Research Guides: How to Use TUC Library Resources: MOBILE RESOURCES

Mobile Apps Information

You must be a TUC student, staff, or faculty member to use these subscription resources.

PLEASE NOTE: Many of the mobile sites/apps require that you first create a personal account from a laptop or desktop computer and then sign into the app with that account's login credentials. If you have difficulties accessing these resources, please contact librarian Michael Massaro at mmassaro@touro.edu for help.

Help Us Stay Current!

Mobile device resources change quickly. If you notice incorrect information or links, or if you discover a great new mobile resource that we should add, please email a Librarian.

Mobile Apps Available to TUC

AccessPharmacy
To access AP Mobile, you must log in using a free personal MyAccess account created at AccessPharmacy. Please note, there is not an app, but the website--https://accesspharmacy.mhmedical.com/--can be viewed in a mobile device, and all content is accessible as it is on a desktop computer. If you have not created this account, please visit the site on a non-mobile browser, then in the upper right corner look for the drop-down menu under the grey box Touro University California Library. Select Login or Create a Free Personal Account and follow the directions. Once your account is created return to the mobile view and use that username and password to access the site.

IMPORTANT NOTE: To create your MyAccess account, you must link to AccessPharmacy from the special link provided on the A-Z Databases page, which will prompt you to login in through OpenAthens. This is essential to be recognized as a TUC affiliate. Then once you've created your MyAccess account from the special link, you can log into it at https://accesspharmacy.mhmedical.com/ on your mobile devices.
ClinicalKey
No app needed! Specifically designed for mobile access using any mobile device without the need for a separate app, ClinicalKey's mobile interface provides access to all of ClinicalKey content including over 900 books and 500 journals, 1,400 topic pages, patient education sheets, and thousands of videos and millions of images. Available in any web browser on any device.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If asked to "Choose Organization", select 'Touro University California, Touro" option only. DO NOT choose any other option provided, including a "remote access" option. From there, go to the top corner of the Clinical Pharmacology website and register or login.
Clinical Pharmacology
This app provides mobile access to the content and features of the Clinical Pharmacology electronic drug reference database. In order to access the mobile app, remote access is needed in the Elsevier profile, which will then allow you to access the website or app from off campus. To request remote access, link to Clinical Pharmacology from the above link, or from the A-Z Databases page, to authenticate yourself as a TUC affiliate through OpenAthens. Once you are logged in, go to the top right corner again and select "Remote Access". Follow the prompts to request remote access. Once you have remote access, you can sign into the app.
Instructions on activating remote access: https://p.widencdn.net/eexl2c/Clinical-Pharmacology-powered-by-ClinicalKey-Quick-Sheet-Remote-Access-Guide

IMPORTANT NOTE: If asked to "Choose Organization", select 'Touro University California, Touro" option only. DO NOT choose any other option provided, including a "remote access" option. From there, go to the top corner of the Clinical Pharmacology website and register or login.

To get the app, search Google Play (For android users) or App Store (For apple users) the "Clinical Pharmacology".
Lexicomp
Unfortunately, the Library's subscription doesn't include Lexicomp On-Hand for students. However, there is a discounted rate for the app for TUC students. The app is downloadable so you can use it offline. For more information, go to Lexicomp and look for the box that says “Academic Discount Program.”
Micromedex
From your device go to the Micromedex website and click on Mobile Application Access on the top right hand side of the page, then scroll all the way to the button of that page and select Micromedex Native Mobile Apps. Follow the directions corresponding to your device type. There are iPhone/iPad and Android apps for Micromedex Drug Reference and for Drug Interactions.

PLEASE NOTE: Micromedex Mobile and the Drug Interactions app will require you to update your password on an annual basis. There will be a message when you access the app, letting you know it's time to update.
Natural Medicines
If you already have a login from Natural Medicines or Prescriber's Letter, you don't need to create a new one. If not, from on campus, go to the Natural Medicines website. On the home page, in the upper right corner, you’ll see a box that says Get Your Login ID. Click on this link, fill out the forms, and submit. Once you have your login information you can use it to access the app. Make sure to download the Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database (not the Consumer Edition!) from your app store and login with the credentials you created.
Prescriber's Letter
If you already have a login from Natural Medicines or Prescriber's Letter, you don't need to create a new one. If not, go to Prescriber's Letter website from on campus. On the home page, in the upper right corner, you’ll see a box that says Create Personal Account. Click on this link, fill out the forms, and submit. Once you have your login information you can use it to access the mobile app. Download the Prescriber's Letter app from your app store and login with the credentials you created.
Sanford Guide
Registration and Access Instructions

All students and faculty have access to Sanford Guide content online and via mobile app.

