Consult the list to the right to explore for images that may suit your particular needs however, these three institutions are generally considered exceptionally useful:
Public Health Image Library (PHIL) Photographs, Illustrations, Multimedia Files
An NLM/NIH Database
![[Hardin Meta Directory of Internet Health Sources]](http://hardinmd.lib.uiowa.edu/hardinmd2.jpg)
Finding, Downloading, and Managing Medical Images
NIH Images
Millions of images and figures compiled from medical and life sciences journals are available through the NIH Images database.
NCI Visuals Online
This collection from the National Cancer Institute contains general biomedical and science-related images, cancer-specific scientific and patient care-related images, and portraits of directors and staff of the National Cancer Institute. All images are in the public domain and may be used, linked, or reproduced without permission.
CDC Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
PHIL indexes photographs, illustrations and multimedia files held by the CDC. Most of the images in the collection are in the public domain and are thus free of any copyright restrictions. Beneath each image you will see a fair use statement that tells you if the image is public domain or copyright protected.
Images from the History of Medicine
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's historical database contains nearly 60,000 images documenting social and historical aspects of medicine from the Middle Ages to the present. The collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media.
HON Media Gallery
Health on the Net (HON) Foundation is a non-governmental organization whose central purpose is to set standards for the presentation of health information on the web. The Media Gallery is a searchable repository of over 6,800 images and videos which meet HON standards.
Health Education Assests Library (HEAL)
HEAL is a database of freely accessible, web-based multimedia teaching materials for educators and learners in the health sciences. HEAL employs a peer review process for inclusion of resources. Users may browse by subject or search for specific terms and results may be limited to animation, audio, image, video, web page formats.
AP Imafw Archive
The AP Image Archive is a library containing Associated Press's current year's photo report and a selection of images from their library dating from the 1500s.
eNature.com Online Field Guide
The eNature.com Online Field Guide is a searchable database for identifying more than 4,000 plant and animal species of North America. The species accounts are from the National Audubon Society Field Guides, Regional Guides, and Nature Guides, published by Alfred A. Knopf, Inc.
Duke University Medical Center - Medical Images
A directory that lists image sites by medical specialty.
University of Iowa - Hardin MD
Links to popular diseases and conditions.