Physician Assistant: Board Review and Exam Resources

Cases on the following topics are available. Many are based on books, which are available as ebooks in AccessMedicine. 

Acid Base Disturbances  

Clinical Neuroanatomy Cases - from the book Clinical Neuroanatomy 29e

Family Medicine Board Review - from the book Graber and Wilbur’s Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, 5th Edition

Fluid/Electrolyte & Acid-Base Cases - from the book Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine

G & G Pharm Cases - workbook and Casebook for Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics

Harrison’s Visual Case Challenge - cases and questions based on images

Internal Medicine Cases - from the book Resident Readiness®: Internal Medicine

Medical Microbiology Cases - from the book Sherris Medical Microbiology Cases

Pathophysiology Cases -  from the book Pathophysiology of Disease: An Introduction to Clinical Medicine.

Vanderbilt Internal Medicine and Pediatrics Curriculum - "The Vanderbilt Internal Medicine and Pediatrics Curriculum is a comprehensive, case-based curriculum for the care of adults and children in the outpatient setting." - taken from website

The AccessMedicine Study Tools are located in the AccessMedicine database under STUDY TOOLS. 

To use the study tools, you will need to create a free personal account on AccessMedicine. It's fast and easy! 

Here's what you do:

• Click on the "Sign In" button at the top of page.
• Click "Create a Free MyAccess Profile."
• In the pop-up window, complete the online form and click "Create Profile" at the bottom of the pop-up window.

Following are descriptions of the study tools from AccessMedicine.

Clerkship Topics

The clerkship topics include learning objectives and a course of study, including book chapters, cases, and videos, for in-depth studying on a specific topic. Below are the subjects and each of them has more specific topics from which you can choose, as well as a section for ward skills for each subject. For example, cardiology has 12 specific cardiology topics, including Coronary Artery Disease, Heart Failure, and Hypertension, with the final section being Ward Skills in Cardiology.  

Here is the list of subjects:

• Cardiology
•  Pulmonology
•  Nephrology + Urology
•  Gastroenterology
•  Hematology/Oncology
•  Infectious Disease
•  Endocrinology
•  Rheumatology
•  Essential of Key Patient Presentations
•  Skills for the Wards
•  Neurology
•  Psychiatry

Review Questions

The Review Questions feature has two options for question banks: Basic Sciences and Clinical Practice & Board Review. Each section allows you to take random quizzes created by the system or create custom multiple-choice quizzes on only the topics you need help with or want to review. Below are lists of what is covered in each section.

Basic Sciences (arranged by topic):

• Anatomy and Physiology
• Biochemistry
• Epidemiology & Biostatistics
• Microbiology
• Pathology & Histology

Clinical Practice & Board Review (based on the review questions found in following books):

• Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Surgery, 15e - 230 Questions
• Ganong's Medical Physiology Examination & Board Review - 419 Questions
• Graber and Wilbur’s Family Medicine Examination & Board Review, 5e - 200 Questions
• Harrison's® Principles of Internal Medicine Self-Assessment and Board Review, 20e - 1281 Questions
• Harrison's™ Principles of Internal Medicine: Self-Assessment and Board Review, 19e - 1296 Questions
• Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology: Examination & Board Review, 12e - 806 Questions
• Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology: Examination & Board Review, 13e - 813 Questions
• Laposata's Laboratory Medicine: The Diagnosis of Disease in the Clinical Laboratory, 3e - 312 Questions
• Medical Genetics: An Integrated Approach - 73 Questions
• Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment, 2e - 137 Questions
• The Patient History: An Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis, 2e - 187 Questions
• Vanderbilt IM/Peds Review Questions - 474 Questions
• Williams Obstetrics Study Guide, 25th Edition - 2179 Questions

Flashcards

Use AccessMedicine flashcards to hone your knowledge and practice for exams. They have the following features:

• Track cards you’ve already seen to prioritize studying
• Save your favorite flashcards for quick review
• Responsive on any mobile device

Flashcard content comes from the following resources:

• CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment (CMDT) Flashcards, 2e
• Pathophysiology of Disease Flashcards
• The Big Picture: Medical Physiology Flashcards
• DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination Flashcards
• Pathology Flashcards
• Microbiology & Infectious Disease Flashcards, 3e
• Pharmacology Flashcards, 4e
• Biochemistry and Genetics Flashcards, 3e

CASE FILES COLLECTION (McGraw Hill) 

The Case Files Collection has a large selection of cases for the following post-graduate and basic sciences topics:

• Anatomy
• Anesthesiology
• Biochemistry 
• Cardiology 
• Critical Care 
• Geriatrics 
• Gynecologic Surgery
• High Risk Obstetrics
• Medical Ethics & Professionalism 
• Microbiology 
• Neuroscience 
• Pathology
• Pharmacology 
• Physiology 
• Orthopaedic Surgery

CLINICAL ROTATIONS CASES
This is a special collection within the Case Files Collection containing topics pertinent to clinical rotations. 

• Anesthesiology 
• Cardiology
• Critical Care
• Emergency Medicine 
• Family Medicine 
• Geriatrics
• Gynecologic Surgery
• High-Risk Obstetrics
• Internal Medicine
• Medical Ethics & Professionalism
• Neurology 
• Obstetrics & Gynecology 
• Pediatrics 
• Psychiatry 
• Surgery 

PA EXAM PREP

PA Exam Prep is a board review resource for the PANCE and PANRE exams. Students in the PA program can use this resource to review while on rotations. Features included timed and untimed tests, adaptive questions, and other resources to help students strengthen key knowledge areas.

IMPORTANT: HOW TO CREATE AN ACCOUNT & LOGIN TO YOUR PA EXAM PREP ACCOUNT

To create an account with PA Exam Prep, please use the links provided by the Library on the A-Z Databases page, in the Research Guide, or you can CLICK HERE. 

When you first visit PA Exam Prep, an account will be automatically created for you. To change the name and email address of the account to your personal info, click the head and shoulders icon in the bottom left corner and fill in the fields by clicking the pencil next each one. Finish up by clicking SAVE. 

Next time you log in, you will be recognized by your OpenAthens/TouroOne login credentials and taken to your account, so you do not have to create a separate personal account. This means not having to remembering another password! 

Exam Master Online
Exam Master includes Clinical Modules, Medical Subject Review for the PANCE & PANRE, and PANCE/PANRE full length exams. There are thousands of basic and clinical sciences questions. The completely revised interface allows for quick and easy navigation, and provides students with the ability to create very customized practice exams and study blocks. You must self-register to create a personal account to use Exam Master.

Note : TUC Alumni maintain access to Exam Master for one year after graduation

Full-length practice exams for the PANCE/PANRE

Clinical Modules covering the following:

Medical Subject Review

The best way to find all of the Library's exam review books and ebooks is to search the TUC Library Catalog. 

 For example, to see all books we have for the PANCE, search for "PANCE". Here is a link to the results from this search.

Below is a selection of books in our collection for PANCE/PANRE prep.