1. Web Access from any computer on-site by visiting webedition.sanfordguide.com
2. Register for mobile access to the Sanford Guide app. This can be done on-site, or off-site by signing into OpenAthens, by visiting register.sanfordguide.com
3. Finish app registration process online and follow activation instructions
4. Use your registration credentials to sign-in on the mobile app
UpToDate
UpToDate automatically optimizes for your device after you have completed the initial registration process within the TUC network. You can also have access to the UpToDate mobile app for free. The mobile app will recognize that you are affiliated with Touro University California and complete the verification process. Simply download the app and then login with your UTD account credentials.

PLEASE NOTE: Your UpToDate account will expire after 90 days of inactivity. If this occurs, simply login to from campus or from the Library's website. This will re-authenticate you as a TUC student or faculty member and reactivate your account. If you have any questions or troubles, please contact our Electronic Services Librarian, Michael Massaro at mmassaro@touro.edu
VisualDX
To access VisualDX in the mobile app, go to the VisualDX website by following the link above, and create a personal account. The link to create a personal account is along bottom of page, just below the Quick Start Differential Builder. Once you have a personal account you can sign into the mobile app with your personal VisualDX login credential for complete access.

Education Mobile Apps

Note that you must have a TUC account to use these resources, and many of the mobile sites/apps require that you first create a personal account from a laptop or desktop computer.

eBookCentral
There is not a mobile app – the Ebook Central site is fully responsive, so it functions as well on a smartphone as it does on a laptop. You DO need the Bluefire Reader app to access a downloaded title on a mobile device.

EBSCOhost Mobile
The EBSCOhost Mobile application is designed for the smaller screens of mobile devices, and offers EBSCOhost features and functionality including Basic Searching, HTML and PDF Full Text, Limiters, E-mailing articles, Preferences and Multi-database Searching. The mobile site works on most devices, and there is also an app for iPhone/iPad and Android.

PsychiatryOnline Mobile
You will be automatically redirected to the PsychiatryOnline mobile site when visiting PsychiatryOnline on a web-capable mobile device. You must create a personal "My PsychiatryOnline" account in order to log in to the mobile site with a username and password. To create an account, go to PsychiatryOnline from a desktop or laptop computer (accounts cannot be created from the mobile site), click the “My PsychiatryOnline” link from the homepage, and follow the instructions. The following mobile operating systems are supported: BlackBerry, Windows Mobile, Palm, iPhone

Research Guides
Mobile-friendly versions of our Research Guides - useful, subject-specific resources compiled by your friendly librarians.

Tools for Learning Medicine

3M Littmann SoundBuilder App - free training tool from iTunes App Store that can help students and practicing clinicians to improve their auscultation skills. Complete 14 unique lessons based on key heart sounds.

Anatomy & Physiology, Biology, Neuroanatomy USMLE - Draw it to Know it

Offers courses in Neuroanatomy, Gross Anatomy, Physiology, Cell Biology, Biochemistry, Neuroscience Fundamentals, Anatomy & Physiology, Biochemistry Fundamentals, General Biology, AP Biology, Anatomy and Physiology Fundamentals, Embryology, Histology, Embryology Fundamentals, Histology Fundamentals, Neurology CME. Courses require paid subscription. App is compatible with iPhone, iPad.

Auscultation Primer App - For iPhone & Android. Free from the Texas Heart Institute.

Prognosis: Your Diagnosis App

Clinical case simulation game for iPhone/iPad and Android.

Radiology 2.0: One night in the ED
Rich case learning radiology tool for iPhone/iPad. Consists of series of cases that allow the user to simulate reading CT scans at a PACS workstation.

Radiopaedia App
For iPhone/iPad. View radiology cases on your device. Designed to walk you through a case as if you were in a real clinical setting.

Speed Anatomy App
Free anatomy quiz for iPhone/iPad and Android. The faster and more accurately you identify structures, the more points you get.

Health & Medical News Apps

CDM Mobile

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Has consumer/general public apps, and healthcare provider/clinician apps for iOS, Android, Windows Microsoft 8.

MedPage Today Mobile App

For iPhone/iPad, Android. Breaking medical news, comprehensive drug information and CDM/CE credits, with daily coverage of over 30 specialties and annual coverage of over 60 meetings and symposia.

Public Health News App

For iPhone/iPad, Android. From the Harvard School of Public Health. Breaking public health news and research. Includes audio and video.

ReachMD Medical/Radio App

For iPhone/iPad, Blackberry. 15-minute audio programs that cover a broad range of topics for both general practitioners and specialists. Listen live or access over 5,000 searchable podcasts, including CME/CE podcasts.

