-V—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
See guides and short tutorials for PsychiatryOnline at this link.
Suturing Videos
ClinicalKey - In the "All Types" drop menu, select "Procedure Videos" and search for specific suturing videos,
Suturing - on CD-ROM available for regular checkout
Suturing Collection - on DVD available for regular checkout
Stitching It Up - A Medical Student's Guide To Suturing - In this e-module, you will learn how to complete the three most commonly used suturing techniques – the simple interrupted, buried interrupted, and running subcuticular stitches as well as briefly review different types of suture materials and surgical instruments. Free Resource from the University of Nebraska Medical Center
Quick Guide to HIPAA Privacy Rules
From the US Department of Health & Human Services, this Health Information Privacy page contains links to brief information on the HIPAA rules for providers.
Medical Records
Medical Records and the Law, 4th ed. by Practice Guidelines
Selected Point of Care Titles
Guide to Clinical Documentation, 3rd ed. by 
Gomella and Haist's Clinician's Pocket Reference, 12th Edition by 
Clinical Wards Secrets by 
Physical Diagnosis Secrets, 3rd ed. by 
Symptom to Diagnosis : an evidence-based guide, 4th ed. by 
The Patient History: an evidence-based approach to differential diagnosis, 2nd ed. by 
Evidence-Based Physical Diagnosis, 5th ed. by 
Ferri's Practical Guide : Fast Facts for Patient Care, 9th ed. by 
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by 
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2024, 63rd ed. by 
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, 11th Edition by 
Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs, 20th ed. by 
