Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TUC LIBRARY NEWS

Hispanic Heritage Resources at the TUC Library

by Julie Horwath on 2020-10-05T12:35:00-07:00 in Special Resource Lists | Comments

In recognition of Hispanic Heritage Month, the TUC Library has put together a list of resources for the TUC Community. It includes Sonia Sotomayor's biography, a 30-lesson Spanish language course, and a large selection of ebooks. Read on for the list. 

STREAMING VIDEOS

*Access streaming videos through TouroOne.*

Learning Spanish: How to Understand and Speak a New Language, from The Great Courses

https://tu.kanopy.com/video/learning-spanish-how-understand-and-speak-ne

BOOKS

*Access ebooks through TouroOne.*

An African-American and Latinx History of the United States - Paul Ortiz (Print book)

Finding Latinx : in search of the voices redefining Latino identity - Paola Ramos (Print book)

Hispanics and Latinos in Vallejo - Marisela Barbosa-Cortez, with foreword by Lisette Estrella-Henderson (Print book)

Beyond the Barrio : Latinos in the 2004 Elections - Rodolfo O. de la Garza, Louis DeSipio, and David L. Leal 

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3441041

Blurred Borders : Transnational Migration Between the Hispanic Caribbean and the United States - Jorge Duan 

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3039490

Chicana/o Struggles for Education : Activism in the Community - Guadalupe San Miguel

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=1192954

Confronting Our Canons : Spanish and Latin American Studies in the 21st Century - Joan Lipman Brown

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3115940

Debating Race, Ethnicity, and Latino Identity : Jorge J. E. Gracia and His Critics - Iván Jaksić

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=1974556    

Developing Minority Language Resources : The Case of Spanish in California - Prof. Guadalupe Valdés, Prof. Joshua A Fishman, Rebecca Chávez, and William Pérez

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=265915

Dictionary of Latino Civil Rights History - F. Arturo Rosales and Francisco A Rosales

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3115168

Ethnic Cues : The Role of Shared Ethnicity in Latino Political Participation - Matt Barreto

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3414965

Forging People : Race, Ethnicity, and Nationality in Hispanic American and Latino/a Thought - Jorge J.E. Gracia

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3571183

The Handbook of Hispanic Linguistics - Antxon Olarrea, José Ignacio Hualde, Erin O'Rourke, and Erin O'Rourke

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=861859

The Handbook of Spanish Language Media - Alan Albarran

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=446735

The Handbook of Spanish Second Language Acquisition - Kimberly L. Geeslin

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=1418362

Hispanic Immigrant Identity : Political Allegiance vs. Cultural Preference - George I. Monsivais

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3016754

Hispanics and the Future of America - Marta Tienda, Faith Mitchell, National Research Council, Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education, Committee on Population, Panel on Hispanics in the United States, and Faith Mitchell

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3378069

Hispanic-Serving Institutions in American Higher Education - Jesse Perez Mendez, Fred A. Bonner II, Josephine Méndez-Negrete, Robert T. Palmer, Josephine Méndez-Negrete, Frank Hernandez, and Laura I Rendon

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=4438639

Hispanic Spaces, Latino Places : Community and Cultural Diversity in Contemporary America Daniel D. Arreola

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3442984

The History of the Mexican-American People : Revised Edition - Julian Samora

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=5741047

Immigration and the Border : Politics and Policy in the New Latino Century - David L. Leal, José E. Limón, and José E. Limón

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3441135

Latina Legacies : identity, biography, and community - edited by Vicki L. Ruiz and Virginia Sánchez Korrol

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=27978

Latin American Migrations to the U. S. Heartland : Changing Social Landscapes in Middle America - Linda Allegro and Andrew Grant Wood

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3414245

Latinas in the United States, set : A Historical Encyclopedia - Vicki L. Ruiz and Virginia Sanchez Korrol

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=273933

Latinas in the Workplace : An Emerging Leadership Force - Mimi Wolverton, Salwa A. Zaki, Esther Elena López-Mulnix, and Esther Elena López-Mulnix

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=911874

The Latina/o Pathway to the Ph. D. : Abriendo Caminos - Jeanett Castellanos, Alberta M. Gloria, Mark Kamimura, Hector Garza, and Melba Vasquez

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=4438571

Latino Lives in America : Making It Home - Luis Ricardo Fraga, John A. Garcia, Rodney Hero, Michael Jones-Correa, Valerie Martinez-Ebers, and Gary M. Segura