National Library of Medicine (NLM) Mobile Resources

The National Library of Medicine has a number of apps and mobile versions of popular resources, including the following:

PubMed Mobile - simplified, mobile-friendly interface
PubMed for Handhelds - provides healthcare practitioners access to journal abstracts, bottom line summaries, PICO searches, askMEDLINE, and Consensus Abstracts for PICO and askMEDLINE.
MedlinePlus Mobile - consumer health website providing health information and resources for patients, their families and friends
LactMed App - contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.
MedPix - database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.
DailyMed Mobile - database containing 143971 labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies. DailyMed does not contain a complete listing of labeling for FDA-regulated products.
Drug Information Portal Mobile - gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies.
HerbList - access to science-based summaries on more than 50 popular herbs, such as aloe, chamomile, ginger, and turmeric

Consumer Health Resources

Here are some resources that may be helpful to your patients:

Lose It! App
Weight loss app for iPhone/iPad and Android.

MEDLINEPlus Mobile
Reliable, free information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language your patients can understand.

My Dietary Supplements (MyDS) App
For iPhone/iPad, Android, Kindle Fire, BlackBerry, from the National Institutes of Health. Gives patients an easy way to keep track of the vitamins, minerals, herbs, and other products they take, plus access to science-based, reliable information on dietary supplements.

My Food-a-Pedia Mobile
From the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Provides quick access to nutrition information for over 1,000 foods, including calorie amounts, contribution of a food to the five food groups, and number of “extra” calories in a food from solid fats, added sugars, and alcohol.

QuitGuide App
For iPhone/iPad from the National Cancer Institute. Helps you prepare to quit smoking and support you in the days and weeks after you quit. It also describes what problems you can expect when you quit smoking.

Point of Care Tools

Canopy Medical Translator - Communicate instantly with patients in any language. Translated medical phrases covering history, physical exam, procedures, and reassessment in Spanish, Chinese, Arabic, Bengali, Filipino, Hindi, Korean, Malay, Portuguese, Russian, Vietnamese, and more. From the iTunes App Store.

Emergency Medical Spanish Guide App
For iPhone/iPad, Android, BlackBerry. Designed for non-Spanish speaking health care professionals to quickly ascertain vital medical information from their Spanish speaking patients.

Medical Eponyms App
For all mobile devices. Over 1,700 of the most popular Eponyms (medical phrases or pathologies that are named after key people).

Standard Medical Dictations App

For Android. Designed for medical students and residents. Basic templates to read while dictating. Everything from admission orders to discharge summaries, along with numerous exams, procedures, and several different types of H&P formats for different health care settings.

TUC Library Medical & Point of Care Mobile Apps

Note: You will be required to login to OpenAthens with your TouroOne credentials to use these resources, and many of the mobile sites/apps require that you first create a personal account from a laptop or desktop computer. If you have difficulties accessing these resources please contact a Librarian

5MinuteConsult Mobile
The mobile version of 5MinuteConsult.com provides the most useful clinical content offered on 5minuteconsult.com, including Disease & Condition topics, Lab Tests, Drug Monographs, DDx Algorithms, Images, and Internet Point-of-Care CME credits earned while you work. Mobile optimized website, no additional download needed.

AccessMedicine Mobile
AM Mobile view features part of the site's content optimized for mobile browsers. To access AM Mobile, you must log in using a personal MyAccess account created at AccessMedicine. If you have not created this account, please visit the site on a nonmobile browser, then in the upper right corner look for the drop-down menu under the grey box 'Touro University California Library.' Select 'Login or Create a Free Personal Account' and follow the directions. Once complete you may return to the mobile view and use that username and password to access the site.

AccessPharmacy Mobile
AP Mobile view features part of the site's content optimized for mobile browsers. To access AP Mobile, you must log in using a personal MyAccess account created at AccessPharmacy. If you have not created this account, please visit the site on a nonmobile browser, then in the upper right corner look for the drop-down menu under the grey box 'Touro University California Library.' Select 'Login or Create a Free Personal Account' and follow the directions. Once complete you may return to the mobile view and use that username and password to access the site.

ClinicalKey
No app needed! Specifically designed for mobile access using any mobile device without the need for a separate app, ClinicalKey's mobile interface provides access to all of ClinicalKey content including over 900 books and 500 journals, 1,400 topic pages, patient education sheets, and thousands of videos and millions of images. Available in any web browser on any device.

Cochrane Library App

The Cochrane Library iPad Edition presents the latest up-to-date evidence from The Cochrane Library in a convenient, easy to navigate format. Monthly issues feature Cochrane Systematic Reviews selected by the Editor in Chief and specifically abridged for the iPad. The reviews are enriched with the addition of multimedia content, including podcasts, videos and slide decks. All content in the app is free, and new issues will be downloaded regularly to your Newsstand.

