COVID-19: Databases for COVID-19

*THIS IS A FREE RESOURCE.*
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) strives to protect Americans from foreign and domestic health, safety, and security threats. Find information and resources on topics including diseases and conditions, healthy living, travelers' health, emergency preparedness, as well as environmental and global health. Types of information include data and statistics, publications, CDC Feature Articles, and reports. Information is available in multiple formats including podcasts, videos, apps, and more.

*THIS IS A FREE RESOURCE.*
"The mission of DEA's Diversion Control Division is to prevent, detect, and investigate the diversion of controlled pharmaceuticals and listed chemicals from legitimate sources while ensuring an adequate and uninterrupted supply for legitimate medical, commercial, and scientific needs" taken from the DEA's "About Us" webpage.

*THIS IS A FREE RESOURCE.*
The Food and Drug Administration protects public health by ensuring the production and delivery of safe and effective human and veterinary drugs, biological products, and medical devices; and by ensuring the safety of our nation's food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.

*THIS IS A FREE RESOURCE.*
With LinkOut to TUC full-text from campus, this is a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

*THIS IS A FREE RESOURCE.*
Hesperian is a non-profit publisher offering free access to a selection of their books, newsletters, and other resources for global, community-based health care.

*THIS IS A FREE RESOURCE.*
Supported by the World Health Organization, IMEMR is an international index to health and biomedical information sources, including regional journals, from the Eastern Mediterranean Region (19 countries in Asia and North Africa).

*THIS IS A FREE RESOURCE.*
Supported by the World Health Organization, IMSEAR is an international index to health and biomedical information sources, including regional journals, from the South-East Asian Region (11 countries including India, Indonesia, Korea, Thailand).

*THIS IS A FREE RESOURCE.*
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), providing high-quality, relevant health and wellness information for the general population in both English and Spanish.
Visit MedlinePlus for the following information and resources:
-Wellness issues and the symptoms, causes, treatment, and prevention of over 1,000 diseases, illnesses, and health conditions
-Descriptions of more than 150 medical tests used to screen for, diagnose, and guide the treatment of various health conditions
-The Medical Encyclopedia that includes an extensive library of medical images and videos, as well as more than 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries
-Prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines, dietary supplements, and herbal remedies
-Health information in multiple languages

*THIS IS A FREE RESOURCE.*
National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations (NASPA) provides information on pharmacy industry and state association events, as well as recent industry news. Additionally, there are many resources for topics such as state association management, state policy, meeting materials. communications for the pharmacy professional.

*THIS IS A FREE RESOURCE.*
The National Institutes of Health consists of 27 Institutes and Centers and is the nation’s medical research agency. Find resources for medical research and education; safety regulations and guidelines; information on current research; applying for grants; finding health services, and much more.

*THIS IS A FREE RESOURCE.*
The mission of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services is to: "enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans." (HHS website, "About HHS" webpage). This is done through eight U.S. Public Health Service agencies and three human services agencies, including, but not limited to, The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, The Centers for Disease Control & Prevention, and The Health Resources & Services Administration.

*THIS IS A FREE RESOURCE.*
The mission of the Department of Justice is to "enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime; to seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior; and to ensure fair and impartial administration of justice for all Americans." -taken from the DOJ "About" webpage.

*THIS IS A FREE RESOURCE.*
The World Health Organization (WHO) consists of 194 Member States and works to bring better health across the globe, with a focus on improving health systems by providing information, support, and coordination efforts to the countries within the United Nations system. WHO website has information and resources, such as fact sheets, data, and "Facts in Pictures" on a myriad of topics, including nutrition, infectious diseases, vaccines, and human rights. Search by topic, country, or latest headlines.

Online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 60 medical titles, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device. There are additional supplementary text and test materials available to TUC Faculty. Has mobile App see Mobile Resources guide for more information.

PLEASE NOTE, for some features, such as the Flashcards, Play Showdown!, and Review Questions, you will need to create a MyAccess account. To do so, go to the SIGN IN button in the top right corner.

This resource is filled with information intended to promote the health and wellness of people around the world. There is a wealth of information related to internal medicine including original research, review articles, practice guidelines, as well as insights from practitioners about clinical practice, health care delivery, public health, health care policy, medical education, ethics, and research methodology. There are also podcasts with expert guests, a career section to search for jobs and post your CV, and exclusive web content beyond the journal itself.

ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier's content from medical, surgical, pharmaceutical, patient education and more into one dynamic resource.  ClinicalKey provides access to over 900 books and 500 journals, 1,400 topic pages, thousands of videos and millions of images.

The Cochrane Library includes seven distinct databases in its collection: The Cochrane Methodology Register, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Evaluation Database, The About the Cochrane Collaboration database.

F&C is a drug information resource used in many community pharmacies. F&C offers Trissel's IV Compatibility, the ability to search for drugs by disease or symptom, a drug interaction tool, interactive comparative drug tables, advanced dosing tools, online access to Drug Facts & Comparisons and Review of Natural Products, and more.

JAMA Network provides full-text access to JAMA 1998-current and to 8 JAMA specialty journals, in addition to multimedia and other features. PLEASE NOTE: TUC's subscription to the JAMA Network excludes the two newest journals, JAMA Cardiology and JAMA Oncology.

Lexicomp is a provider of drug information and clinical content for the healthcare industry. Lexicomp provides tools necessary to help improve patient safety, ensure compliance, and elevate the quality of care patients receive.

A comprehensive source for drug information. Search for dosage, pharmacokinetics, cautions, interactions, comparative efficacy, clinical applications and place in therapy for investigational, international, FDA-approved, and nonprescription preparations. Also features comparative drug summaries in a side-by-side format, multi-level therapeutic class tree, and drug images for easier identification. Includes Red Book Online the latest drug product pricing and packaging information on prescription and over-the-counter drug products.

"The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is the world’s leading medical journal and website. Published continuously for over 200 years, NEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content to physicians, educators, and the global medical community." (NEJM Website, About NEJM)

PL is the leading information source for prescribers on drug therapy recommendations and medical information. One popular feature of the Prescriber Letter online is the ability to earn CE/CME credits in a number of ways— the monthly letter, online searches, home study courses, archived and live webinars. In addition, users can search journal issues, access CME-As-You-Go and PL Voices Interactive Webinar series, read practice-related and disease-related charts and much more. Download the "Quick Start Guide" to get started.
***Note: Articles in prior issues of PL are available using the advanced search function. For example, if someone were to perform a search for “heart failure” all relevant articles dating back to 2010 would be retrieved. Archive results prior to 2010 are retrievable as well.

PsychiatryOnline is a web-based portal that features DSM-5 —the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.

The Sanford Guide web edition provides comprehensive coverage of treatment options for infectious diseases, syndromes, and pathogens. Features include over 1,000 topic pages, multi-term search, interactive dosing tables, activity spectra, calculators, and more. Edited by a team of distinguished infectious disease experts from leading academic and clinical centers, recommendations are based on the latest available evidence and designed for use at the point of care.

Access to the journal Science, plus online extras including Science Express and ScienceNOW.

Provides topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. UpToDate is used to answer questions quickly, increase your clinical knowledge, check for changes to drug monographs, and improve patient care.

PLEASE NOTE: UpToDate requires you to register for an account from within the TUC network.  This account can also be used for accessing the UpToDate mobile app. Please note: your UpToDate account will expire after 90 days of inactivity. If this occurs, you can simply re-register to restore access, by logging into UTD from the UTD links provided by the Library, which will allow UTD to recognize you as a TUC affiliate.