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=547378

Latino Small Businesses and the American Dream : Community Social Work Practice and Economic and Social Development - Melvin Delgado

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=895152

Latinos in America : Philosophy and Social Identity - Jorge J. E. Gracia

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=470544

Latinos in American Society : Families and Communities in Transition - Ruth Enid Zambrana

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3138221

Latinos in Higher Education: Creating Conditions for Student Success - Anne-Marie Nuñez, Anne-Marie Nuñez, Richard E. Hoover, Kellie Pickett, A. Christine Stuart-Carruthers, Maria Vazquez, and Anne-Marie Nunez

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=1180248

Latinos, Inc : The Marketing and Making of a People - Arlene Dávila, Arlene Dávila, and Arlene Dávila

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=999937

Latinos and the Nation's Future - Henry G. Cisneros, John Rosales, and Janet Murguía

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3115126

Latinos in the New Millennium : An Almanac of Opinion, Behavior, and Policy Preferences - Luis R. Fraga, John A. Garcia, Rodney E. Hero, Michael Jones Correa, Valerie Martinez-Ebers, and Gary M. Segura

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=833502

Latinos and the 2012 Election : The New Face of the American Voter - Gabriel R. Sanchez

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3338407

Loca Motion : The Travels of Chicana and Latina Popular Culture Michelle Habell-Pallan

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=865891

Looking Out, Looking In : Anthology of Latino Poetry - William Luis

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3115225

The Magic Key : The Educational Journey of Mexican Americans from K-12 to College and Beyond - Ruth Enid Zambrana and Sylvia Hurtado

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3443788

The Mexican American Experience : An Encyclopedia - Matt S. Meier and Margo Gutiérrez

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=496731

Mexican Americans and the Question of Race - Julie A. Dowling

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3443714

Mexicanos : A History of Mexicans in the United States - Manuel G. Gonzales

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=4420861

Mexico and Mexicans in the Making of the United States - John Tutino

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3443589

¡Muy Pop! : Conversations on Latino Popular Culture - Frederick L. Aldama, Ilan Stavans, and Mary S. Lawrence

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3570512

My Beloved World - Sonia Sotomayor (Print book)

Pachangas : Borderlands Music, U.S. Politics, and Transnational Marketing - Margaret E. Dorsey

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3443034

The Politics of Race in Latino Communities : Walking the Color Line - Atiya Kai Stokes-Brown

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3060991

The Power of Latino Leadership : Culture, Inclusion, and Contribution - Juana Bordas

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=1163687

Race Migrations : Latinos and the Cultural Transformation of Race - Wendy Roth

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=888559

Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Linguistic Heritage : Sociohistorical Approaches to Spanish in the United States - Alejandra Balestra, Glenn Martínez, Maria Irene Moyna, and Maria Irene Moyna

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3115154

Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage, Volume 2 - Erlinda Gonzales-Berry and Charles Tatum

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3115123

Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage, Volume 4 - Jose Aranda and Silvio Torres-Saillant

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3115129

Resisting Categories: Latin American and/or Latino? - Mari Carmen Ramírez, Tomas Ybarra-Frausto, and Héctor Olea

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3421133

The Riddle of Cantinflas : Essays on Hispanic Popular Culture - Ilan Stavans

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=1104408

The Routledge Companion to Latino/a Literature - Suzanne Bost and Frances R. Aparicio

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=1039357

Skin Color and Identity Formation : Perception of Opportunity and Academic Orientation among Mexican and Puerto Rican Youth - Edward Fergus

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=199658

Sounds of Belonging : U.S. Spanish-language Radio and Public Advocacy - Dolores Ines Casillas

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=1820929

Spanish/English Codeswitching in a Written Corpus - Laura Callahan

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=623130

Telling Our Stories : The Lives of Latina Women - Theresa Baron-Mckeagney

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=1639419

The Trouble with Unity : Latino Politics and the Creation of Identity - Cristina Beltran

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=4704194

Varieties of Spanish in the United States - John M. Lipski

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=547807

What Is la Hispanidad? : A Conversation - Ilan Stavans and Iván Jaksic

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3443533

Who Speaks for Hispanics? : Hispanic Interest Groups in Washington - Deirdre Martinez

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tu/detail.action?docID=3408020


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...