Diagnosaurus DDx App
1000+ differential diagnosis to help you make informed decisions. Diagnosaurus 2.0 is derived from McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment content.

Natural Medicines

High quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies that works on most mobile devices.

Pediatric Care Online Mobile
To access PCO mobile, you must first create an individual AAP account by selecting sign in. Follow the instructions to Register and create a new individual account, then go to PCO on your mobile browser and login with your new account- you will have full access to the site. You can also download select content to your device, including the Antimicrobial Therapy Guide, Bright Futures, and Point-of-Care Quick Reference - you will find this content under 'Mobile.' If you want to download the Pediatric Care Online App, after you have created your individual account, for the Apple version please go to Apple Store and for the Android version please go to Google Play.

PsychiatryOnline Mobile
You will be automatically redirected to the PsychiatryOnline mobile site when visiting PsychiatryOnline on a web-capable mobile device. You must create a personal "My PsychiatryOnline" account in order to log in to the mobile site with a username and password. To create an account, go to PsychiatryOnline from a desktop or laptop computer (accounts cannot be created from the mobile site), click the “My POL” link from the homepage, and follow the instructions.

Red Book App
For iPhone/iPad and Android. Includes offline Red Book access, interactive search, news, images, and more. First create an individual AAP account: go to Red Book Online on your computer, then select 'Sign In via User Name/Password,' then 'Sign in for Individuals,' then 'New Customer Registration.' Once you have your individual AAP account, download the free Red Book app from the Apple App Store or Google Play, then unlock your access with your AAP log-in and password

UpToDate

Provides topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. UpToDate is used to answer questions quickly, increase your clinical knowledge, check for changes to drug monographs, and improve patient care.

UpToDate now requires that you register for an account from within the TUC network. The UpToDate login you create can also be used for your mobile device and includes free access to the UpToDate app. Once you have registered, the app will recognize that you are affiliated with Touro University California as you install the app. Please note that your account with UpToDate will expire after 90 days of inactivity. If this occurs, you can simply re-register to restore access.

Other Point of Care Apps

These apps are not managed by TUC Library.

Calculate by QxMD App

Next-generation clinical calculator and decision support tool for iPhone/iPad, Android, BlackBerry

DO OMT & DO Reflexes Apps
For iPhone/iPad. Two different apps from the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians, each for $9.99. These apps contain videos, procedures, and other searchable resources.

EFM Guide

Defines terms and concepts on fetal monitor tracings for quick reference.

ePSS, Electronic Preventive Services Selector App
For Android, BlackBerry, Windows Mobile, iPhone/iPad, Palm, from the Agency for Healthcare and Research and Quality. Application designed to help primary care clinicians identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients.

GBS Guide

Point of care guide and reference on the management of prenatal and laboring mothers as well as newborns according to the CDC guideline of 2010 on prevention of invasive GBS disease of the newborn.

MedCalc App
MedCalc gives you easy access to complicated medical formulas, scores, scales and classifications. Available for the iPhone /iPad for $0.99.

Medscape Mobile App
For iPhone/iPad, Android, BlackBerry, Kindle Fire. In addition to drug information, daily medical news, and other useful features, this app has in-depth clinical information for 4,000+ diseases and conditions, plus detailed step-by-step instructions for 600+ clinical procedures, including 100+ widely used Tables & Protocols.

OMM Guide App
For iPhone/iPad. The OMM Guide is a free medical resource that gives you quick and easy access to osteopathic medical assessment, techniques, and more. It was created by James Lamberg, OMS4 from Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine.

PE & DVT dx

Point of care tool walks user through algorithms incorporating Wells clinical risk criteria, D-dimer, and imaging studies to rule in or out PE and DVT.

Preop Eval

Organizes and presents guidance to evaluate and prepare adult patients for non-cardiac surgery. Contains 2007 ACC/AHA cardiac clearance algorithms as well as 3 extensive additional references on perioperative meds, preop testing, timing of surgery. Free for iPhone through iTunes.

Shots by STFM Mobile
For iPhone, iPod Touch, Android, Palm Pre or PC. Shots by the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine is a quick reference guide to the Childhood, Adolescent, and Adult Immunization Schedules for the United States.

TUC's Pediatrics App
This free web-based app was created by TUCOM's Dr. Tami Hendriksz especially for use by TUC students on Pediatric Rotations.

Warfarin Guide

Point of care guide and reference on several warfarin topics including dose adjustment protocols, indications, durations of therapy.